We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly, not so human friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Although the staff did what they could to help us, this is not a very good hotel. The first room we were given smelled like someone was belching sausage all day before we got there and there were 2 huge footprints on the couch???? They quickly changed us and the next room was much better smelling but in no time my wife was stuffed up completely. I have never seen her like this before. We also struggled to get the room cool because the controls didn't seem to make a lot of sense. That may have been my stupidity more than anything but they weren't exactly user friendly. We booked for 2 nights and left after night one and forfeited our payment because it was booked through a third party. Don't think I would stay at a pet friendly hotel again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank john0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for posting your review. We apologize your stay was not as expected and I assure you these situations are not common as our house keeping staff works very hard. The A/C units are pretty simple to work but to someone who has never seen one before we understand it can be hard, please never hesitate to contact the front desk at any time if you ever have an issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our stay was for 1 night, all staff was nice, happy & helpful. Our room was clean, nice size, smelt nice, & was quiet. Big Bathroom, shower&bath nice, roomy and very clean. It was perfect location, toured a little around Owen Sound, went to Sauble Beach, back to hotel to clean up, out to dinner and got a perfect nights rest. A/C worked great. Breakfast the next morning in the front room was simple but good. Ok, there's no elevator but, it's only a 2 story hotel, so, not a big deal!! (and no fridge in the room) but it was decent prices, happy staff and a clean room, we were 100% happy!! When booking I asked for A Queen Bed, and on the 2nd Floor, our room was great!! Headed off to Tobermory the next morning, and next time we head up this way for a getaway, we're staying here again, perfect location to do many things!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaTT609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thank you for your review of Comfort Inn Owen Sound. It pleases all of us at Comfort Inn to hear your stay went well. If you require a fridge on your next visit all ground floor rooms to have a fridge, if you prefer the second floor please feel free to request one as most rooms do have a fridge. We thank you again for your review and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had another great experience at this hotel. Chris the red headed gentleman at the front desk offered to run down and open our patio door for us since we had a ton of luggage. What a great touch of customer service. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. The front desk staff provided us with information about what was going on in Owen Sound. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast is getting better, they now have a waffle maker (thats a new upgrade since we stayed last).

Thanks again for such a great stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you Auty C for your pleasent review of Comfort Inn Owen Sound. Our front desk staff is always ready and willing to go the extra step to please our guests. We are glad you noticed how clean the rooms are the house keeping staff works extremely hard and we are glad to hear your stay reflects that. We are glad you enjoyed our new waffle maker and can't wait to see you on your next visit thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

First, when we pulled in, there were several guests outside having loud conversations and smoking quite heavily. When we checked in, the red-headed man at the front desk was quite curt and not that welcoming. When we expressed surprise that there was no elevator, he seemed annoyed.
We dragged our stuff up the dirty stairs. The hallway was very loud and the walls very thin. Our room smelled of cigarette smoke (bad when all the guests in that room have asthma) and it was unbearably cold, even after we tried to work the a/c unit. The room was outdated, the bathroom seemed mouldy, and the furniture was scratched. We had to pay extra to use the water bottle in our room, which seemed ridiculous. Why even put it there? I later found a cigarette burn in my comforter. Others that we had been on this trip with reported a similar experience.
Furthermore, the morning breakfast area was cramped, and people were waiting for tables to clear up just so they could eat. There was a Tim Hortons next door, which was convenient. The women at the morning front desk seemed a lot more friendly than the guy before.
Overall, it's okay if you're desperate, but I'd rather not stay there again. You're better off at another Owen Sound hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtravellerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you for submitting your review. Guest Services is the core of whom we are. I apologize if you experienced anything less than a positive interaction with our agents. At Comfort Inn we strive for guest satisfaction. If there is any problem with your room we are always willing to switch rooms if one is available at no extra charge. At no time is it acceptable for another guest to disturb another and at Comfort Inn we take noise issues very seriously and once front desk is aware of an issue it gets solved immediately. We apologize you had trouble with the A/C controls front desk is always willing to help with the controls as we know most hotels are different. We look forward to seeing you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

There is just one word to describe this hotel and that is " DIRTY". The breakfast was bad, the hotel was dingy, the staff and some guests were arguing loudly over some booking issues most of the night. There were only two tables in the breakfast room which was an extension of the reception so most of the guests were either standing or carrying their food back to their rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are extremely sorry your stay was not to your liking but I can guarantee your experience is not a common one as our hotel is among the cleanest in Owen Sound and our reviews reflect this. At Comfort Inn we offer a deluxe continental breakfast which includes Eggs, yogurt, danishes, two kinds of fruit, bread, English muffins, two kinds of juice, fresh waffles, three kinds of cereal, blueberry muffins and tea/coffee. Our breakfast area consists of four tables we also offer two patio areas outside for the guests to eat, unfortunately when the hotel is fully booked finding a spot can be tricky this is an issue that has been addressed and in the near future we will be providing our guests a larger breakfast area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have stayed in 4 different hotels for one night only each time over the last 3 months. I have reviewed many hotels, most of which have been good to excellent. Unfortunately, this hotel didn't measure up this time. The rooms are very inconsistent in extras. We booked wanting a fridge in our room. Out of the three families staying overnight for a volleyball tournament, one room had a fridge and microwave, one room just had a fridge and our room had neither. We asked if we could have a room with a fridge and they refused to move us even though we were there early and most of the hotel guests hadn't checked in yet. Another area where it fell VERY short was at the continental breakfast. There were only 3- 2 person tables in the foyer. Even when it opened at 7 am the orange juice was out by 7:10am. The food kept running out as well. There was a huge line up, as the hotel was full. The hotel was totally unable to handle the amount of guests at breakfast. Why advertise a continental breakfast if the most you can fit in the area is 3 couples? Poor planning. The hotel also charged us twice for our room, in which we still need to settle up with them.
The room was properly cleaned however, so no worries there. But I would still book elsewhere next time we go to Owen Sound. The hotel would probably be fine if you went when it was 1/3 full, so if you go in low season you may find yourself ok with it.

Room Tip: Ask specifically when you book for a room with a microwave and a fridge. Have them write it down on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We take all reviews seriously and use them as a helpful tool to improve our guests’ experience. We apologize that you didn’t receive a room with a fridge; we did have the request recorded in our logs unfortunately on very rare occasions some requests are unable to be fulfilled. During your stay we were fully booked so we were unable to switch your room otherwise we would have gladly been able to get you in a room with a fridge. Our continental breakfast is among the best in Owen Sound and we are currently working towards starting a full hot breakfast. We do apologize there was no orange juice left when you came out for breakfast had the front desk been notified we would have promptly changed it for you. In regards to your comment about us charging you twice this is a very rare mistake for our hotel to make, however when a guest checks in we preauthorize their credit card for room amount plus deposit and then complete the charge for exact amount upon checkout perhaps this was why you thought we double charged you. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact us anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#9 of 10 in Owen Sound
491 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
167 reviews
15.5 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
368 reviews
22.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Owen Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Owen Sound

Address: 955 9th Ave E, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range: £58 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Owen Sound 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn provides warm hospitality, excellent customer service and clean comfortable rooms. We are conveniently located on the conjunction of four major highways 6-10-21 and 26. We have all the amenities you're looking for... Free Sunshine Breakfast, wireless internet, daily newspaper, local calls, and guest computer. Your Home Away From Home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn Owen Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Owen Sound Hotel Owen Sound
Owen Sound Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Owen Sound Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing