We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more like a watering hole - hole in the wall”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Rum Runner Pub - CLOSED

Rum Runner Pub
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Neighbourhood: City Commercial Core
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“more like a watering hole - hole in the wall”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

we walked in, took one look and left...nothing else to say except it is reminiscent of a cellar that you may have drunk in as a teenager to escape your parents..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScubaSteveCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Bush Off After Party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

After and epic fail at Imbibe, strolled over here and it was great. Fast attentive service, good selection on tap. Sad to hear it is closing! Will try to go back again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank VickiLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“No food again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

It has some character, but they always seem to close the kitchen early. Very casual and relaxed, The prices are reasonable for a down town location. I wish they would keep the wash rooms cleaner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rvan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
433 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Not great, not terrible - 3 stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stopped in after work for dinner and a beer. They had a pretty good selection of brews on tap, but I stopped looking at the rest of them when I saw the Waterloo Dark Lager. Ordered one and enjoyed it.

They were just near the end of a 2-3 week Cajun/Blues special menu for the Bluesfest. I ordered the mussels of that special menu and they were fairly good. A bit gritty at times, and fairly small meat pieces - not your jumbo mussels, that's for sure. Came in a good broth with cooked bell pepper and onion slices. Two slices of garlic bread. I didn't want a heavy meal and this filled the bill.

I sat at the bar and the bar staff was friendly and attentive. Overall, the experience was fine, but I would put this place somewhere in the middle of the road - thus the 3 stars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I have had quite a few memories here.

I love playing pool, and soaking in it's history.

Ive gone to the murder mystery dinner, and a few times with friends.

The alcohol is great and they will accomodate whatever you want.

If you want something fancy to eat, don't go here. It is pretty casual dining.

Maybe they should change up the menu a bit, add some sizzle to it.

Other than that, it has great memories.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rum Runner Pub also viewed

Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
Kitchener, Region of Waterloo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing