We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay at this Super 8 whenever we travel to Midland. We...”
Review of Super 8 Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Midland
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Reviewed 5 August 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 556 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This is a fairly new build motel, and everything is in top shape. It has a pool and an exercise room and it provides a serve-yourself breakfast.

The motel is located at the edge of Midland near the big-Box stores so it isn't really conveniently located if you are interested in seeing the lakeside area of the town.

The rooms are small, but well appointed. We stayed in a Suite which had a queen bed in a room by itself and a pull-out in a separate area.

The room cost $185 per night (before tax). Although we had been promised a $10 per night rebate with our CAA card, it wasn't applied at check-out which I found irritating. When I mentioned it I was told that it wasn't available because the occupancy rate was at 100%. A lesson that you always need to get things in writing (which is a shame).

This is just another generic motel, interchangeable with any other, clean and fairly comfortable, but in my opinion, overpriced.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank BillaBongTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

It is unfortunate that you have found our hotel to be overpriced, but thank you for taking the time to write and let us know how you feel. I can only assure you that our rates are competitive with other hotels in the area and apologize that the you did not feel you got your money's worth. The rate you mention is for a room on a Saturday in the middle of summer, the busiest day in the busiest part of the year. Thank you again for taking the time to write and thank you very much for the nice things you had to say about your experience, we do hope you will come back and give us another chance to change your mind about the value we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights, in the junior suite. The place was average, nothing spectacular, nothing terrible. Staff was friendly, helpful, and the location was nice. The pool is a bit on the small side, but the hot tub was nice. Though the room was very nice and clean, my only complaint was with the temperature control, which was in the bedroom part of the room. The living area of the room remained very hot while the air conditioning only kept the bedroom cool. Would stay here again, as the price was right.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to let us know about your stay. You have mentioned in your review that you experienced an issue with the air conditioning not travelling between rooms in the Junior Suite. There is in fact a vent controlled by a wall switch that allows air to pass between rooms. Thanks to your review I have discussed with management and whether or not this is apparent to guests in the rooms. We have decided to take action and are looking at putting up signs in order to make certain that a situation like yours does not happen again. Also thank you for the kind words you had about our staff and hotel in general. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention and I hope you will come again to see us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Our family has stayed at this location numerous times. The staff, cleanliness and general condition of the hotel are generally good. The breakfast items are regularily refilled and the area is kept clean.This hotel is close to shopping and restaurants. My only problem is that when I booked the room, I forgot to mention that I did not want a first floor room. I like to have the privacy of a 2nd or 3rd floor room. The hotel only had a few guests. We were given a third floor room but it looked directly into the roof of the entrance. I had to wonder if this was payback for not accepting the first floor room. When a hotel is almost empty, why place guests in the room with the worst view!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil R, Guest Services Representative at Super 8 Midland, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. It is great to hear that you have stayed with often before and we hope to have you stay with us in the future. I am sorry that you did not like the view from the room you were given, but I can assure you that if you had let us know that view was a primary concern we would have happily accommodated your desire. Some guests like the ground floor, some the top, some like to be close to the entrance, stairs, elevator or away from the same. Some guests want to be able to see where they have parked and others want to be at the back of the hotel overlooking the small woodlot in our rear. There are as many different preference as there are people that we serve and if at all possible we try to satisfy them all. In this case the room you were given was simply the first of that room type on the top floor. In the future please feel free to let us know that you prefer a room with a different view and we will do all we can to help out. I can absolutely assure you that no slight was intended. Thank you again and I hope we will see you again soon and put you in a room that will leave you nothing but happy memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midland
2 mi away
Quality Inn & Conference Centre
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Midland
Comfort Inn Midland
#1 of 8 in Midland
529 reviews
2.1 mi away
Midland Inn & Suites
Midland Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Midland
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kings Inn
Kings Inn
#4 of 8 in Midland
51 reviews
23.1 mi away
Georgian Bay Hotel & Conference Centre
17.5 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Midland

Address: 1144 Hugel Ave, Midland, Ontario L4R 0B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Midland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Midland
Price Range: £58 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Midland 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Midland
Midland Super 8
Midland Super Eight
Super 8 Midland Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing