We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down home charm, Upscale Service.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owen Sound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Simcoe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Down home charm, Upscale Service.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We returned once again to the bed and breakfast, this time with two little ones in tow. Matthew and Jamie accomodated our children and welcomed them as they have always welcomed us. Jamie even fed my picky little eater with something that wasn't on the menu. As always the food was mouthwatering, the service above any other and the bed... oh my word... that bed. I slept VERY well. You won't believe me until you try it! These guys know how to run a bed and breakfast. My visits at any other B&B or hotel will always be measured by the high standards held at MacLean Estate B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thanks guys! We enjoyed having you stay with us once again, and hope to see you on your next excursion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brockville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

When staying in Owen Sound to visit an elderly parent we had stayed in a couple of not so ideal motels. We decided to try the B and B stay on our most recent trip. The MacLean Estate was amazing. We stayed in the turret king room with en-suite bathroom. The decor was so lovely and fresh with a beautiful blue and white colour scheme. The king bed was so comfortable and for a downtown location, the room was very quiet. The newly renovated bathroom was lovely and was stocked with everything you would need; shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, etc..
Our host Jamie served a fabulous breakfast of granola with yogurt and fresh fruit, eggs benedict, ginger with blueberry coffee cake and of course good, hot coffee. We will definitely stay here whenever we are in Owen Sound. Thanks so much for your wonderful hospitality Jamie!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We loved having you here and look forward to seeing you again, so we can try a different breakfast on you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had never stayed in Owen Sound before and are so happy we stayed at the MacLean Estate for our first visit! The house is gorgeous, the room was lovely, and we enjoyed having the balcony - perfect for a "happy hour" drink before heading to dinner. A quick and easy walk to downtown dining, shops, and nightlife. Divine yogurt/granola/fresh berries and Cointreau French Toast for breakfast. (Thanks, Jamie, for accommodating our Eggs Benedict-aversion!) We were out until about 1:30 a.m. the night we stayed, and the separate entrance ensured we didn't disturb our hosts. Thank you so much for having us and we hope to visit again!

Room Tip: For a room with an ensuite bathroom, you'll have to pick the King Suite. The other two (Queen) r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We enjoyed having both of you stay here at our B&B and thank you so much for the nice review! We hope to see you both on your next visit to Owen Sound!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Walking distance to downtown shops, restaurants and entertainment. Each room has its own flat screen TV, DVD player, refrigerator and microwave. Newly renovated, the ensuite and king bed room are tastefully done. With a private entrance, a/c, and ceiling fan, this B&B has a wonderful host who serves amazing breakfasts customed to your special needs as well. Thanks Jamie.

Room Tip: The king size bedroom is in the turret and receives the sun in the afternoons. The other 2 rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PitaMooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you guys for staying with us... Jamie loved talking to you guys! We hope we can use some off the photos you took for our Facebook site... they were awesome! We look forward to seeing you both again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The house is beautiful, the food excellent and the service perfect. The love that has gone into renovating this house now shows in the way they care for their patrons. From immaculate accomodation, to helping out of towners find something to do during their stay and delicious breakfasts, this bed and breakfast is one my family hopes to visit time again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Manager at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you so much Melaine! (and sorry for the late response!) We are excited that you have booked again this August and look forward to seeing you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This former doctor's home has been lovingly restored and furnished by the new owners. The location is ideal and within walking distance of the farmers' market, shops and entertainment. We had a spacious room and the full breakfasts were great! We love having a host who will stay and chat through breakfast, and Jamie MacLean had many suggestions for area restaurants to try and shops to visit.

Room Tip: The room with the turret windows was very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattMacMD, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Thank you Shirley! We enjoyed having you in our Home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.9 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
15.3 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast

Property: MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 404 9th St E, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 1P3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over a Century of Charm and originally owned by some of the first doctors of Owen Sound! This Victorian Bed & Breakfast caters to you! A Hot Gourmet Breakfast awaits in the morning, along with fresh ground coffee, fruits & pastries. A King Turret Private En-suite with Sitting Area and full HDTV, along with 2 Queen Size Rooms, one with a walk out balcony, also both with HDTV in Room. Private B&B Entrance to Come & Go as you Like! Central Air installed... and Our doors were opened to you... June 15th, 2012! "Where Our home is Your home!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing