We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Bed & Breakfast Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Midland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Georgetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Bed & Breakfast Experience”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is my first review. We have experienced other bed & breakfasts, but this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review.

Just before we started our four-night stay at Beacon Shore, my wife was injured and was reliant on crutches or wheelchair to get around. After speaking to Jacquie, we decided to go ahead with our trip.

We were so glad we did. Bob & Jacquie were very accommodating and helpful, and did everything possible to make our stay a great success.

The house is large and immaculate, as are the rooms. The grounds are expansive, in a forest setting, overlooking Georgian Bay. There are several picturesque locations to relax and enjoy the serenity and the view of the bay, and nature.

Jacquie is an excellent chef, and our main regret was that we could only experience four of the breakfast creations Jacquie offered.

If this wasn't enough, there is also a wonderful garden path, with fountain, swing, and benches for photographs or for just soaking in the garden fragrances.

And Bob certainly keeps busy, as well. Each day we were there he was always working on one or more projects to add functionality to the grounds, or to perfect something he felt wasn't quite to his standards. His imagination, combined with his mechanical engineering background results in the quality feeling of the home, grounds, and dock.

All of this was especially relevant to us, because my wife's temporary disability, kept us from being able to spend long amounts of time in town, and area due to her tiring. No loss! The Beacon Shore was a wonderful place to relax, recharge and enjoy the environment Bob & Jacquie have created.

We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
154
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Following others' recommendations we booked well in advance for our recent trip and found that Beacon Shore more than lived up to its glowing reviews. The setting is fantastic with spacious grounds and a wonderful outlook onto the bay; our room and bathroom were incredibly well kitted out and the house as a whole feels very welcoming We loved the breakfasts and enjoyed watching the hummingbirds outside from our breakfast table. Jacquie and Bob have created a beautiful setting; and the care they have lavished on the garden makes this a truly magical spot. Beacon Shore was also a good jumping off spot for touring the Georgian Bay area and we couldn’t have enjoyed our few days there more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridderkerk
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Jackie and Bob are very nice and very professional hosts. They helped us a lot with a lot of precise information to discover the nice places to go for landscapes as well as good meals. The house is magnificent. Breakfast is great.
I highly recommend the place

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at Beacon Shore and were delighted with our visit. The room had loads of space including a good sitting area and a large bathroom with big bath and roomy separate shower. The property and gardens are truly delightful with a lovely view out over the bay. The house is very private and peaceful with extensive grounds and beautiful gardens.
Breakfasts are gourmet and very tasty indeed and the hosts go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and nurtured.
There are some good restaurants in Midland and surrounding area and plenty to keep you occupied. All in all a perfect spot to unwind and enjoy some of the best that this area of Ontario has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite which is a much bigger room than the other 2 on the second floor. The suite r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransplantedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Every detail was perfect from the beginning to the end. Jacquie & Bob prepared everything with love and care! Their home was spotless and inviting and the property provided the perfect get away. We were so lucky to find this hidden relaxing gem. Breakfast was a well planned and amazing event and a lot of extra touches made it a breakfast for royalty!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOGO-ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We've just returned from our third visit to Beacon Shore, which we extended to five nights. This adult bed and breakfast offers fabulous value for dollar and we are always sorry to leave.
Delicious, satisfying breakfasts (which include a nutritious fresh fruit plate), spotless rooms and grounds, a perfectly maintained private waterfront on Georgian Bay and Jacquie and Bob's wonderful hospitality always make our stay a blissful experience!
They always provide the extras that really make a holiday, such as suggesting day trips that we might not have discovered without their local knowledge. We highly recommend Beacon Shore for a memorable and relaxing holiday with hosts who really care about their guests' comfort and enjoyment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Absolutely excellent experience all around. The room was clean and comfortable with a beautiful view overlooking the bay. Our hosts were charming and attentive to our every need. Breakfast was superb and the setting was so relaxing - great way to start the day. We have passed the information on to friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midland
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
510 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
4.1 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Midland
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#5 of 8 in Midland
45 reviews
7.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
287 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tucked Inn the Harbour B&B
Tucked Inn the Harbour B&B
#1 of 1 in Victoria Harbour
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast

Property: Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast
Address: 128 Midland Point Rd, Midland, Ontario L4R 5H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast Midland, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing