We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!”

Channing Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 103 Restaurants in Owen Sound
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
244 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When we don't feel like going out we pop in here on our way home! We always get a dinner for one for each of us and sometimes a wonton soup. The service is fast and the food is made fresh. A dinner for one is usually more than I can eat at one sitting so it serves as a second meal...or more for my teenage son!! Always hot and fresh.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skyturtle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    27
    10
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Forest, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lunch for the Hungry !”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

In the heart of downtown Owen Sound, Channing's is the eatery for oriental food. Beware, however, the luncheon plate is served overflowing with food. While the won ton soup was a tad watery, the entree was great with chicken balls, noodles and rice. At least a dozen choices on the menu and all around $8 to $10 . As well service was fast and pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lojlomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meaford, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not all that impressed”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Lived in this area for 23 years and decided to try this restaurant. We waited about 5 minutes to be greeted and seated. At least 10 minutes for a waitress to take our order and over 30 minutes for our food to be brought to us. It was tasteless. Everything on my plate tasted the same and the other person with me said the same thing. We waited for our bill and eventually just got up and went to the till where we waited for at least 5 minutes for someone to come and give us our bill and take our money. They were very busy and did not seem to have enough staff on. The waitresses seemed so rushed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kym P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where I take my Asian friends...”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Best Chinese food in the city, if not north of Toronto. Prompt service with generous servings. Try their ginger beef with broccoli!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GordonSetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Recommend this restaurant to our friends all the time. Wonton soup to die for. Lots of food always hot. Love it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kek74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Channing Restaurant also viewed

Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 
Owen Sound, Grey County
Owen Sound, Grey County
 

Been to Channing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing