We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Paradise in Midland on Georgian Bay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Midland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Hidden Paradise in Midland on Georgian Bay”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were spending the Sept. 7/8 weekend in Midland and booked into the Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast. It was beyond our expectation. We were greeted as we drove in and felt very welcome instantaneously. We were led inside & everything was handled very professionally and yet very personally. Jacquie & Bob are very knowledgeable of Midland & surrounding areas and keen in sharing their ideas to make your weekend as enjoyable as possible.

The house & grounds are beautiful. Lovely gardens and a large property to take a stroll through the woods or just to relax on one of their muskoka chairs watching the sunrise or just taking in the great view out to Georgian Bay.

We stayed in the Georgian Bay Suite which is a very large room with a private bathroom. It has lots of windows with views around the house & of course the best view out to Georgian Bay. Treat yourself to this room, you won’t be disappointed.

Breakfast was delicious with quite a few choices, so don’t miss out on staying at this quiet and quaint B&B if you are in Midland.

Room Tip: The largest Georgian Bay Suite is quite grand with a sitting area, large ensuite bathroom and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDAG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
154
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Really felt welcomed and warmly greeted at this lovely place. Gorgeous gardens and views. It's a little hard to find (at night) but worth it. Wonderful breakfasts with lots of choices and really solicitous and caring hosts. It is a relaxing and peaceful place, with just enough attention and enough privacy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianneA608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Delightful B&B on the waters edge and an ideal 'breakaway'. The gardens are beautifully kept and the house most attractive. The Queen room was very comfortable, with plenty of hanging and drawer space; the view down to the lake is quite beautiful. Whilst the bathroom is not en-suite, it is in the very next room, is quite private and caused me no problems whatever. It is of good size, shower and bath are both efficient with plenty of hot water. Jacqie's breakfasts are superb and much enjoyed by all, whilst the idyllic surroundings are enhanced by the bird life outside, including beautiful humming birds. There is little that I can add to earlier reviews as this is a most delightful and first-class B&B, providing comfort and relaxation in a lovely setting, for its guests. Thank you Jacquie and Bob.

Room Tip: The suite is a beautiful and very large room but the Queen Room is a good alternative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipperP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is my first review. We have experienced other bed & breakfasts, but this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review.

Just before we started our four-night stay at Beacon Shore, my wife was injured and was reliant on crutches or wheelchair to get around. After speaking to Jacquie, we decided to go ahead with our trip.

We were so glad we did. Bob & Jacquie were very accommodating and helpful, and did everything possible to make our stay a great success.

The house is large and immaculate, as are the rooms. The grounds are expansive, in a forest setting, overlooking Georgian Bay. There are several picturesque locations to relax and enjoy the serenity and the view of the bay, and nature.

Jacquie is an excellent chef, and our main regret was that we could only experience four of the breakfast creations Jacquie offered.

If this wasn't enough, there is also a wonderful garden path, with fountain, swing, and benches for photographs or for just soaking in the garden fragrances.

And Bob certainly keeps busy, as well. Each day we were there he was always working on one or more projects to add functionality to the grounds, or to perfect something he felt wasn't quite to his standards. His imagination, combined with his mechanical engineering background results in the quality feeling of the home, grounds, and dock.

All of this was especially relevant to us, because my wife's temporary disability, kept us from being able to spend long amounts of time in town, and area due to her tiring. No loss! The Beacon Shore was a wonderful place to relax, recharge and enjoy the environment Bob & Jacquie have created.

We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Following others' recommendations we booked well in advance for our recent trip and found that Beacon Shore more than lived up to its glowing reviews. The setting is fantastic with spacious grounds and a wonderful outlook onto the bay; our room and bathroom were incredibly well kitted out and the house as a whole feels very welcoming We loved the breakfasts and enjoyed watching the hummingbirds outside from our breakfast table. Jacquie and Bob have created a beautiful setting; and the care they have lavished on the garden makes this a truly magical spot. Beacon Shore was also a good jumping off spot for touring the Georgian Bay area and we couldn’t have enjoyed our few days there more.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridderkerk
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Jackie and Bob are very nice and very professional hosts. They helped us a lot with a lot of precise information to discover the nice places to go for landscapes as well as good meals. The house is magnificent. Breakfast is great.
I highly recommend the place

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at Beacon Shore and were delighted with our visit. The room had loads of space including a good sitting area and a large bathroom with big bath and roomy separate shower. The property and gardens are truly delightful with a lovely view out over the bay. The house is very private and peaceful with extensive grounds and beautiful gardens.
Breakfasts are gourmet and very tasty indeed and the hosts go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and nurtured.
There are some good restaurants in Midland and surrounding area and plenty to keep you occupied. All in all a perfect spot to unwind and enjoy some of the best that this area of Ontario has to offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Suite which is a much bigger room than the other 2 on the second floor. The suite r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransplantedBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midland
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
510 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
4.1 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Midland
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#5 of 8 in Midland
45 reviews
7.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
287 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tucked Inn the Harbour B&B
Tucked Inn the Harbour B&B
#1 of 1 in Victoria Harbour
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast

Property: Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast
Address: 128 Midland Point Rd, Midland, Ontario L4R 5H5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Beacon Shore Bed & Breakfast Midland, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing