We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Independent but a little Bates Motel-ish”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Newmarket Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newmarket Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newmarket
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Clean Independent but a little Bates Motel-ish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

You want to help out the little guys but Hitchcock might have used this place as inspiration. We paid almost $100/night on hotels.com and probably could have paid less. Avoid the second floor if you can because it's a walk outdoors on an exposed staircase. Main likes: clean room, comfortable beds. Main dislikes: somewhat dated, formica/fluorescent look, tiny complimentary soaps, limited breakfast options. Swimming pool was closed due to mechanical problems. Drive carefully in/out as the entrance parallels a road that is quite busy in the morning.

Room Tip: Avoid second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewmarketInn, Front Office Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments. We do appreciate the feedback from our guests and make any changes that we can to make their stay a nice one. We have added Flatscreen TV's to all rooms and more options for the Continental Breakfast. The exterior concrete stairs are very safe and cannot be changed unless we renovate the total building. We do have many other rooms located on the property at ground level that may be an option for a future stay.
The pool and hot tub are normally always available, but need to be closed if their is any reason for our guests safety, We thank you again for your comments and hope that one day you visit us again.

Newmarket Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    24
    4
    9
See reviews for
21
17
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
niagara falls
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

stayed overnight at Newmarket Inn for the first time on July 14, 2013., and we were very pleased with hotel.Stayed in room #17. There were no surprises, as we checked it out on trip advisor prior to going.
..... Room-was quite dated but was very clean! Congrats to the owners and their hard working staff for letting us stay in such a "pristine" room. Air conditioning was wonderful and kept our room nice and cold. Both my husband and I really need a nice "cold" room and we were very comfortable! Older model t.v. (not a flat screen), but worked well and had a lot of channels. Found the beds very comfortable also. ...and we're quite fussy with quality of beds we sleep in.
........Staff- was very pleasant and friendly. we actually arrived before check in time, and were checked in and given key ....after telling her we wouldnt be back to room till later in evening.
............Continental breakfast....very nice!!! very good coffee!!!!( we are coffee lovers) ...and other goodies,cereal ,donuts,toast,,etc
Would like to also say that the cost was so much lower than other hotels around newmarket. If you're looking for a clean, basic hotel to stay at, we would highly recommend staying at this hotel. Looking forward to visiting this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuffgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stay at the Newmarket Inn when I visit Toronto area. The rooms are large with housekeeping units, with a fridge, cooking elements, microwave and equipped kitchen. The bathroom area has a separate sink area with lots of space for all your items if you are staying for a longer stay you'll have room for everything even with your family. There's a swimming pool and beautiful grounds, to look out onto the farmland in the back. The property is surrounded by beautiful flowers, they take very good care of all the lovely gardens. It is so close to great shopping, and you can get anything you could ever want, just minutes away with plenty of restaurants to choose from and name brand stores, plus it's just minutes from the 404 to get you to Toronto city quickly. You can always come back to the Newmarket Inn after a night on the town or a busy day making business calls or visiting. It's country quiet and a relief from the city hustle bustle!

In the morning you can grab yourself a continental breakfast and choose from a good selection of breakfast items like muffins and toast, juice and coffee.

Newmarket Inn is a small business that takes care of their customers, support your local business! And remember, there are always bad reviews, but you must be able to trust the source!

The only thing missing in my room was a Bible :(

Room Tip: There are some very nice big rooms with full kitchen in the back/south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ingreebogenhower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Door had been recently kicked in and patched up. Fireplace did not work, long hair in jacuzzi. Wasn't mine. Creepy old people popping up randomly, staring like we were not suppose to be there, smelly water, really smelly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elgin, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed along the front row of rooms last month for a week. The woman at the front desk was not overly friendly any time I saw her throughout my stay, the man was very much friendly and helpful with directions. When I first pulled back the sheets there was hair in the bed. It could of come off the floor when the chamber maid was making the bed, the other bed in the room was clean. The bed was very uncomfortable, burn holes in the old motel type of bedspread, even though it's a non smoking room. The pool is WONDERFUL, no towels at the pool, have to get one from the room or front desk. The kitchenette was nice to have for my week stay. I felt safe with all the cameras around the buildings. I could hear noise from traffic first 2 nights of my stay, guess I got used to it for the rest of the nights. It was nice to not be right in the city, more countryside, yet a 3 min drive into the city, shopping and groceries.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluebutterfly30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at the Newmarket Inn for two nights and were very satisfied with the clean rooms and firm, new mattresses. We needed a dog-friendly hotel, and this place accommodated our pooch very well: The ground floor level room and the tiled floor was ideal for our dog. The only two improvements that I would suggest is better wifi reception in the room. Only two rooms down from the lobby, and the signal was so weak that Internet practically did not. The continental breakfast in the lobby was nice, the kitchenette in the room very useful and even stocked with plates and cups. My expectations were greatly exceeded and I would always come back.

Room Tip: Dog owners should ask for ground floor level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinpointMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

My brother and his girlfriend stayed here for one night and while they slept someone broke into their room and stole pretty much all their luggage and belongings. No joke from right beside where they were sleeping.

When I stayed here I was later accused if leaving the room a mess and was unwelcome to come back. I can say without a doubt that is totally untrue and the room was left in perfect condition when I checked out. Never been so insulted !! I guess an unmade bed and wet towels in the bathroom was considered a mess.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newmarket hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmarket
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Voyageur Place Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newmarket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Travelodge Richmond Hill
Travelodge Richmond Hill
#5 of 7 in Richmond Hill
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Briars
The Briars
#1 of 1 in Jackson's Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
20.2 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newmarket Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newmarket Inn

Property: Newmarket Inn
Address: 18667 Old Yonge St, Newmarket, Ontario L9N 0J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Newmarket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Newmarket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Newmarket Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newmarket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing