We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make this your stop.....”
Review of Owen Sound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Owen Sound Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Make this your stop.....”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I have not yet been disappointed.... this was my 4th time at this hotel and I am always pleased with the rooms. They are clean, and have a fridge, microwave, and big flat screen tv.
This Inn is owner/operated (husband and wife) and I highly recommend making this your stop in Owen Sound. It is located right on the highway, and convenient to all amenities.
Shiraz and his wife will make your stay a great one.... and at a most reasonable rate!

Thanks to both of you...
Susan

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    47
    13
    12
    10
See reviews for
32
48
21
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
World
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

There were 17 families that stayed here for a Hockey Tournament Nov 2-4, 2012. When my party arrived we were greeted by Shiraz with a friendly "Hello...and welcome". Once we checked in, Shiraz was kind enough to help us carry our bags to our rooms.
The rooms are average, but are spacious. All rooms have a mini fridge and a microwave. Linens were clean and the room was cleaned every day. Shiraz was very accommodating having 17 11 year olds romping thru his hotel, he never complained!!!
This hotel does need some updating... but if you hear what it was before then you will understand that it takes time and lots of money to update everything. For a hard working generous man this makes it a worthwhile stay.
One evening the parents were standing in the hall way talking and Shiraz came to us and was concerned about us standing, so he open opened up the lounge area and allowed us to sit comfortably. He even offered coffee and muffins for us. That type of personal service you will not find in the "big chain" hotels.
Thank you to Owen Sound Inn for giving our team a great experience for our first trip to Owen Sound !!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Almost sounds like the owner might be reviewing his own place.
Anyhow I'm not one to judge.
My stay was average. Clean sheets etc. Nice to for the hour you actually watch it. Sketchy locks on the doors Imo. No key card access sorta speak. The service was subpar. No friendly greeting at the service counter like the reviews say, where we had to go looking for somebody.
The price was a bit expensive Imo. I think I paid just around 180 for 2 beds and 3 people on a Saturday night. No amazing park in the back. Though the property is well maintained.
Just don't think it's a paradise compared to other places. For 180 I would have got a lot closer to sable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manish99, Manager at Owen Sound Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
Please take note that Can $.180.00 is charged for 2 nights ( Fri & Sat )
which is 79.99 & 79.99 + 13% HST = 180.78.
Our room rates are still reasonable than other hotels in Owen Sound,which you have noticed at the time when you have given the reservations to us.
Also you are at liberty to contact to the people, who have took their time to contribute for the good reviews towards Owen Sound Inn.
One thing we do understand that if you are upset with something than the blame comes to the htel service.
Management,
Owen Sound Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

My family and I stayed over during the Labor Day weekend. The price is extremely good for the service and room you get. The beds were clean, there was a lot of hot water, and the rooms were equipped with a fridge, microwave, and 40-inch flat screen. The location is convenient. The family who owns the inn is warm and welcoming, and makes you feel at home. If I had to be really picky, the only problem was with the slightly thin walls (they must've been blasting the TV next-door) and simple breakfast (muffins, coffee, tea, and bagel). Bring your own shampoo!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaraYula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I spent a night here over the Labor Day weekend.
The room was a good size and came well-equipped: microwave, fridge and 40 inch flat screen TV.
Everything was extremely clean. Plenty of towels but bring shampoo. The water in the bathroom was very hot.
Our room was on the ground floor facing the garden at the back. Consequently, not only could we sit outside but it was also very quiet with no sound of traffic from the main road.
The staff were very helpful and well organized.
We didn't take advantage of the simple continental breakfast but it was there if we had wanted it (7:00-9:00 am).
We had checked out the rates at other hotels in Owen Sound and this seemed very competitive. Nevertheless, $129+tax for a king-size bed was a bit of a shock - maybe I've been traveling overseas too much! My wife thought it was a fair price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back (quieter) and on the ground floor (if you are going to be in Owen Sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, CA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This place is off Hwy10/6 and just outside the Owen Sound city proper. A little too far away to walk to the downtown or river front area. We decided to stay at this motel because of the many positive reviews on this site. Although the owners/managers were exceedingly pleasant and chatty, the motel itself was just OK. It was clean and the beds were fairly comfortable. The walls are paper though; thank goodness our neighbors were pretty quiet.The flat screen TV was a bit of a bonus but we didn't come to Owen Sound to watch TV so...not sure what to say about that. I guess for some people, this is an important feature. There was no in-room coffee but I think there was a pot brewing in the lobby. No one offered us any but I assumed it was meant for the guests. There was a fridge and microwave in the room however, which came in handy for a few left-overs we had from supper. Breakfast fare in the morning was completely inedible...some sort of muffins. I'm not sure why these motels/hotels even bother to set food like that out. I can't imagine anyone eats more than a bite. The coffee was just barely OK. We went out of breakfast. There are several places in Owen Sound and just past Rockland to get a hearty meal so don't bother even going down to the lobby for breakfast.

Room Tip: An upstairs room would likely be quieter considering there's virtually no sound-proofing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyCalGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great hospitality and well priced for our short stay. Enjoyed the continental breakfasts and customer service was excellent. Had a great base to have a bit of a look around shores of Lake Huron. Enjoyable!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
499 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
156 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
451 reviews
16.1 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
344 reviews
22.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 4 in Southampton
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen Sound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen Sound Inn

Property: Owen Sound Inn
Address: 485 9th Ave E, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 3E2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Owen Sound Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Owen Sound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owen Sound Hotel Owen Sound
Owen Sound Inn Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing