We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“General manager is worse than the females in regards to their people skills.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newmarket
Reviewed 27 November 2013

If it was not for the convenience of the location I would not be coming here twice weekly. The male clerks are friendly, the females are not, they never greet anyone entering the building but they sure stare right at you. I come here often and the more I do the more disappointed I am. The manager claims to be the owner and really lacks the notion of customer service. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenkat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Karenkat0,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

Horrible management staff who do not seem to know how to deal with sports teams despite accepting reservations and revenue.
Idle threats of calling police and adding charges for people walking through halls.
Management not willing to discuss concerns cutting off inquiry before a sentence is complete.
Hotel in not old but not in good shape and location is not optimal.
Find another alternative or come with low expectaions.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnNewmarket, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Mike F,

Please accept our humble apologies for the dissatisfied stay at our hotel. This should not have happened to you at all. We at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Newmarket thrive on making our guests' satisfaction a number one priority. I will personally look into the period of your stay and see to it whomever from our staff members gave you a hard time. Our team of staff members are well trained to pleasantly interact with guests at all times. Your comfort is very important to us and your concerns are of serious matter. We hope you can find a place in your heart to forgive us and give us another chance by making your future stay a positive one! Thank you.

Best Regards,

Shahnaz Ismail
DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I visited New Market for the first time last week on business and was put up in this hotel by my employer. I checked in real late and the check-in was a breeze even at 1:00 AM in the morning. The room was clean and everything looked to be in place. I stayed here for 3 nights and was never disappointed. They had continental breakfast which was ok..Only complaint I had was the noise from the lift which was right next to my room. I'd stay away from rooms close to the lift as the lift is real noisy!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingchacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnNewmarket, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear travellingchacha,

Thank you for taking out the time to review our hotel. We are happy to have made your stay a great one. I have passed on your concern regarding the elevator noise to my general manager who will be taking this forward with our local elevator company in order to come up with a way to minimize the noise. We greatly appreciate for you to let us know about this issue. We hope you will choose us for all your future visits in Newmarket, Ontario.

Best Regards,

Shahnaz Ismail
DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very nice staff. Checked in on Thanksgiving Day in Canada. Clerk at desk was personable and professional. Room and amenities as expected for hotel in this range. No significant complaints. Price and quality are as can reasonably be expected in hotel in this range.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnNewmarket, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Jordan C,

Thank you for taking out the time to review us. We are glad we could make your recent stay a pleasurable one. Your positive words encourage our staff members to know that they are doing a good job. Our team at the hotel works very hard to obtain guest satisfactory results.

We would love to make your stay a pleasurable one everytime!

Best Regards,

Shahnaz Ismail
DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very clean, no bb issues that others stated earlier. Staff extremely friendly & beds very comfy. Free breakfast was very good, kids loved pancake machine. Friends stayed in king suite with a mini kitchen with full suze fridge & dushwasher, very large room. Would def recommend & would stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank murphds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnNewmarket, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear murphds,

Your sincere words of kindness have made our day! Our staff members were very happy to know that they are doing a good job when I mentioned to them your positive comments during our last staff meeting. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Shahnaz Ismail
DOS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed in room 208 August 26 to August 28 and checked out early due to bedbugs. I emailed a complaint and was emailed a response from Azhar Syed – General Manager - that there were no bed bugs found in the room. I requested a refund and was basically told in the email response that I was only looking to scam them. Nice customer service Azhar. Please get pest control in and deal with the problem. No one wants to pay for a nights accomodation in a bed shared with bed bugs.

Room Tip: Do not sleep here!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLariviere2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear JLariviere2013,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had during your stay. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I arrived with a "passport" used by employees for stays. The desk clerk asked where she worked and in what capacity. That was fine. He kept asking questions concerning her job to the point of an "interogation". Even after verifying it with a General Manager her kept drilling her. He asked what computer operating system she used. She didn't know so he asked "Don't you think you should know that"? That was an inappropriate question from A DESK CLERK AT A HOTEL to ask a GUEST. The answer is no, she doesn't have to know the name of the system. We arrived from the U.S. for the funeral of my wife's brother. She already felt miserable and thanks to a DESK CLERK, she felt worse just by checking in. If he wants to question people so much he should join the RCMP or local law enforcement acency but refrain from doing it while he's A DESK CLERK AT A HOTEL. He didn't tell us where the elevators, pool or work out room was or what time breakfast took place. All that talking and he still didn't do his job correctly. I didn't hear him treat my wife in such a manner, I was getting our bags. It's a good thing.

My wife and I came to the conclusion that cleranliness is optional at this property. Our sheets weren't changed after an accidental coffee spill. We even turned the covers back to make it obvious. It's a wonder the desk clerk didn't question us about that. The trash wasn't taken out each day, pillows could be found in various places after "cleaning", neither the sink nor the shower was wiped down, the sink faucet had hard water stains on it ( I wiped that off), toilet paper rolls were replaced with USED ROLLS and the ends left hanging to the floor and dusting was never done. There's more but I'll stop here.

I've worked at a hotel before and my wife still does. Consistant, professional attention to detail and complete guest comfort and consideration is standard practice. It's a service industry after all. This hotel seems to have no concept of service.

Good Notes. The breakfast was pretty good and we enjoyed the pool, spa and work out rooms. We weren't asked a single question while using them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Seth H ,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
2.7 mi away
Best Western Voyageur Place Hotel
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Newmarket
167 reviews
3.1 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#3 of 4 in Newmarket
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Toronto - Markham
16.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket

Address: 100 Pony Dr, Newmarket, Ontario L3Y 7B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Newmarket
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range: £76 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your stay at the Newest Holiday Inn Express & Suites located in the heart of Newmarket Business Area, with major Highways like Hwy 404 and Hwy 400 just minutes away. Whether the reason be to get away from home or to relax in a quiet atmosphere, the Holiday Inn Express will give you the comfort you are looking for. With our complimentary Hot Breakfast, Indoor Pool & Whirlpool, wired & wireless Hi-Speed Internet, Fitness Room, Busniess Center and many other amenities that will make your stay a memoriable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newmarket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing