We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice staff, very overpriced room” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owen Sound Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Owen Sound Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, very overpriced room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

First it’s important to say that the staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. We made a couple of requests while onsite and they were very accommodating.

That being said, this hotel is way over priced on the weekends. We paid $160.00 for a Saturday night stay (with this being the only available room that we could find in Owen Sound). This hotel is reasonable for $60.00 - $70.00 per night, but absolutely no more than that. Although clean, it does have a smell of mold and we asked to change rooms on the first night to attempt to relieve my husband's allergies.

The rooms are very old and in need of upgrades. The bathroom tiles are old, and the ceiling tiles were coming apart. There was a fair amount of what appeared to be mold. Most of the furniture in the room was quite old and not in great shape. The air conditioning unit didn’t really cool the room and it stayed humid feeling the entire time we were onsite.

On the plus side, the hotel is very close to the Bruce Trail, so a great starting off point if you are going hiking. And the beds were comfortable. We did have a fridge and microwave in our room, which was helpful.

If the price was reduced to $60.00 - $70.00 per night on the weekend, it would be an acceptable rate for this hotel. At $160.00 for a Saturday night stay, I would expect much much more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neet D, Manager at Owen Sound Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your recent review and appreciating the clean rooms, comfortable beds and friendly staff.
We continue to renovate and have recently replaced many mattresses, patio doors, installed flat screen tv's etc. We are aware that the bath-rooms and the furniture are not of the latest style but as a small owner operated business we do not have the financial resources to upgrade on a whim.
The picture that you have attached is the shadow caused by the bulge in the carpet behind and below the head-board.
Also, our week-day rates during the summer are between $ 70.00 - $ 100.00. The market forces compel us to charge over $ 150.00 per night over the week-ends as motels with out-door corridors charge more than that in Owen Sound during the week-end. In comparison, we continue to provide the best value for your money in Owen Sound.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    47
    13
    11
    10
See reviews for
32
44
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed there over the weekend and it was an absolute pleasure. We had two rooms and both were very clean. The staff helped us organize my husband's surprise birthday and they were really friendly. I'll definitely stay there if I go to Owen Sound again and would recommend it to anyone. They also told us about the places we could go and see in Owen Sound. It was worth the stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swarna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neet D, Manager at Owen Sound Inn, responded to this review, 5 January 2015
Dear Guest: Thank you for providing an exceptionally objective review of our property. Infact, I'm certain that your personality matches our description as posted below:
1. People who give 5 Stars to our property: They are eternal optimists. They are on a mission to spread warmth and happiness and can hardly see any negatives around them. They find it nourishing to encourage and appreciate the hard-work of others and will enjoy good health and contentment in life;
2. People who give 4 Stars to our property: They are reasonable, objective and have a rational and perspective-based approach in life. They appreciate what is good. At the same time they have retained the ability to let minor grievances slide without affecting their ability to enjoy their vacation/work. They are fully cognizant of the impact of their words and use them carefully;
3. People who give 3 Stars to our property: They are generally well adjusted in their social circle. However, they find new circumstances challenging or they have recently faced or are still facing a personal crisis and are finding it difficult to cope. In the alternative, they may be aggrieved by our inability to address their concerns in a timely manner. It is also possible that they are, in-fact, “4 Star” people who have come across us on our “3 Star” day. Most likely, in a few days or weeks, they will regret their harsh words;
4. People who give 2 Stars to our property: These people are eternal pessimists and will find a reason to complain. They are likely to be ill-adjusted in their social environment. They use words as a weapon to cause hurt and torment. They are unlikely to understand the negative force of their words and use them without being cognizant of the morality and conscientiousness of the same;
5. People who give 1 Star to ANY property: Every property owner fervently prays that they never get these guests. They have a haughty and self-righteous attitude, ooze negativity and have a passion for finding faults. They are likely to be very unhappy with their lives. Consequently, they are on a mission to cause misery to other people as well. They may be suffering from a severe physical/emotional trauma in their lives or are likely to suffer from health concerns due to a negative outlook towards life. While they are highly judgmental and sanctimonious, they will shirk from accepting the moral burden of their words and actions and will pretend to be extremely objective.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here with our two young children on the August long weekend. We found our room to be very comfortable, and the in-room fridge was very convenient. The room had a large TV and having a balcony was nice. The rooms have recently been remodeled, with new sliding doors, new large flat-screen TVs etc. The bathroom was older but very clean. We were told there would be a small breakfast, and we were pleasantly surprised at the variety and quality of breakfast items available. There was yogurt, juice, bagels and bread, as well as home-made muffins and one day an absolutely delicious home-made carrot cake. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. We would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J_H_K_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a horrible hotel, dirty, old, run down and way too expensive for what you get!
The positive reviews are very untrue!
The room (112) was disgusting! Bed was so uncomfortable,the one side of the bed had a piece of wood holding it up, the outside of the mattress was stained with brown liquid, it reminded me of the mattress' you see in the dumpsters, dirty under the bed, walls dirty, mold in the bathroom, has its original tub and shower from 50 years ago,the shower curtain had black mold on the bottom of it, they had skimpy bath towels, the room smelled of mold, it was just disgusting!!
They try and mask the smells in the hallway with plug ins but the room smelled horrible!!!
Staying at this hotel put a real damper on the 2 days we spent in Owen Sound.
Pay the extra $30. and enjoy another hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy!! If we would have brought a tent, I would have rather have slept in that over this room.
By the way, we paid almost $90 for one night and there was no breakfast included, thank God because I would not have eaten anything prepared here.
Do NOT let the other reviews fool you, you will be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royalvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neet D, Manager at Owen Sound Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for providing us feed-back from your stay with us. For a small owner operated Inn it is always gut-wrenching to receive such a scathing review. But, the guest is always right and the faults are all ours.
It is correct that the leg of the bed-frame was broken by the guests preceding you and we had made a stop-gap arrangement by placing a wooden block under one edge. We apologize for the inconvenience.
We try our best to be responsive to the needs and complaints of our guests. Given an opportunity, we would have loved to rectify any short-comings during your stay here.
At the same time, it should be pointed out that our house-keeping team is very thorough in their cleaning and follow a rigorous schedule. Also, I have personally verified that there are no mold stains on the shower curtain (they are washed and replaced regularly).
It is unfortunate that staying with us did not meet your expectations. We are sorry and apologize and hope that in a few days you will forget your negative experience, forgive us and cherish the positives from your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Just got home to Windsor. Stayed 5 nights staff was awesome rooms were very clean so were the corridors lots of toiletries towels beds were comfortable. Nothing negative to say give the new owners a break. Will be back next year

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neet D, Manager at Owen Sound Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Brenda: Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our property. In the last two years we have put in a lot of effort to provide our guests with clean rooms and comfortable beds to give them the "loudest bang for their buck." We provide 4-8 pillows in each room, ample amount of towels, enough toiletries, etc. Our house-keepers are very hard-working and try to keep the rooms and the corridors in a very clean condition.
Also, in our experience, 99% of our guests appreciate the efforts of the staff and management and enjoy their stay at the Owen Sound Inn. We are able to satisfy the needs and requirements of a majority of the remaining 1% by our prompt redressal of their grievances.
We thank all our guests and especially the 1% that keeps us on our toes as we strive to provide the best value for money during your stay in Owen Sound
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very bare bones, but for $60/ night great value for anyone passing thru. Clean and comfortable. Not sure it would be great for a week, but for a night or two, not bad at all. If price was higher I'd rate it lower, but for the price it is , pretty good. Nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neet D, Manager at Owen Sound Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing our property and appreciating the "Good value for price" offered at the Owen Sound Inn.
Our weekday rates vary between $60 and $100/night depending upon the length of your stay and the type of beds in the room. The week-end rates during the summer months are higher.
Some of the facilities at the Owen Sound Inn are:
1. Newer mattresses (mostly within the last one year) in most rooms;
2. Flat screen TV’s (40” or bigger) in all the rooms;
3. Hypo-allergenic mattress encasements (most 4 star hotels and even some 5 star hotels do not provide these);
4. 4 to 8 pillows in each room;
5. Brand new high-efficiency patio doors are being installed;
6. High-speed wireless internet with the best plan provided by Rogers and supported by Access Points from EnGenius Technologies;
7. Hairdryer;
8. Alarm clock;
9. Refrigerator;
10. Microwave;
11. Telephone with free local-calls;
12. Local, city and regional maps are available at the front desk free of charge;
13. Complimentary breakfast consisting of tea, coffee, orange juice, freshly baked muffins, toast and yogurt is provided on Saturdays and Sundays throughout the summer;
14. Coffee makers are available for the rooms on request;
15. Irons and ironing boards are available on request; etc.
It is a strong testament to the strength of the hospitality industry in Canada that a property with these facilities is categorized as bare-bones.
We will continue in our efforts to provide the best facilities and service to our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had originally booked this hotel for 2 nights and left after the first nights stay (refunded).
Although it appears the new owners are attempting to refurbish the place, it is at the moment very run down and not worth over $100 per night.
The walls in the common areas and halls are filthy with dirt marks and stains all over. The carpets are dirty overall the place is very dark.
The rooms themselves are "fairly" clean. But there are issues. Our outside sliding door did not lock. The TV on our wall was about 25 degrees off level so you had to tilt your head to the right to see anything properly. One corner of our bed was being held up by 2 pieces of plywood (see pic). The couch looked a little to scary to place our luggage on let alone sit on. There was no toiletries available. I would not walk on the carpet without shoes on, which meant going to the bathroom at night was a more of a chore than normal.
On the good side the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was bare bones but far from awful. The location is good right on Hwy 6 and close to downtown.
I would recommend you find another location until they fix the place up. But if you must...you have been warned.

Room Tip: Don't ask for the quiet room. It is down in the dungeon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bolte59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neet D, Manager at Owen Sound Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest, a detailed response is provided for each allegation:
1. Original Booking for 2 Nights: It is correct that you had reservations for 2 nights. This was a confirmed reservation and you had chosen to book the cheapest room available and specifically requested a quiet room at the back. On arrival, you changed your mind and wanted/demanded a free upgrade and a room at the front. We accommodated you by a providing a free "double upgrade" from a double bed to a king size bed;
2. Refund for second Night: You had changed your plans before arrival and wanted to spend the second night in Tobermory. While we had every right to charge you for the second night, considering your repeated pleadings we made a rare exception and provided a refund for the second night to accommodate you. Your review of our property once again affirms the old adage that "no good deed goes unpunished";
3. Walls are filthy: At the very least, along-with the rest of your comments, this is hyperbole. Admittedly, there are several short-comings in our property (but very few compared to similarly priced properties). Thankfully "filth" is not one of them. We take great pride in maintaining a clean property and clean rooms and consider your remark as extremely offensive. All future guests are requested to view a very recent (3-4 weeks old) virtual tour and pictures of our property at www.owensoundinn.com;
4. Outside sliding door did not lock: We have installed brand new sliding doors. If the staff had been advised of your inability to lock the door, they would have gladly assisted you and locked the door for you. In any event there is an additional bar/rod provided in each room to act as a second lock;
5. No toiletries available in the room: Another example of hyperbole. Depending upon the room, there are 3-5 bars of soap and shampoo pouches in each room;
6. Breakfast bare-bones: We do not charge for the breakfast. It is complimentary and provided as a courtesy to our guests on the weekends only. It consists of coffee, tea, orange juice, freshly baked muffins, yogurt and toast. Our guests are usually satisfied by this admittedly "small complimentary breakfast to help you towards the nearest Timmies";
7. Down in the dungeon: You had specifically requested a quiet room at the back. Common sense dictates that the rooms at the end of the corridor (80 feet long and with a glass door at the end - so this dungeon definitely comes with light at its end) are the quietest and the same was provided to you;
8. Place is very dark: There are 7 light fixtures in the 80 foot corridor and provide ample lighting to our guests.
9. "ROOMS THEMSELVES ARE "FAIRLY" CLEAN": Our staff, myself included, is thrilled at getting the "fairly clean" description from this reviewer.
It is my considered and objective opinion that this review does not provide a fair assessment of our property. We take pride in providing clean rooms and comfortable beds at a reasonable price (weekday prices range from $ 60.00 to $ 90.00, although the week-ends in summer are more expensive). The rooms have flat screen TV's, new patio doors are being installed, the carpets are clean and regularly steam cleaned with our on-site commercial steamer. I acknowledge that there is always room for improvement and we continuously strive to better ourselves and provide the best possible accommodation for a guest on a budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
1.6 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#7 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
16.0 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Owen Sound
Quality Inn Owen Sound
#10 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owen Sound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owen Sound Inn

Property: Owen Sound Inn
Address: 485 9th Avenue East, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 3E2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Owen Sound Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Owen Sound Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owen Sound Hotel Owen Sound
Owen Sound Inn Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing