We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different style...”
Review of Dragonfly Cafe

Dragonfly Cafe
Ranked #8 of 103 Restaurants in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Breakfast spot a favourite of locals, almost don't want to give away this secret, but their food is excellent and their service great, they totally deserve the recognition!
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A different style...”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Dropped in on my way to Owen Sound with friends. Almost missed it. Good home styled cooked
breakfast. The meal tastes a little different. Not in a bad way, they use different spices from you would normally have on your home fries. Its all good and the portions plentiful.
THE BAD...Its a roadside café and looks a little beat up. The inside could use a freshen up with some lighter colored paint...The service is a little slow when they are busy.
My rating is really about 3 1/2 stars. Will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    20
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must visit for Breakfast!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were on a business trip in Owen Sound and we had heard from a friend that we had to stop at the Dragonfly Cafe for breakfast. So we thought we'd check it out. Its a cute little local stop just before you enter Owen Sound. The owner was super friendly and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was fantastic - between us we ordered pancakes, bacon, sausage, eggs, egg benedict, and home fries. The best part of the meal? Their baked in-store fresh bread. And boy they had like 12 different types of fresh bread! An absolute gem of a breakfast place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We thought we'd give this spot a try since I had read great reviews. Stopped in for brekky. I had the eggs Benedict which was tasty. Hash browns could have been a bit hotter but overall good meal. Hubby had eggs with ham, sausage & bacon & he enjoyed as well. I also ordered the deep fried pickles. Yum!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Likesfoodyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great local eatery on Highway 6”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Highway 6 connecting Guelph with Owen Sound and the Bruce Peninsula is dotted with a range of quaint towns and local food joints (very few chain outlets). One of the best is the Dragonfly Cafe just south of Owen Sound. It offers a charming mix of typical diner food and a decent little bakery specializing in homemade bread and some country-style pastries. The food is simple but good. We had the usual burgers and onion rings. The rings in particular were, I think, the best I've ever had ... anywhere. We also took some baked goods home (butter tarts and a dessert bread) and were happy with the purchase.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Waterloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Revisit”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The last time we went to the Dragonfly it was a disappointment - formally my favourite breakfast place. The owner saw my article and wrote to me explaining staffing difficulty during that time and apologized for the bad experience - good customer relations and professionalism shining here! We returned to the Dragonfly recently to give it another chance and we are happy to report that they are back on track! The food was great, service always fantastic and back as our favourite spot for breakfast. Not pretty from the outside (not so pretty on in the inside either lol) but well worth a visit. Congrats Dragonfly - well worth the 60k drive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 88Sam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dragonfly Cafe also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Dragonfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing