We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful Victorian Home B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Victorian Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Victorian Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Midland B&B and Inns
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful Victorian Home B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We spent one night at this lovely B & B located in Midland, Ontario. Our room was very comfortable and immaculate with our own private bathroom. The home has a wonderful wrap around porch, totally screened in so no pesky bugs. The hosts, Kim and Peter were very welcoming and warm and totally made you feel at home. The breakfast was delicious, with plenty of fresh coffee, served in a lovely, lovely dining room. I would highly recommend this lovely "home away from home" to anyone. We would love to come again.
Thank you Kim and Peter for your hospitality. Much appreciated.
Carl & Wilma

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0m1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
18
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Owners Kim and Peter, along with Kim's parents, have made a home from home for their lucky guests. The breakfasts are absolutely delicious, and the location is ideal. The house is tastefully decorated and sitting on the verandah, having a cup of tea and a yummy cake or biscuit, homemade by Kim, is blissful. Thank you, Kim, Peter, and family, for making our stay so relaxing. We would thoroughly recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamandPhilip864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Inn as a last minute get-away. Although the hosts tried to accomodate us by putting together twin beds together with a king size piece of foam on top, (last room available), it was not a verybcomfortable sleep. However what was the most uncomfortable was finding out that we were sleeping right next door to the Grandmother and the trapeze above our door was open, leaving us with no privacy. We even met Grandmother the next morning in her pajamas downstairs!

The grandparents were situated in a tv room on the main floor and greeted guests as they continued to watch tv with their tv-tables in front of them.

Despite the large, comfortable parch that wraps around the house and hosts with good intentions, I would not recommend staying here unless you are prepared to have "extended family" as part of your stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank August2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimmi59, Owner at The Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your honest review of our B&B and for bringing several issues to our attention. In many ways a B&B is "like staying with extended family" as we are definitely not set up as a motel or hotel, but rather a B&B is usually part of a family home. The trapeze about the bedroom doors is actually a lovely quaint feature of many Victorian homes and allows the circulation of air, but they are also closable for privacy. We are sorry that the bed was not comfortable for you but as you said it was our last room and we tried to accommodate your needs.
Sincerely,
Kim and Peter Hakkenberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

What an exquisite B&B this is...made even better by the warm & wonderful hosts, Kim & Peter. The home itself is beautiful with a gorgeous screened-in, wrap around porch perfect for chatting, reading & relaxing.

The rooms are cozy, warm, & decorated beautifully. The beds (in the Cottage room) were extremely comfortable and the in-room bathroom was spotless. It was a very nice touch to have travel-size toiletries & amenities available as well.

Breakfast was served in the beautiful dining room where no attention to detail has been spared. The breakfast was absolutely one of the most delicious things I have ever tasted...mango & blueberry fruit dish with ginger & lime syrup followed by sumptuous french toast...and plenty of coffee. Fabulous!

This is a perfect getaway place...gorgeous home, wonderful hosts, fabulous breakfast, beautiful area. Try it - you will not be disappointed!

Thank you for everything Kim & Peter. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimmi59, Owner at The Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Karen,

Thank you for recently taking the time to write a glowing review of our B&B. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our breakfasts and endless coffee. It was lovely to be able to spend a little time on our veranda chatting with you and your lovely friend Pat. Please do come again- and soon!

Yours,
Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

The Victorian Inn in Midland is the perfect getaway spot. Not only is the inn conveniently located within walking distance of town and the bay, it would be impossible to duplicate the ambiance and the warm, gracious welcome provided by hosts Kim and Peter.

The lovely screened porch with its white wicker furniture and floral cushions is the perfect spot to sit and talk, read, or simply enjoy the cool evening air. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated, complete with the most comfortable of beds, the softest sheets you'll ever experience, ceiling fans, and impeccably clean bathrooms.

When you wake in the morning and wander downstairs to the dining room for breakfast, another surprise awaits, Breakfast at The Victorian Inn is superb. We stayed four nights and each morning we were surprised by yet another delicious and perfectly presented meal from the Stuff French Toast to Eggs Benedict everything was superb. It was impossible to not eat and savor every single morsel.

The Victorian Inn is the perfect getaway for a weekend or longer stays. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimmi59, Owner at The Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Brenda,

Thanks so much for your generous review of our B&B. Your lovely comments are so appreciated and mean everything to both Peter and me. We can't wait to see you again and we look forward to spoiling you with good food and great conversation.

Yours,
Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Initially we had our concerns about a B&B. We've stayed at them in Europe and in our UK travels. Am I ever glad we gave the Victorian Inn a try. The room was perfect with wonderful linens and a blue nautical theme. Everything was immaculate. The inn itself is a large house dating from the 1890's that has been wonderfully restored. The furnishings are a mixture of antique and unique pieces and there are nick knacks and photos from the owners travels, very interesting mix. On of the nicest features of the inn is the huge wrap around and screened in veranda. Wonderful spot to drink your morning coffee or to read in the evenings.

AS with most things people are what make the experience and with the Victorian Inn it is no different. The owners, Peter and Kim are incredible hosts. Breakfasts were a treat with Greek Yogurt, fresh berries and granola in a parfait as a prelude to a varied selection of delectable delights. Eggs Benedict (my wife's favourite and done perfect for her and my liking), to French Toast with a Marscapone filling it was all delicious. The shared hosting with one set of parents and Rocky their cute little Shitzu. Although we are cat people Rocky and my wife were temporarily besties! And all of this a short walk to the centre of Midland and the shopping and restaurants that it offers.

Had a great time. Thank you Peter and Kim. We are coming back.

Room Tip: Ours was the end room in blue and we thought it was perfect and will request it when we return next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimmi59, Owner at The Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear John,

Thank you for your very kind review of The Victorian Inn. That you took the time to think about us and to write such a detailed review means a lot to us and it is truly appreciated. We are looking forward to you and your wife returning for a future visit. The Fall is particularly lovely in Midland, so think about coming soon!

Yours, Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Beach On.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We have just returned from a beautiful century B & B, The Victorian Inn Midland. Lovely rooms, delicious breakfast and ambiance. Hosts Kim & Peter, very gracious. Attention to details exquisite, wrap around porch takes one back in time.

Room Tip: Choose the grand room with den attached.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimmi59, Owner at The Victorian Inn, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Lynda,

Thank you so very much for your lovely review of our inn here in Midland. It was lovely having you stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Yours, Kim and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midland
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Midland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#5 of 8 in Midland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
9.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
1875 A Charters Inn
1875 A Charters Inn
#4 of 8 in Midland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Inn

Property: The Victorian Inn
Address: 670 Hugel Ave, Midland, Ontario L4R 1W9, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Midland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victorian Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Victorian Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victorian Inn Midland, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing