We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable place to stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Kitchener

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kitchener
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Reasonable place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Was booked here by an organization for a week-long training program. I stayed in a ground floor room which was very clean. The room I was in is due for an upgrade - not overdue - but definitely due. Staff was very friendly. Room service was good and on time. A good location as there are a couple of other restaurants nearby and the Fairway (Fairview?) mall with Wal-Mart, Sears, etc. is a 5-10 minute walk away. A couple of minor complaints - after heading to dining room for the breakfast buffet on Saturday morning, was told that I could order off the menu. I guess it wasn't busy enough that morning so the buffet was a no-go. Remote in room would not shut-off tv. Other than that, I would recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Some rooms on ground floor have sliding doors with good locks, so if you want direct access to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5kmilesin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Supervisor at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear 5kmilesin2010,

We would like to extend our great appreciation to you, for sharing this wonderful comments with other Tripadvisor readers. Your comments on the cleanliness of our room will definitely put a smile on Grace our Housekeeping Manager's face. Moreover, we appreciate your compliments regarding the efficiency of room service and the friendliness of staff.

We are constantly improving and upgrading our rooms, providing comfort and quality for all who stay there. We should have replaced the television remote for your room, I am terribly sorry for that. I will be following up with my Chief Engineer about that issue.

Customer satisfaction is our main priority and we are so happy to have you stay with us whenever you are in Kitchener.

Thank you for your loyalty. It would be our pleasure to see you again

Tristan Wilkinson
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    63
    57
    36
    28
See reviews for
73
40
14
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kesrock
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Beds are comfortable. Not overly impressed by this hotel stay. Rooms were not ready on time. Did not get the requested room. Put too close to the hiway behind and it was noisy. Our toilet did not flush properly. For the rate we paid, I would not go again.
No breakfast included.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kesrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Good Day,

I would like to send you a personal thank you for the comments you gave us on Tripadvisor concerning your stay at the Holiday Inn Kitchener. I am very disappointed that your experience was not up to our standards.

I would like to take some time and discuss your individual experience in more detail with you. Please contact me either by e-mail at najikotob@fortisproperties.com or by telephone at (519) 894-8526.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, ON
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a great two night stay during a hockey tournament. The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We were a large group with a lot of kids but they were very willing to help us out and make it work - especially when we showed up unannounced for dinner with 40 people! They made sure we were all looked after and went above and beyond. Jesse and Drugit (sp?) were noticed for their outstanding service in the bar area. By the way, they have fabulous cappuccino/lattes! Right off the highway and easy to access both Kitchener, Waterloo, shopping and restaurants. Overall, a great place to stay and will be looking at it again for next years tournament.

Service goes a LONG way and they provided it. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomesticDiva_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to extend our great appreciation to you, for sharing this wonderful comment with other Tripadvisor readers and we thank you for choosing the fabulous Holiday Inn Kitchener.

As a Quality Excellence Award Winning hotel our team is completely committed to ensuring that all of our guests enjoy a superior level of service during their stay with us. We especially enjoyed reading that all our team members from different department provided a friendly and individualized service.

As you mentioned we are ideally situated in a great residential and commercial area, so we are fortunate in that respect with our location. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at Embers Restaurant and can't wait to welcome you again next year.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Recent stay @ the HI Kitchener was a 'make good' as our previous stay was challenging due to a number of hockey teams in town taking part in a tournament (won the stay as part of a prize pkg.)
I called the HI to explain that we wanted to use the 'make good' and the mgr. did an excellent job to find the 'make good stay' within their system I appreciated that he took the time to issue a gift voucher so I wouldn't have to explain the situation again.
Room was clean and well appointed with a comfortable king bed, bar fridge, hi-end coffee maker, etc. Larger than typical bathroom with plenty of hot water.
Complimentary newspapers in the front lobby.
Restaurant service was ok - not as good as previous experiences.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a tower room on the Exec. level
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear Jack D,

I would like to send you a personal thank you for the comments concerning your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Kitchener and we can’t wait to welcome you back to the Hotel.

We pride ourselves on going the extra mile to ensure you had a comfortable and memorable stay. We especially enjoyed reading that you found the room well appointed and enjoyed the comfortable kin size bed.

We sincerely appreciate your business, and we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Kitchener. We would love to have you stay with us again, whenever you are in the area.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

My family and I had another remarkable stay at this Holiday Inn in Kitchener Ontario last early December whereas warmth and greetings that were truly genuine, were felt immediately upon our arrival. To mention a couple of the staff that easily come to mind were of course Mr. Hassen Athas, the Mgr at the time of our arrival, Amber, Michael and Melissa to name a few. The friendly, professional demeanor of the staff really indicated their enjoyment of their occupations.

The property was very clean and well set up as was the room selected for us. Spacious,clean and well appointed with a great coffee station, would be our recollection of our room.

We will be visiting Kitchener again soon and will quite obviously be staying at this Holiday Inn again and again. Thank you

Room Tip: A room facing Fairway road to enjoy a nice sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vitaminmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Vitaminmike,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener. We are truly humbled by your appreciation of all the things our Hotel had to offer.

We are thrilled to hear good compliments about our service oriented staff; Hasan, Amber and Melissa have always done a fantastic job here at the Hotel. We pride ourselves on going the extra mile to ensure you had a memorable stay. The secret to our success is our commitment and dedication to the daily service we provide; as customer satisfaction is our number one priority.

We want to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener for your recent stay with us and hope to see you soon again.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Room dirty, old, bathroom is an awful state, every time you shower it's so strong that floods the bathroom floor, very expensive and the internet is really, really slow, you can't use Skype or watch a video on youtube! I don't know about the front of the building but the back rooms where you can access the parking through the french door does not worth 145 dollars... I wouldn't pay 50 dollars for it! Comfort inn is cheaper, in a better location, brand new rooms and great service!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matbonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Matbonf,

I would like to send you a personal thank you for the comments you gave us on Tripadvisor. I am very disappointed that your experience was not up to our standards.

I would like to take some time and discuss your individual experience in more detail with you. Please contact me either by e-mail at najikotob@fortisproperties.com or by telephone at (519) 894-8526.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kitchener hotels

Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

My Family and I stayed at this Holiday Inn. Because of plumbing problem at our home. First of all this hotel is very dated I know that it as been at this location for a number of years and it shows. I believe it needs a major upgrade. Our room was well furnished the beds were very comfortable it had a flat screen TV but the carpet has seen better days, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the pool & hottub were good and the fitness center & equipment look brand new, we would most likely stay here again if the need arose again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnKitchener, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kitchener, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear John T,

It was very kind of you to take a few minutes out of your busy schedule to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Getting a good night sleep is one of the most important things for us and we are really glad to know that the beds were comfortable. As you also mentioned we do have a very nice swimming and a renovated fitness center as well.

We do have 3 different room types (Standard in the wing, Business and executive rooms in the tower). If you are planning to visit us in the near future I will be more than happy to upgrade your room. Please send me an email prior to your arrival date to najikotob@fortisproperties.com
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Kitchener. It would be a pleasure to see you again.

Naji Kotob
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitchener hotels
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
The Walper Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kitchener
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Knights Inn Kitchener
#9 of 14 in Kitchener
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kitchener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kitchener

Property: Holiday Inn Kitchener
Address: 30 Fairway Rd S, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kitchener 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kitchener - Waterloo Hotel & Conference Centre, winner of the Reader's Select Diamond Award for five consecutive years, offers you the finest smoke free hotel in the Kitchener area.Corporate guests looking for Kitchener or Waterloo hotels appreciate our location just minutes from Highways 401 & 8. We're close to area manufacturers and 10 km from the Technology Triangle. In Kitchener and Waterloo, our conference centre's 13,000 sq. ft. and 13 meeting rooms are unique. We can handle a board meeting or a major event for 600 guests. Naturally, we have a 24-hour business centre and free high-speed, wireless Internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Kitchener reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kitchener Hotel Kitchener
Kitchener Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kitchener Region Of Waterloo, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing