We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Frederick Street Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Kitchener B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful, the room was spectacular (LOVED the soaker tub/whirlpool), breakfast was always delicious and best of all, the hosts/owners are lovely people who genuinely want you to feel at home and comfortable. We loved that quality restaurants and amenities were walking distance away, and that St Jacob's was a 10 minute drive. We look forward to coming back in the summer! Thank you Amanda & Harald for the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amica28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aingall, Owner at Frederick Street Inn, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
It was a delight to get to know you a bit over your little getaway. Thanks for your comments. Harald and I look forward to your next escape to the great wilds of Kitchener:)
Best,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
39
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Frederick Street Inn,

I just wanted to say thank you so much for your hospitality and exceptional customer service. Gabby & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Frederick Street Inn (despite the late night arrivals lol). Each evening we looked very forward to the feeling of "coming home" that the B&B exudes and which made our visit home to visit family in Kitchener even that more "homey." It was also very refreshing and comforting that you were able to accommodate my food allergy challenges, the Gluten Free breakfasts were delicious. As you may know it is very scary for Celiacs such as myself to feel safe and relaxed while traveling. Thanks to your knowledge about food allergies and your openness to accommodating special requests, I was able to feel confident and stress free regarding our breakfasts at the Inn. The baked oatmeal was my favorite and I was wondering if you might share the recipe : )

The conversations over breakfast were fun and heartfelt adding to the feeling of being home.

Our room, The Bastedo, was beautiful!! I especially loved the jacuzzi tub and heated floors in the bathroom. We were also delighted with the heated blankets, mmmmmmm, so cozy!!

Overall our experience was just perfect and we plan to stay every time we visit. We will also be sure to tell our friends and family about you. We love supporting local business and wish you continued success.

Warmly,
Amanda & Gabby

Room Tip: The Bastedo is on the main floor and although it is right next to the massage therapy room we hardly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aingall, Owner at Frederick Street Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. I so enjoyed our chats at breakfast also! And enjoyed the baked oatmeal! (I have sent the recipe separately)
Happy Holidays,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed at the B&B for one night to attend a concert at Centre in the Square theatre. The theatre is less than a 5 minutes walk. We checked in a bit early around 2:30 and this was no problem. We walked to downtown (King Street) and then the next morning before we left we walked to the Kitchener market - which was great (lots of produce, meat and other stuff).
The B&B was quiet, room very nice, however we didn't sleep well for some reason.
The breakfast was very good and service attentive - we had eggs benedict.
All in all a good trip to Kitchener.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Face1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aingall, Owner at Frederick Street Inn, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Hello,
Thanks for your comments. Gee, I am sorry that you didn't sleep so well when you stayed with us.Yes, we have many guests that enjoy our location because it is so close to the Center in the Square. I like to say that it is in our back yard!
Perhaps your next visit it will feel more like home and you will get a better sleep.
Best,
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Because we had a wedding of friends in Kitchener, we booked a room at the Frederick Street Inn in September 2012. We couldn't have made a better choice! We stayed in the Bastedo Room and it was just perfect. Clean and very cozy and the soaker bath tub was amazing (don't forget to bring a life jacket - it's huge!) Breakfast was superb! Every morning we were surprised by the creativity of the cook. It was the perfect start of our relalxing holiday in Ontario. When we go back to Kitchener we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aingall, Owner at Frederick Street Inn, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Hi. Thanks for your review. I am so happy that you liked the whirlpool! ...and the breakfast of course. Harald and I look forward to your next stay. Best, Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Incredible would be the one word I would use to describe my experience at the Frederick St Inn. The owner was very accommodating with my needs, the rooms very clean and the house overall is a beautiful piece of work. Greeted with a delicious meal in the morning and a friendly fair well. I was more than satisfied with my stay and would recommend anyone to stay there over a hotel any day! You cannot beat the prices either. Thank you again for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aingall, Owner at Frederick Street Inn, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
Thanks for your comments. We think also that is a Bed and Breakfast at it's best. Good people, Good food, and great value. So that is what we strive for. Glad you liked it :) Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Myself and two of my friends stayed at the Frederick Street Inn (September, 2012) and we ALL had a wonderful time. The rooms were lovely, clean, and very comfortable. We were met each morning with smiles, warm service, and a wonderfully tasty breakfast. The owners couldn't have been more accommodating; wonderful people. Looking forward to another trip back to Canada and the Frederick Street Inn next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessaca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aingall, Owner at Frederick Street Inn, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us your comments. It was a delight to have you ladies stay with us. Hope to see you again:)
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Graciously appointed, attentively tended, perfectly located ... everything about the Fredrick Street Inn is a winner! From the delicious breakfasts, to the serene atmosphere, the Inn gets highest praise from me! I hope to stay there again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTfromNY9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aingall, Owner at Frederick Street Inn, responded to this review, 23 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We hope that you can stay with us again also!
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitchener
City Commercial Core
Crowne Plaza Kitchener-Waterloo
Kitchener Inn and Suites
#1 of 14 in Kitchener
735 reviews
The Walper Hotel
#3 of 14 in Kitchener
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Hotel Kitchener
#2 of 14 in Kitchener
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frederick Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederick Street Inn

Property: Frederick Street Inn
Address: 230 Frederick St, Kitchener, Ontario N2H 2M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Region of Waterloo > Kitchener
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kitchener
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Frederick Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come fall in love with an urban Inn. Our B&B is just steps from the city's core, business center, theatre, and restaurants. Build in 1890 this home features a stone front porch, hardwood floors, high ceilings, gas fireplace, and has been renovated to include modern conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Frederick Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frederick Street Inn Kitchener, Region Of Waterloo, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing