We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong room configuration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Surprise! When booking with Easytobook.com, the room configuration is not guaranteed. It is only deemed a request if available. We were extremely disappointed to be given a single king bed instead of the double queen indicated in our booking. We were told that booking through a 3rd party such as Easytobook.com doesn't guarantee one's already paid for room configuration. In this case they gave the double rooms away to the guests who directly booked with the hotel. THIS COMPLETELY RUINED OUR STAY. This should be made clear by Easytobook.com. In fact, their booking process is very misleading. Beware.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Mitch G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jash M, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Mitch G

I am sorry to hear that you had room type issue booking with third party. some third party would not give you opportunity to choose the room type. Our team strives to meet guest expectations by accommodate guest request. Please visit Radisson Brand website for various deals and promotions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel Kitchener
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We travel down the 401 to this area for at least 3 Ringette tournaments a year and have never been to a less Team friendly hotel before. I will definitely NOT be recommending teams to stay here. The Managers of the hotel made it very difficult for us to enjoy our stay as a group.
- They split the team up on 4 different floors rather than have us all together, they could have easily accommodated this.
- We were 40+ people for at least 4 nights…x 6 other teams at 40+. Obviously too much for the space available or the staff.
- We were not allowed to have food in the hall or on the tables in the hall, We couldn’t use the lobby and were advised by the hotel manager to share the room downstairs. There were no other rooms or spaces available for 40+ people unless we were willing to pay for them. We ordered pizza our last night only to be told there was nowhere for us to eat it.
- One night, we did hire the hotel to cater a meal for 40+ people at $10 each and they served us PRESIDENT'S CHOICE frozen lasagna ! This was the only way we could reserve the free room that was available for all their clients.
- We were told to take our personal name signs off our doors because they might damage the paint, which we did. We put them on the plastic number sign where they wouldn’t damage the paint, and they were taken down by hotel staff and taken away anyway.
-The elevator situation was ridiculous. There were often times when both elevators were being used by contractors- 6 teams with huge bags trying to get down from their floor and 2 games a day. Good thing we try to get to games an hour before start time.
- The pool was disgusting.

Room Tip: If you have a group, don't stay here!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guin7625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jash M, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guin7625

We appreciate your feedback and we send our most sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay at our hotel. We have taken your concerns into consideration and taken action immediately; we have discussed all above issues during our staff meeting and we are using the information provided to better ourselves for the future. We make it our priority to ensure guests leave our hotel feeling important and well taken care of. Although it can be challenging to accommodate all requests during busy team weekends we are doing our best and we hope to do so for all future bookings.

We welcome the opportunity to host you and your group in the future.

Wishing you all the best throughout the remainder of the Ringette season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Booked the Jr King suite. Upon arrival found bedding and duvet covered with hair and live bug in dresser drawer. Called the front desk and housekeeping arrived quickly to clean the room properly. During the night the temp dropped and the wind increased. The windows were so bad the curtains moved in the wind although they were closed! We had to get up during the night and put on extra layers of clothes to try and stay warm....the heat could not keep up.
Our stay was during March and the wind chills were still quite low outside. Heat is a basic necessity! I was shocked that this large hotel chain could offer rooms with these conditions!
The staff could not offer a better alternative so we left first thing the following morning.
I would never consider booking here again....
The on site restaurant is actually across the parking lot!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jash M, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Mandy H

Please accept my apology for the issues you had during your stay. This is not our usual services. I am glad that our housekeeping team had taking care of this issue efficiently, I have contacted our housekeeping manager to improve our cleaning standards. As well as I will contact maintenance manager to check the heating units. We have underground walkway from hotel to Charcoal steak house, due to making changes in our breakfast area so we are serving breakfast for time being, Our hotel guests loves this walkway features from Hotel to Charcoal Steak House. I am glad that manager on duty had provided full assistant on your departure. We are making changes to provide our guests modern and comfort stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Make sure you meet the General Manager Jash - fantastic gentlemen, he is so hands on, and so involved with this hotel!!! 10+++ I'm still here and its great, Breakfast is great - its not a super large buffet, small but sufficient! The food (room service) outstanding, I had the Cobb salad, and the chicken stir fry, amazing!! The housekeeping so, so friendly.... The room very clean, even little milk packets for coffee - love this...no powder milk!! I will be back!! Thank you all......

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jash M, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Cindyjohn

I would like to thank you for your lovely comment and your appreciation. I am very glad that you have enjoyed your stay and our team met your expectations. Our team member are strives to provide exceptional customer services which is reflected in your comment. Charcoal Steak house has 3 restaurants in one plaza and those are the best in the town and they also does the room services for us. I am glad that you enjoyed the room services. We are very thrilled to serve you in future.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ok for short business stays. Apparently is being renovated, the breakfast area really needs a make over. Nothing fancy, but comfortable.

It has an underground connection to a stakehouse/bar/italian restaurants across the street. Perfect on cold days.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank DrThop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jash M, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear DrThop

Thank you very much for you time to doing this review. We do have lots of corporate segment staying with us, they all like the location and especially Charcoal restaurants, the covered walkway from hotel to Charcoal/ Martin's/ Italian restaurants are best feature and corporate segment loves it. Radisson team strives for an exceptional customer services and always try their best to meet guests expectations.

We are refreshing our main lobby area as well as breakfast area, we are so thrilled to view the lobby area when its done. We will be thrilled to serve you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

A totally average hotel in a totally average town, price totally average. Competent, clean, well-maintained. Location is good if you’re driving down from Toronto, which is the usual way to arrive.

Staff considerably more friendly and intelligent than average, they upgraded me to a (totally average) suite when I said I needed a good workspace to write the speech I’d come to give, and the attached Italian restaurant (Del Dente) is way better than average.

Hotel Internet was the average hotel Internet, which is to say terrible.

Only real problem was the room's heating system, which sounded like a 747 landing, and because it was a brutal cold snap, had to be left running continuously to keep the room warm.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jash M, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Tim B

Thank you very much for staying with us and doing the review. Radisson team is known for an exceptional customer services and our team try their best to provide better then average services. I would like to thank you to mentioned about front desk staff. I am sorry to hear about the heating issue and internet issue you had during your stay. Our maintenance staff did deal with the issues and internet router just needs to restart. Radisson team will be more then happy to assist you with any issue you have during your stay.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the food in Italian restaurant (del Dente). We have covered walk way from hotel to Charcoal restaurants, which is located in Lower Lobby. Our team will be looking forward to serving you in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

the reason why you should stay here is simple........ clean... fresh... rooms newly appt furnish...
Staff that are " very helpful from front desk to the cleaning people. they put a lot in to this hotel. you can tell from the minute you walk into this hotel. the shine those people have show inside and out from the time you come till departure.. you won't regret staying here.......

Room Tip: always stay away from rooms that have double doors to avoid sounds that may affect studies...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jash M, Guest Relations Manager at Radisson Hotel Kitchener, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Adam V

Thank you very much for your comment. Radisson team is known for an exceptional customer services and we are glad that we had an opportunity to serve you. Our front desk staff do their best to help guests. We are very thrilled because we are renovating our lobby area so when you come next time the lobby area will be different.

We will be looking forward to serving you in future. Thanks again for your time for this comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitchener
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
752 reviews
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Holiday Inn Kitchener
#6 of 14 in Kitchener
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Walper Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kitchener
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Kitchener? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Kitchener

Address: 2960 King St E, Kitchener, Ontario N2A 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Kitchener
Price Range: £72 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Kitchener 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newly Renovated Radisson Hotel Kitchener-Waterloo. Only moments from downtown Kitchener and close to popular area attractions. We are conveniently located and offer a variety of on-site facilities and services along with comfortable accommodations and friendly service. With instant access to Highway 401 and Highway 8, guests at the Newly Renovated Radisson Hotel Kitchener Waterloo can easily visit Bingemans Splash Park, the African Lion Safari and St. Jacob's Country Market. Many companies are also located close by, such as Toyota, Blackberry, Christie Digital, Dare Foods, Loblaws and Brock Solutions. In addition to our on-site breakfast service, we are connected via indoor walkway to 3 of the area's best restaurants - The Charcoal Steakhouse, Dels Enoteca Pizzeria and Martinis, giving guests many delicious dining options after a long day of work or play. The hotel also features complimentary wireless internet, an indoor swimming pool, and fitness centre. The warmth and friendliness of the area is reflected in the atmosphere of this preferred hotel with its "Yes I Can" service culture. Please note our pool will be closed Feb 22nd, 2015 to March 3rd, 2015 inclusive for renovations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel Kitchener reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Kitchener
Kitchener Radisson
Radisson Hotel Kitchener Region Of Waterloo, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing