We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The River Cafe - CLOSED

The River Cafe
Price range: US$3 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups, American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Description: BEST CAFE in Owen Sound. Custom espresso beverages, coffee or tea made by our skilled baristas. Fantastic European style atmosphere, original 14' restored tin ceiling in vintage building. Exposed brick wall, cozy fireplace seating with wing chairs, marble tables and old maple floor. Homemade soup, fresh from scratch baking, unique and delicious sandwiches. A big smile and friendly greeting are always complimentary! *GLUTEN FREE* *DAIRY FREE* *VEGETARIAN* *VEGAN*
Level Contributor
103 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Quirky and average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

I had lunch here and found it no better than average. I had Greek salad wit souvlaki and the salad was fine but the chicken was not good. It appears that this place would be better suited for a coffee and muffin rather than lunch.

My biggest disappointment was the Flies that were flying around me while eating. This was a real turn off.

Next time I will come for breakfast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Budz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Husband and I had to great and flavourful sandwiches, drinks and shared Nanaimo bar. Very friendly owner. Great spot for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Judie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Like coming home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

A wonderful little place, with a cozy atmosphere and beautiful local art.
The friendly service and good conversation makes you feel like you've come home.
Home made soups like butternut squash and roasted garlic and delicious fresh salads make it a great place for lunch and home made muffins, cookies, bars and other ( some gluten free, and healthy) for a scrumptious treat. A great menu with a variety of sandwiches and wraps to please anyone.
Best coffee in town a variety of styles and kinds and flavours from fresh brewed to French press. Latte to frappe. Ice tea or old fashioned cream soda.
The river cafe has something to satisfy almost any mood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Shade72581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“the best in Owen Sound”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

If you enjoy a good cup of coffee and find yourself in Owen Sound then please go to the River Cafe. I stop there whenever I am in town and I am never disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank elaine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Freindly Connections”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I have met most of my new good friends at the River. Eavesdropping conversations often leads to surprising acquaintances. My book club meets here and regularly impromptu Friday and Saturday groups gather and share ideas, opinions and fashion tips. This is all presided over by Karen, the owner, who feeds and caffeinates us brilliantly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DeniseF129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The River Cafe also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing