We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise Proposal in a Beautiful B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owen Sound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Barrie, Canada
1 review
“Surprise Proposal in a Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The delightfully historic atmosphere of the B&B and the warm reception of our host made for a truly memorable stay. Jamie was incredibly helpful. Not only did he take the time to provide us with recommendations of places to eat and things to do in Owen Sound, but he went above and beyond by decorating our beautiful room in rose petals and chilling champagne for my now fiance's surprise proposal. Of course I said yes, and we will always remember our stay. We'll be sure to return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claireshauna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you Shauna & Dustin! It was a very exciting time, as the very 1st proposal in our B&B! We loved having you here, and wish you guys ONLY the best for your Marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
24
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I recently enjoyed a stay at the MacLean Estate. It is a beautiful old home recently renovated and offers the character of an old home with the benefits of modern facilities. Our room offered a king sized bed and lovely ensuite. We had use of a microwave oven and refrigerator and were provided with enjoyable snacks. Our host was very accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed an excellent gourmet breakfast in the morning. We would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone travelling in the area.

Room Tip: If you want a private bathroom, I would suggest the king sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 565Marilyn1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We enjoyed having you Marilyn, and hope you return for more gourmet breakfasts! Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at the MacLean Estate earlier this month. The property was clean and cozy the host were EXTREMELY hospitable/helpful and the food was SUPERB. We felt right at home!! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this B & B if your travels take you to Owen Sound!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you Rob! We hope to have you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful place to stay in Owen Sound, not 2 blocks from the downtown strip. We stayed in the Dr. J.A. Hershey King Turret Room and it was impeccably kept. It's a gorgeous building and Jamie was a wonderful host.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Sorry we did not see your reply earlier Nina! Thank you so much for the kind review and we very mush enjoyed having you stay with us. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We had a made a last minute booking and stayed in the turret room which had great character. The walk in shower was lovely too.
Extra touches like complementary nuts and popcorn where sweet but the best bit was our hosts helpfulness and knowledge of the area.
Thanks

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sita-pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattMacMD, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you guys so much for a great review! We enjoyed having you both and hope we will see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We returned once again to the bed and breakfast, this time with two little ones in tow. Matthew and Jamie accomodated our children and welcomed them as they have always welcomed us. Jamie even fed my picky little eater with something that wasn't on the menu. As always the food was mouthwatering, the service above any other and the bed... oh my word... that bed. I slept VERY well. You won't believe me until you try it! These guys know how to run a bed and breakfast. My visits at any other B&B or hotel will always be measured by the high standards held at MacLean Estate B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thanks guys! We enjoyed having you stay with us once again, and hope to see you on your next excursion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brockville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

When staying in Owen Sound to visit an elderly parent we had stayed in a couple of not so ideal motels. We decided to try the B and B stay on our most recent trip. The MacLean Estate was amazing. We stayed in the turret king room with en-suite bathroom. The decor was so lovely and fresh with a beautiful blue and white colour scheme. The king bed was so comfortable and for a downtown location, the room was very quiet. The newly renovated bathroom was lovely and was stocked with everything you would need; shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, etc..
Our host Jamie served a fabulous breakfast of granola with yogurt and fresh fruit, eggs benedict, ginger with blueberry coffee cake and of course good, hot coffee. We will definitely stay here whenever we are in Owen Sound. Thanks so much for your wonderful hospitality Jamie!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacLeanEstate, Owner at MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! We loved having you here and look forward to seeing you again, so we can try a different breakfast on you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
0.9 mi away
Best Western Inn On The Bay
Best Western Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#8 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
15.3 mi away
Waterview on The Bay
Waterview on The Bay
#1 of 4 in Wiarton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast

Property: MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 404 9th St E, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 1P3, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over a Century of Charm and originally owned by some of the first doctors of Owen Sound! This Victorian Bed & Breakfast caters to you! A Hot Gourmet Breakfast awaits in the morning, along with fresh ground coffee, fruits & pastries. A King Turret Private En-suite with Sitting Area and full HDTV, along with 2 Queen Size Rooms, one with a walk out balcony, also both with HDTV in Room. Private B&B Entrance to Come & Go as you Like! Central Air installed... and Our doors were opened to you... June 15th, 2012! "Where Our home is Your home!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
MacLean Estate Bed & Breakfast Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing