We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one standard here and that is HIGH”

Ciboulette et Cie - A Food Shop
Ranked #8 of 80 Restaurants in Midland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch
Description: o is Ciboulette et Cie." Remember the vibrant flavours and a home-cooked meal? Though Canadian families have grown increasingly busy, few of us have forgotten how delicious a home-cooked meal can be. But who has time anymore? Ciboulette et Cie is here to help. We combine superb culinary skills with a passion for fresh, local, hand-picked ingredients to bring the home-cooked meal to your table. All you have to do is sit and enjoy with family and friends. Our concept is simple: We find as many quality, locally sourced ingredients as possible then transform them into delicious, ready-to-eat take-home meals. Whether a family dinner on a Wednesday evening, a gathering at the family cottage, or a romantic dinner for two, we are there to contribute to the experience. Our Commitment Ciboulette et Cie (Chive and Company) is rooted in the community. We create partnerships between producers, farmers, and chefs so that you can enjoy the best our region has to offer. Just like the old General Store was at the heart of the neighbourhood, so too is Ciboulette et Cie. We believe ‘Local’ is more than a trend. Like us, it is here to stay. We have deep roots in this community and we believe your food should too. Unlike a supermarket, or a single-aisle store, we can tell you where your food came from – and chances are it's just up the road. By shopping locally and preparing our ingredients and meals right here in our store, we are ensuring that that the environment and local economy will benefit just as much as you and your family. So come in to our kitchen, and bring something home to yours.
hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Only one standard here and that is HIGH”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Have visited twice we were both very well looked after both tImes, excellent friendly staff and appreciate the fact that they accommodated us 5 mins before closing (would never get that in UK). Everything freshly prepared and very clean. The owner and his team do a great job!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    27
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waubaushene, ON
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food with good ingredients”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

I'm actually still sitting in the restaurant as I write this.

I like the way you get to order. It's a clipboard with a menu/order sheet. You just check off what you want. I got a sandwich, which you go through and check off what you want on your sandwich.

I got a roast beef sandwich with garlic aioli, caramelized onions, smoked cheddar, and lettuce on a multigrain ciabatta. Along with it I got a cup of med. roast coffee with a piece of pumpkin biscotti. It was all very good.

The owner is often on site and is very nice, and the staff are friendly. The only downfall is the same I find with any similar style of place, some of the super pompous customers. This place definitely stands out from most similar style of places as they actually deliver quality, not just an air of quality like most similar places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic for what it is”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a small "coffee cafe" type restaurant. The choices are similar to a Panera in the United States. You order at the counter and they bring you the food when it is ready. There were four of us, three had sandwiches and one a salad. It was one of the best sandwiches I've ever had, mainly because the bread was fantastic and the ingredients fresh. The chocolate cookies were great too! We even went back the next day and bought more cookies!
We tried their carryout fish soup and pizza and enjoyed it. The soup could have used more flavor, but the pizza was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great , healthy, fresh food!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We recently were on our regular , yearly girls weekend at the cottage in Balm Beach. We went over to Midland to get dinner and found Ciboulette et Cie. We decided to purchase our food and take it back to the cottage. We each selected our favourites and everything was delicious! The salads were so fresh and tasted wonderful. The quiche was also great.
They have a good selection of cheeses which we sampled.
Decor is pleasant and clean, and it is conveniently located on the main street of Midland.
Well worth another visit in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Cozy ambiance, fresh ingredients, very yummy sandwiches. You get to make your own from a selection of gourmet options. I also had the lemon tart for dessert- highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciboulette et Cie - A Food Shop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing