We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy customer”

Captain John's Fish & Chips
Ranked #71 of 102 Restaurants in Owen Sound
Cuisines: Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Catharines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Happy customer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stopped for lunch on a whim. We were surprised to see no other customers but quickly figured out the reason why. We'd arrived on one of the few days of the week where they don't have the double the fish special. So we paid the regular price for the regular amount of fish. We ordered the two piece haddock and chips. They were excellent and the quantity was more than enough to fill us. My husband was in the mood for chowder to go with his meal, but they don't serve and soups here. Casual atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littleann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    17
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cudahy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great place for fish & chips with gravy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Definitely a place locals go to since the waitress seemed to know everyone who came in. that's always a good sign. We went on double fish day so it was really a great bargain.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KnittingNut53110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“average fish and chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The fish and chips were OK, a little over cooked. Fish tasted like it had been frozen too long, definitely not fresh. Which is kind of disappointing, considering all the lakes. Service was a little slow, waitress seemed more interested about talking on the phone then serving customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceTrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you are looking for great fish and chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is your place. We ordered the daily special and the fish was great, the batter was crisp and tasted good too. The fries were made at the shop and hot. Our server was attentive and prompt. The place was clean - however it was dated. The paint was fading and this place could use a spruce up. Ignore that and you will enjoy the food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

When I saw the sign advertising Broasted Chicken I thought it would be a good place to pick up some food for my family. I've been enjoying broasted chicken every year on holidays since we tried it about five years ago at Maple Ridge in Miller Lake. I love the flavour and moistness of the chicken at Maple Ridge. I thought it would be the same at Captain John's. I was wrong. They advertise moist chicken at Captain John's. It wasn't. It was dry and tasteless.Oh well. I guess they're known for their fish. I was very happy with the service though - very friendly and prompt. Maybe next time we'll try the fish and go on a double fish day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RandyHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain John's Fish & Chips also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Captain John's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing