We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By far, the best in town !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nathaniel's Restaurant

Nathaniel's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 102 Restaurants in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ontario
Level Contributor
221 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“By far, the best in town !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Wide food selection, excellent food preparation, great service - what more do you need ??? Decent wine selection, white tablecloths, reasonable prices, comfortable chairs ... It is not a rowdy place. Here, you can enjoy your meal with soft music, have conversations without yelling. Our meals were steak and scallops - perfectly done. The restaurant was very quiet on this Wednesday night, so had a window table.
It is located a few doors up from Norma Jean's, which was our original destination. There, we were placed by an air vent, then under the air conditioner, the music was very loud ... we walked out. The prices at Nathaniel's are only slightly higher but you get great value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank belleamie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    25
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Obscure Local Restaurant the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were looking for a restaurant where we could enjoy fish caught in the nearby Georgian Bay. We had seafood, perhaps not from the Bay, but our meal was excellent. Vegetables were done perfectly, sweet potato fries were the best I've ever had and the fish was prepared very well. The atmosphere was elegant and relaxing. The restaurant is not large, but service is personal. Not many restaurants do white linen tablecloths and offer reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Dinner, great service, elegant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We enjoyed our dinner and would highly recommend anyone looking for a nice evening out while in Owen Sound. Steak was done perfectly, scallops were delicious and the coconut cream pie was the perfect end to a perfect meal! We will be back on our next trip to Owen Sound

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Class, elegance and amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Dan and Jeff are great hosts. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing, classy place to eat dinner, visit Nathaniel's. Amazing food, lovely atmosphere and quality for the price! You won't go away hungry or disappointed, ever!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK but doesn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've been here a couple times now based on others recommendations but both times we found the food to be average, a little over-priced, and even the atmosphere is lack-luster. Don't get me wrong, it's not horrible, but just not my cup of tea.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TravnBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nathaniel's Restaurant also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Nathaniel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing