We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Highland Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Highland Manor
Ranked #1 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Having stayed at many, many B&B's and hotels worldwide, i am not exaggerating when I say this os one of the best in the world. Paul and Linda are gracious hosts. The Manor itself is a beautiful and the rooms are superbly decorated and appointed. The beds are superb! Breakfast was aa treat. All in all a very relaxing and refreshing stay. I would recommend to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blindsummit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
131
18
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2010

We stayed two nights in September. Even though there were several other guests we still felt very well cared for by Linda and Paul. The room was super relaxing and the food was great. They also did a great job of satisfying our varying dietary requirements.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoottawans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

My guy and I booked a one night stay at THe Highland manor as part of touring the waterfalls of Grey County. I am sad that our two day trek only allowed us to stay one night. This is what a B&B should be. Fantastic house - rich in history and warm , friendly hosts that will fill you in on it. Rooms with the most comfy beds and ensuite bath. Delicious breakfast with fellow travellers. Linda and Paul are full of advice and suggestions about the local area and were charming, helpful hosts. I truly cannot wait to head back in the fall and take advantage of the working fireplaces and the beauty of the colours in Northern Ontario.

I would highly recommend this B&B as the real deal!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

My husband & I visited this fantastic B&B for 3 nights in August. The house is beautiful and the hosts, Linda & Paul, are very warm and welcoming people. Our room (Fleming) was perfect with lovely double aspect windows, antiques & was totally peaceful and tranquil. We have travelled round Ontario on a few separate occasions and without doubt this accommodation is excellent and hard to beat.

We chose to come to this B&B on the strength of other trip advisor reviews & we were not disappointed.

A & P Kelly, Scotland

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKELLY19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Linda and Paul are fantastic hosts who keep us all laughing and enjoying our stay. The rooms are quiet and comfortable, the fireplaces are a unique treat in the cold months. With wireless access its a wonder why I go to the office....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gn_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Linda is lovely. Breakfast was delicious. Room very comfortable and quiet. CAUTION: use the website directions, not Google maps. I drove around looking for this B & B for 1/2 hour before I finally found it. Also: shampoo, cream rinse, body lotion not provided. Generic all-purpose soap dispenser in shower. No alarm clock.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yowza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

My husband and I had been in Huntsville, Ont. for 5 days and decided to extend our vacation 1 day to visit the Bruce Peninsula. Since it was a holiday weekend, we were lucky to book a room at the Highland Manor. It is tucked away in a quiet residential neighborhood. a bit difficult to find, but well worth the effort. The owners, Linda and Paul greeted us warmly and we immediately felt right at home. The Manor is a beautiful historic building that Linda has decorated with taste and whimsy. They were so helpful in recommending places to visit, restaurants with good food, and routes to get around. Our room was extremely comfortable and clean. I wish we had been able to stay longer just to see all the rooms! In the morning, we were treated to an EXCEPTIONAL breakfast homemade by Linda. The Highland Manor and Bruce Peninsula are both so beautiful that I was sorry to leave after only one day. We will definitely be back, hopefully VERY SOON!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha14057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
520 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
354 reviews
21.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highland Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highland Manor

Property: The Highland Manor
Address: 867 4th Ave a W, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 6L5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highland Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Highland Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highland Manor Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing