We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost as dirty as the town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Owen Sound
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Came to Owen sound on a weekend in June, the town itself isn't very nice! Hoping the hotel would be better, as I first walked in you could see the pool and Jacuzzi was very clean! The front desk put me up in a room as soon as I walked in, the rooms were a dump! There was trash on the ground and dead flies and insects all of the ground near the window! The carpet felt very damp and the hallway and ripped wallpaper that had been painted over and there were no baseboards. The restaurant was wonderful. I would not recommend staying here or coming to Owen sound at all.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Businessspinner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne T, Manager at Quality Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write a review of your stay. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel during last weekend of May 2014. Upon check in, the lady on duty was more concerned about dealing with a package to go out with the courier driver. Finally another employee, came out from the back office and finished up with me. The room needs a lot of TLC as wallpaper is rippled in a number of places. Our A/C was turned down to 60 and never did cool the room - cycled for 45 seconds to 1 minutes then shut off. The beds were not bad, and they did have plenty of pillows. There is no elevator in this hotel and it feels that you are going up and down stairs a lot if you are on the 1st and 3rd floor as 2nd floor is classified as main floor. Stairwells have had the wall paper painted over except for the bottom inch .... not sure If they plan on putting base board in or not. There is an onsite restaurant which we only ate for breakfast as the dinner menu did not have much on the menu. The breakfast was not bad. Very short staffed and they much trying to save money, as the "Heinz" ketchup must have been watered down as it just rolled out the bottle. The hotel had a number of guest that were drunk on the Saturday night of the stay and were still going up and down the halls at 4:45 a.m. The hotel didn't do anything about this. At the rear of the hotel you can see that the tiles are coming off the back of the hotel and it definitely needs a major overhaul. I will definitely go elsewhere next time I am in Owen Sound. Avoid this place at all costs!!!!

Room Tip: Don't think there is a good one in the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trailerman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne T, Manager at Quality Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you taking the time to post a review. And my sincere thanks for choosing Days Inn Owen Sound on your travels. We appreciate all feedback we receive, both the good and the bad. I was very sorry to hear that your stay with us was anything less than satisfying.
As I am writing this the workers are here finishing up the outside work that was postponed by our early and never ending winter. We are also finishing up on the inside reno's.
Thank you again and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

very conveniently located, ideal for business travelers. Comfortable room and WiFi. Walking distance from all the major restaurants and 5 mins drive from Walmart, library, museum, movie theatre. Ideal stop on way to Tobermory.

Room Tip: its a nice view from South in winters
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sidharth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne T, Manager at Quality Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write the review about our hotel! We are very happy that you found our facility close to all the things you wanted to do.

Thank you again and we hope to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice clean room. Great indoor pool, which was great to play with kids.

Internal restaurant is a little expensive, but the food and portions are great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Philippe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne T, Manager at Quality Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We always welcome comments from our guests and we will be sure to pass them on to the staff. Thank you again for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you back again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

location is very good,price is ok. staff was super friendly, when we were there.I will be back,if I have a chance to go to Owen Sound again, my husband also did like this hotel and said it"s the very comfortable one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne T, Manager at Quality Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at our Days Inn, it’s always a pleasure hearing from our guest.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We needed to get a good nights sleep after driving most of the day and most all the other hotels in Owen Sound were full. The room was less than average, the television remote did not operate the television and no breakfast of any kind was provided. The bathroom needs updates as the toilet seat was barely hanging on! Upon checking out the front desk person did not ask how our stay was nor did she thank us for staying at the Days Inn.

Room Tip: Keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J&JFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne T, Manager at Quality Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
The reviews are very helpful tools for us to improve our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comment and issues will be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Good location, friendly at the front desk and good price. The edging of the carpet in my room seemed like it had not been vacuumed in a year. It was an edge of dust around the perimeter of the room. I had to open my window in December, because the smoke smell was so bad coming from the other rooms and hallway. Rooms need updating. Bathroom was clean though. I am returning to Owen Sound in March, but will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank celeste108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianne T, Manager at Quality Inn Owen Sound, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our stay. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. The smell of smoke in the hallways is disturbing as this is a smoke free hotel and at check in each guest signs that they acknowledge this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
176 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
583 reviews
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#9 of 10 in Owen Sound
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#6 of 10 in Owen Sound
166 reviews
22.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Owen Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Owen Sound

Address: 950 6th St E, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 1H1, Canada (Formerly Days Inn Owen Sound)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range: £62 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Owen Sound 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the tranquil shores of Georgian Bay and Lake Huron beckoning, the Quality Inn(R) hotel in Owen Sound, ON gives you real value for your hard-earned money in an area teeming with natural beauty. Our pet-friendly Owen Sound hotel nestled at the base of the Niagara Escarpment will connect you to stunning waterfalls, several art galleries and great family outdoor activities in all four seasons, as well as attractions like: Georgian College Bayshore Community Centre Tom Thompson Art Gallery Bruce Regional Health Centre Julie McArthur Rec Centre Owen Sound hosts festivals and events throughout the year including the award-winning Festival of Northern Lights, Summerfolk and Salmon Spectacular Fishing Derby. Enjoy a meal at our very own Kincaid's restaurant-which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner-or join your friends and family for a drink in our lounge. Our smoke-free Owen Sound hotel offers additional amenities like: Free WiFi Free parking Indoor salt water pool , whirlpool and saunas Business center Exercise room Invite your friends and family to your next event in our meeting room, which can hold up to 200 people for banquets, conferences and other important functions. Get your money's worth at the Quality Inn. Owen Sound hotels like ours help you relax and focus on the people and experiences you came for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Inn Owen Sound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Owen Sound Hotel Owen Sound
Owen Sound Days Inn
Quality Inn Owen Sound Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing