We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to Detail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owen Sound
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Owen Sound B&B and Inns
REABORO, ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attention to Detail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

David and Norma were friendly and generous with their space. Wonderful attention to detail with their breakfasts made our little getaway memorable. They gave us great tips for restaurants, hikes and local attractions. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARNIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
21
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kalida, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I have been married for a little under a year and this was our first vacation since our Honeymoon last October. This trip made my wife's sixth return visit to Owen Sound and her fifth at Holly Cottage; while this was my first visit to Owen Sound and Holly Cottage. Dave and Norma are wonderful hosts and very knowledgeable of the surrounding areas and very accommodating to food allergies and if you want to stay out past 11pm they can give you a key to get back in, they just ask that you be respectful of the other guests.

The building itself is amazing, 4 rooms are available, 2 near the front and 2 near the rear of the building with plenty of sitting areas both inside and outside. The B&B is located between Owen Sound and Meaford (maybe 15 minutes to either place) and it is far enough away from the cities that you can enjoy some star gazing on the property. The rooms are all amazing, Dave and Norma have really gone to great lengths to make each room clean, comfortable, and very pleasing. They have provided some, being an understatement, books and magazines both in the rooms and the common areas for your enjoyment. They also have an ample amount of maps, and I cannot stress this enough, and are very knowledgeable of the surrounding area, even suggesting and providing directions for alternate routes to get you around road construction while taking you through beautiful country side and amazing lake front views.

Dave and Norma are both amazing and friendly and excellent cooks. If you walk away hungry from their breakfasts then it is by your own decision. The breakfasts are all sourced from local markets and gardens and are simply amazing. If you want to see what breakfast will be in the morning all you need to do is read the sign in the dining room each night before you head to bed. Dave and Norma recommended some amazing routes to places, things to do there, and some great places to eat at. We stopped at and highly recommend Ted's Range Road Diner, while it may look like a dive out front the food is amazing, my wife had bison striploin and I had bacon wrapped kangaroo medallions with a starter of sauteed ostrich strips for us both. Chances are that during your stay you will be staying there with other return visitors, and if you aren't a bed and breakfast person before staying here you will be after.

I cannot say enough good things about Dave and Norma, my wife and I had a fantastic time and will definitely stop back.

Room Tip: The fireplace room has a small fireplace and a great view of the country side from the small seating...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at the Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast in mid May as it had been recommended to us- and it was conveniently located on the Bruce Trail, a portion of which was our mission to cover that week end. We are a family of five (children aged 18, 16, and 11) who aim to cover the Bruce Trail across time- and as such we were muddy and tired when we arrived. This did not faze Dave and Norma- in fact they were great supporters of our messy troops. This is a spotless, well cared for lovely bright home and we were priviledged to get the two upper rooms to ourselves which was perfect. We were given excellent suggestions for dinner in Meaford, and then happily sank in to our beds that night. The breakfast was the kind you crave if you are hungry and know good homemade food- fresh jams etc. What a start to our final day on the trail- but it got even better when we had a delicious lunch packed for us as well- and at an extremely reasonable rate for this excellent meal to go on the trail. I can hardly wait to return...the next section of the trail awaits and I will look forward to our return to Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in two separate rooms that were right next to each other and shared a common bathroom. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinookTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We are a young couple in our late 20s and we lucked out with Holly Cottage because of a last minute cancellation. We couldn't have picked a better place. The hosts Dave and Norma are really nice, helpful and friendly. Their cottage is neat, clean and filled with little details that makes it feel like home. Also, I believe there are only 3 rooms for rent, so it is never noisy or crowded.
You will love their hearty breakfast! Everything they cook and bake is fresh - muffins will still be hot, and the jam is home made. Dave's eggs are delicious :)
As first time visitors to the Georgian Bay, we didn't know much about the region but it was really easy to get around if you are willing to drive. We wanted a quiet, pretty beach and to Norma's suggestion we avoided Sauble Beach and went to Southampton instead - it was gorgeous! We then went canoeing for 3 hours on Saugeen River - another must do. We didn't hike or visit caves and waterfalls due to bad weather, but it was all there within reach. Dave and Norma will give you great advice and all the info you need.
The only thing I want to call out is that they close for the day at 11 PM so don't make any late night plans - we assumed we'd be fine coming back late. We went to dinner at the Dam Pub (another one of Dave's suggestions - they have 675 whiskeys to choose from!) and wanted to have a couple of drinks but had to return back. On a side note, the Dam Pub has some amazing dishes so don't let the 'pub' fool you. If you like to live dangerously like we do, try Suzanne's haggis and escargot - you will not be disappointed. Pretty much everything on the menu can rival any fine dining restaurant.
All in all, we loved our long weekend there and could not have been happier with Holly Cottage. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonia_Perhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corunna, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We just stayed the one night here. Holly Cottage was just lovely and peaceful. It is in a country setting, mid way between Owen Sound and Meaford. The rooms were spacious and made cozy with antiques and quilts. Our bed was very comfy. Dave and Norma were great hosts offering advice on good restaurants and other points of interest to visit. There is a large living room for guest use plus a lovely verandah to sit and watch the sun set. Our breakfast in the morning was excellent and they even had gluten free for my husband. We had a lovely stay here and I would definitely recommend Holly Cottage.

Room Tip: Lyle Room has a Jacuzzi tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmcrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Dave and Norma were very friendly and helpful. We felt relaxed and at home. Their dinning and site seeing suggestions were excellant. The room and bath were spacious and attractive. We had a great time staying with them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed three nights, travelling solo as a hiker working my way across the Sydenham section of Bruce Trail near/around Owen Sound. David and Norma are excellent hosts. They strike a perfect combination of friendliness, while being relaxed and casual, yet at the same time totally professional, efficient and attentive. I felt like a special guest in a welcoming home more than a stranger in a place where you pay to sleep. My room was perfect and I very much loved the natural light, open windows and enchanting bird song. Breakfasts were all perfect. David was easy-going and very helpful shuttling me to trail-heads early in the morning each day, which was the number one 'service' I required. It worked perfectly. Some highlights... coffee delivered early in the morning on a tray. Seeing the first hummingbird of the season as I lounged on the deck after a day of hiking. Cool breezes at night and sunrise with birdsong. I have stayed in 5 star resorts that cost several times more money than Holly Cottage. Value is amazing.

Room Tip: I stayed in the upper room in the newer section of the home with east, south and west facing windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owen Sound
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
BEST WESTERN Inn On The Bay
#1 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
Comfort Inn Owen Sound
#4 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
4.8 mi away
Owen Sound Inn
Owen Sound Inn
#5 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Knights Inn Owen Sound
Knights Inn Owen Sound
#2 of 10 in Owen Sound
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
Travelodge Owen Sound ON
#7 of 10 in Owen Sound
3.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
20.5 mi away
Danby House B&B
Danby House B&B
#1 of 4 in Markdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Holly Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: R.R. #8 | 204708 Highway 26, Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 5W4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Grey County > Owen Sound
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Owen Sound
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Holly Cottage Bed And Breakfast Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing