We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven to restore peace and tranquility within.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owen Sound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A haven to restore peace and tranquility within.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

As soon as you arrive you can feel all the tension in your body just fade away! The grounds are beautiful,the rooms are quaint and the hosts Norma and David are two of the most gracious, funny and welcoming people you will ever want to meet. The breakfasts are delicious and the presention is done with care. We loved our stay and will definately go back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobsterrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at Holly Cottage for one night on our way north to Bruce Peninsula for a long weekend, and were pampered in every way possible. David and Norma are the most wonderful hosts who have thought of everything to create a warm, welcoming, comfortable and downright luxurious stay for their guests. We'd never been so spoiled on a weekend getaway, even at 4+ star hotels! There are so many amazing things worth mentioning, and we will try to capture all of that here:

First of all, booking a room at this B&B is made very easy and reliable with their user-friendly website that allows online booking using both PayPal and regular credit card transaction. Norma and David are also available and very helpful on the phone, for those who don't like dealing with computers!

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by Norma, who took us for a tour of the cottage, told us all we need to know about the place and even introduced us to their two cute cats Barney and Peaches. There were several common facilities in the cottage to be enjoyed by the guests including a porch with comfortable seating overlooking the cottage grounds, a large living room complete with every entertainment you could think of (large selection of DVDs, music, board games, magazines, books, etc), a fridge for guests to store food, water, and of course beer (that you can enjoy on the porch while watching the sunset). The entire cottage is decorated with charming and characteristic pieces, that make the place feel like home! Our favorite touches were the tricycle and grandfather clock in the living room, and the copper kettle set in our room.

As for the guest room we stayed in, once again David and Norma had taken everything into consideration and had equipped both the room and bathroom with anything you could ever possibly need: plush robes and slippers, extra blankets and pillows, a mini water cooler, wine glasses and cork screw, sewing kit, books, an assortment of lotions and moisturizers, numerous towels, hand-made soap, good quality shampoo and conditioner, hair dryer, etc.

As if all of that wasn't enough, Norma and David go the extra mile with a gourmet breakfast that is to die for! Perfectly poached eggs, freshly-whipped cream cheese with pineapple, steaming toasted bagels, a wide selection of tea and juices and more, all served with a smile, what better way to start a day!

This was without a doubt one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at and would highly recommend to anyone who is planning a stay in the Owen Sound area.

Room Tip: The Kyle room is great for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tdot-travel-addicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

What a delightful spot! David and Norma have added a complete wing to their 150 year old farmhouse just for their guests..stunning Livingroom with windows looking out onto the countryside, a covered porch to sit upon and enjoy the afternoon sun, and our favourite part...the huge guest room we were lucky enough to book. Queen sleigh bed in a large side alcove, fireplace, and comfy chairs beside a table ready for us to have our wine and cheese..they even thought of A platter, plates, serviettes, real wine glasses, corkscrew and napkins. Dead quiet for sleeping. Coffee and tea were left outside the room in the morning. A hot breakfast was served in a lovely dining room.

Norma sent us to The Kemble Women's Intitute Lookout...it's a stone tea party..makes a great photo and to the Kepple Croft Gardens...spent over 2 hours there and could have stayed longer..both of which we were totally ignorant until she told us about them and they were highlights of the trip!

Room Tip: The fireplace suite is the one to ask for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauren155002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have always wanted to stay at Holly Cottage when we visit Owen Sound. However there was never any room. Not this trip. We are now spoiled. The reason is David and Norma have spoiled us for anything else. They want to please regardless of the effort. Coffee and apple juice at wake up time. Breakfast that is beyond our expectations. Comfortable bed. Friendly hosts with servants hearts. Staying here is like what you would expect to experience on a 5 star cruise. We will make any excuse to return. What a pretty place.

Room Tip: Call early, it is difficult to get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundlake60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

I promised my family that - after a few years of non-stop running - that we would enjoy our favourite parts of Grey County simply as tourists. In short, it had been a very long time since we'd had a chance for a vacation, and Holly Cottage was at the top of our list of places to stay. We weren't disappointed. This B&B is perfect in every way. To begin, David and Norma are the most charming hosts imaginable: attentive, warm, intelligent, well-informed... and (it turns out) absolutely marvellous cooks! Beyond that, the home itself is beautiful: a Grey County stone home, wonderfully restored and appointed. The bedrooms - one for us and another for our young daughter - were the stuff of dreams... literally. If you want to experience a perfect slice of Grey County, spend a little time at Holly Cottage. Plan to stay a bit: David and Norma can direct you to the local beauty spots and the best local restaurants (do try Leeky Canoe in Meaford). Though we're not really far away, we'll be back to Holly Cottage again for the hospitality, the wonderful breakfasts, and the charming surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosegardengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Our stay at the Holly Cottage was perfect. Starting with the hosts' tremendous hospitality and generosity and adding the delicious, fresh, organic and huge breakfast, everything made our stay extremely pleasant. Evenings were charming sitting in the nicely decorated living room enjoying a variety of organic tea and home made cookies.Norma and David are not only great hosts but also very helpful and resourceful giving us ideas and directions to places that the Tourist Information Centre didn't even mention. We spent 4 days and three nights there and we were sad that we had to leave. We plan to go back again and we would recommend this place to anyone who loves a welcoming and warm place to stay, loves to chat and have a good time in the company of very kind people. Thank you again , Norma and David.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirela i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Fantastic respite at a charming home. Everything was perfect. Our room, The Kyle Room was large and comfortable and our bathroom was new and huge. The entire inn was tastefully decorated and so cozy. Norma and Dave are the hosts with the most! Breakfasts were superb and fresh and satisfying. A beautiful country home where you can relax outside on the back porch and watch the birds. I was also impressed with how clean and tidy everything was. The Cottage sits between Owen Sound (10 minutes to W) and Meaford (15 min to E). We will most certainly stay here again. A terrific find.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsucker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Owen Sound hotels
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
4.8 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#7 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travellers Motel & Restaurant
Travellers Motel & Restaurant
#9 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: R.R. #8 | 204708 Highway 26, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5W4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Holly Cottage Bed And Breakfast Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing