We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet, classy place”

Nathaniel's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Owen Sound, ON
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, classy place”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The food is some of Owen Sound's better cuisine...and it's very reasonably priced. The service is always great. Simply a great place to take your wife for a nice dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FuntimesOwenSound_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    27
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Enjoyable”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were at Nathaniel's Nov 2 2013 for a family birthday party. The restaurant is very intimate as there aren't many tables. We found everything to be above our expectations, including service, food quality, and price. They were very accommodating for customizing dishes. I had veal parmesan which was great. Everyone else enjoyed their meal also. We went early but the restaurant filled up quickly and I can understand why. I would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heritagehei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fine dining at a local restaurant”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I have not been back to Nathaniel's for just over two years due to an accident my wife had that laid her up for some time. This restaurant is our favorite local restaurant bar none. It is with the greatest of pleasure to say that the food and service is still excellent. The server did not rush us in any way.The food was served piping hot and a taste that was excellent. The bill,with a bottle of Pelee Island white wine and dessert came to $100.00.We had the veal scallopini and a starter for two consisting of 4 scallops,4 shrimp and 2 bruschetta. We loved every mouthful of the entire meal.Desserts finished the meal.Beautiful.
We highly recommend this lovely restaurant to anyone who appreciates a great meal.Reservations are recommended.
Bon appetit

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Forest, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Just splendid dining”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

First..a great Beefeater Martini..followed by mussels in an outstanding white wine sauce...our entree was sea bass...with perfectly sautéed veggies.....accompanied by a Ruffino Pinot Grigio. Our bill was less than $125.....outstanding, and in addition very good service! The best within 100 km!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lojlomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Must Try!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were pleasantly greeted as we entered this quaint little restaurant. The linen clad tables were elegantly set. A basket of amazing garlic bread was brought to us as we decided on our menu selections. We opted for the homemade soup of the day, mussels, steak and arctic char. For dessert we chose the carrot cake and cheesecake. The food was wonderful. All homemade and fresh. The chef and owner took some time to come out and engage us in great conversation. We really enjoyed our evening there. We were made to feel like we were at a friend's home not a stuffy restaurant. Put this restaurant on your "must try" list!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jani_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nathaniel's Restaurant also viewed

 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Nathaniel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing