We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad but not the greatest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Toronto, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Not too bad but not the greatest”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My wife and I booked the Comfort Inn Owen Sound for two nights while attending a family function in town. We booked fairly early and were glad we did as something was happening in town and all the hotels were sold out. When we arrived we were greeted warmly by the desk staff and soon had our cards for the room. The hotel is two stories and the only access is from stairs on either end of the hotel. If you are mobility challenged ask for a first floor room. Our room was on the second floor (room 232), and despite signs all over the hotel stating no smoking, absolutely reeked of old tobacco. The room needs a major airing out. The room was clean but a little dated and doesn't have many receptacles for plugging in devices. The free wireless internet had a strong signal in our room and was fast enough. The room has a microwave and a refrigerator that you can freeze water in. The provided continental breakfast was bare minimum. There was a waffle maker, cold boiled eggs and cereals. There was a microwave there but for the life of me I couldn't figure out why, there was nothing to heat up. It will fill your stomach but is not something you would look forward to. There are no real amenities except for lots of propane BBQs around the parking lot and picnic tables.

I am giving the hotel a lower rating mostly due to the stink in the room and the higher than normal price for a night with no amenities.

Room Tip: Avoid room 232 if you have a strong aversion to old smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you received a warm welcoming and endured a quick check in process. I do apologize that your room wasn't up to standards. I am happy to tell you that our hotel is scheduled for renovations soon which we are very excited about. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    48
    40
    18
    17
See reviews for
39
52
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brockville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel about noon and were told somewhat coldly that check-in was not until 3:00 pm. When we came back later, we were given a room on the second floor. (There was no elevator). There was an airconditioner on the wall but no thermostat in the room - perhaps it was controlled from the front desk? We managed to slide open a very small window. The bathroom floor looked grubby, and there were bird droppings on the window.

Room Tip: No elevator to second floor. Second floor rooms do not get complementary newspapers in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
I'm concerned about the comments that you left about your experience at our hotel during your recent stay. I would like to thank you for bring this to my attention.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I do want you to know that all of the air condition / heater units are controlled in the guest rooms. This way it can be adjusted to your comfort. Please next time just give the front desk a call and they would be happy to assist you with this. I do apologize that the washroom floor wasn't up to our standards.

Again, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,



Krista Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel just one night on our weekend trip.... The hotel is not new but well kept... Everything spotless... Staff is super friendly... And accommodating...
We had super convenient drive up room on the lower level...
The breakfast/ reception area needs a bit updating and breakfast menu could be bit richer since we paid probably higher holiday weekend rate...
Overall no problems.... We were pleased with our stay...

Room Tip: Lower level drive up is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review Comfort Inn Owen Sound. It is always nice to hear how friendly and customer service oriented our staff our. We appreciated hearing that your room was spotless, our cleaning staff work very hard. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The front desk clerk went above and beyond my expectation including opening patio door so I could access the room easily from the drive up parking space. Occupied the accessible room due to physical mobility challenges. The room did not have a shower stool but may have had one available at the front desk as I did not ask for it. The property does have a steep hill at its entrance/exit but the parking area for the room occupied was flat with a lowered curb which assisted with access.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review Comfort Inn Owen Sound. Our staff give 100% in hopes it will make your stay more enjoyable. Next time please do contact the front desk as we do have a shower chair that you would be more then welcome to use. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The Comfort In is conveniently located on Highway 6/21. The lot is very steep and hilly in places and could be a problem for older visitors or those with health problems. We received good, pleasant service from the front desk staff. Our room was on the second floor and there was no staircase in the middle of the building to our floor. We had to make a long trek to the far end of the floor to reach stairs to take us to the main floor and then double back to the reception area in the centre of the building. We got the optional microwave and fridge that we had requested. The room was rather dated. The popcorn ceiling and the decorations have been there for a long time. The bathroom sink had some rust on it. The mattresses were well past their prime and we didn't sleep well as a result. The air conditioning was old and very hard to regulate. There were no handy controls that allow you to punch in the temperature that you desire. As a result, the room was too warm at night and again this didn't help our sleep. This is not an awful place but it surely needs updating. We think you can do better in Owen sound than to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabondoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Comfort Inn Owen Sound. I would like to thank you for the kind words that you said about our staff. I am happy to hear that they were able to accommodate you with the fridge and microwave that you had requested. We do have plans for renovations in the near future which we are very excited about. I hope you will be able to enjoy the changes as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is highly overpriced and displays a less then desirable impression for the Comfort Inn franchise as a whole.

My family and I chose to stay with Comfort Inn while on our 8 day vacation to Ontario as the rewards program was shown to be of best value for the time being. This particular franchise was the 4th Comfort Inn during our stay and put a terrible enough impression on our visit that we will no longer be calling Comfort Inn our temporary home away from home.

Rooms- Carpets were filthy, bed spreads were heavily stained and outdated. The mattress on one of the beds was incinerated and stained as well. A heavy smell of mildew was scented not only in the room but throughout the entire facility. The heater was noisy and blew dirty ashes on the floor beside the bed. Bath towels were stained.

The Continental Breakfast was comparable to the other Comfort Inn franchises however, seating was very sparse and oddly located directly in the main foyer.

Price discrepancies are of huge concern with this facility, this particular hotel is worthy of $60/night nothing more!

I highly suggest not staying at this hotel! The cost to value speaks volumes in itself, filthy rooms set aside.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamaica-Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I'm concerned about the comments that you left in your review about your experience at our hotel during your recent visit. I'm writing to thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guest each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that your unhappy.

Please accept my sincere apology.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed, and the appropriate actions have been taken.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Krista Morris
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Owen Sound hotels

Walkerton Ont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My wife and I decided last minute to escape our regular lives and booked into the Comfort Inn. We were pleasantly suprised by the hotel. Very comfortable, clean and the staff was amazingly friendly. The superstar of our night was Donna at the front desk, her bubbly personality and willingness to help was unmatched!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poolplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerOS, General Manager at Comfort Inn Owen Sound, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you poolplayer for your kind review of Comfort Inn Owen Sound. We strive for excellence in all the areas you mentioned especially customer service and we are happy to hear your stay reflected that. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
451 reviews
1.4 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
153 reviews
15.5 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
343 reviews
22.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Owen Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Owen Sound

Property: Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Address: 955 9th Ave E, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Owen Sound 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn provides warm hospitality, excellent customer service and clean comfortable rooms. We are conveniently located on the conjunction of four major highways 6-10-21 and 26. We have all the amenities you're looking for... Free Sunshine Breakfast, wireless internet, daily newspaper, local calls, and guest computer. Your Home Away From Home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Owen Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Owen Sound Hotel Owen Sound
Owen Sound Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Owen Sound Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing