We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly owner, good Indian food, for a good value”
Review of Taj Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

Taj Indian Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Our restaurant offers Authentic Tandori Cuisine. With many lunch specials, an extensive menu of cultural dishes, and fantastic dinners and takeout options, you can try some of the best Indian Cuisine in the Region. Our head Chef and owner Milah, used his 20 years of experience to create our menu that has famous indian dishes like "Butter Chicken, Lamb of Beef Vindaloo, Shrimp Curry, Chicken Madras, Tikki Masala, and vegetarian specialities such as Mixed Vegetable Curry, and Vegetable Korma's. There are well over 30 items to order from, and our customers have raved about our wonderful food, and the reasonable prices!"Taste Authentic Indian Cuisine"
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Friendly owner, good Indian food, for a good value”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The food is good and came in large portions. The owner, Miah, is originally from India but has lived in Canada for many years. He is talkative and seemed genuinely happy to speak with everyone in the restaurant. At $12 the dinner special was a great value and there's a small selection of local craft beers; if I return to Owen Sound I will return here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing delicious Indian”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I LOVE the Taj Indian Restaurant in downtown Owen Sound. We are Indian food fanatics and this is one of best casual dining/take out Indian restaurants we've been to in Ontario! My husband is from London, England and they really know their Indian food. This is the one take-out food I would bring home and serve to company (and have!) Love everything, from the samosas to the chicken korma, vindaloo dishes, and vegetable dishes like the spinach and potatoes (saag aloo). Quality tender meat in delicious sauces. Excellent every time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elgin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic ”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were on our way home and stopped in Owen Sound for dinner. We tried 3 dishes, a vindaloo, a korma, and a vegetarian dish loaded with chick peas. All 3 dishes were great! The man who owns the place is very personable and friendly.

Helpful?
2 Thank 242PaulS242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good portions, good flavours, excellent value”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Ate here from the lunch specials menu. Good portions, with good flavours without being too spicy (I like mild rather than strong flavours). The happy, chatty owner was welcoming and helpful. The restaurant has a slightly dated decor and little atmosphere at lunchtime. We later discovered that The Taj has a good reputation for take-outs.
Definitely a place to go for lunch again, especially as it's such excellent value. 2 set meals for $20 incl tax.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deedub47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm Indian flavors”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Ate here for lunch while visiting Owen Sound. We happen to love the flavors and spice of the food from India and have found the Mr. Miah has the the right touch. We have also eaten at his old location in Toronto and were excited to find his new location in Owen Sound. His portions are very generous and flavors are authentic. Great lunch spot, for personal or business.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank notenuftime2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taj Indian Restaurant also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing