We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was good but could of been better”
Review of Jordan House Hotel

Jordan House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jordan House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jordan
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The room here was good enough size but we thought they had Keurig coffee maker like the Inn on twenty had but they did not and would not let us use one from there. The TV was a flat screen but not much bigger then PC screen. The bed was to be a Queen but seemed more like a double bed and was not very comfy. The problems here are easy to fix but not sure if it will be since we noticed at the top of stairway for the 2 nights we were there light was burnt. The restaurant pub here was friendly and good. We also took the breakfast package which was used at the Inn on the Twenty and that was a good idea. This Hotel is cheaper to stay at then the INN so that is took into consideration when I do this review. Location is not far from the Inn and easy to get to the wine tastings in the area.

Room Tip: Take the breakfast package with your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

This has the charm of a budget hotel but for $225 a night. There are no drawers, but there is a silly 10 foot bench that allows you to display your folded shirts and underwear. This is wine country but there is no fridge in the room and the ice bucket holds hardly any ice once you put the bottle in it! There is no lobby, no terrace or balcony to hang out....just an ordinary tavern at one end of the building. Make sure you book a room at the opposite end of the building from the tavern. But you cant avoid the motorcycles revving up at 1 AM outside your window as all rooms look at a parking lot. The cleaning staff only work for a few hours so if like us you take a shower after a hike like we did and had the "Do Not Disturb" out for a half hour, then leave, you could find that your $225 room wont get serviced. You might get an apology but no discount for the service you paid for that was omitted.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REO-LTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Sure the hotel is clean. That's it!
- no bar fridge
- no microwave
- air conditioner kicks in & out causing very hot rooms - hotel staff could have turned on air conditioner in the rooms we rented BEFORE we arrived to cool it down.
- TV in room is the size of a 12-inch ruler - pathetic viewing !
None of these simple appliances, but yet still charged over $200+ dollars for ONE night !
I suppose they want renters to spend more of their hard-earned money in their tavern.

Please, someone with lots of money, please build a comparable hotel/motel and charge a lot less and smarten these owners up ! At this point, no other choice BUT to stay at that stupid Jordan Village House - so THEY can charge an astronomical fee!

Room Tip: I wonder if my comments will even be posted !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth6287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed as part of a Wedding party so really had no choice and had to stay locally, as a previous reviewer said, it is a captive market, nonetheless the rates are far too high for the level of accommodation provided. During this trip we also stayed at Wyndham Gardens and Hampton Inns, their rates were half the price, the rooms were superior and facilities more extensive.
Particular issues with the room - air conditioning was too noisy and could do with updating. No room safes provided - this is a truly incredible omission - surely this is almost a standard facility and expectation nowadays, particularly so as the Jordan House is attracting a substantial number of visitors attending weddings and therefore likely to be sporting jewellry and cameras etc At these room rates there should be a safe - no excuse.
Maid service was patchy - coffee maker was left unemptied and wasn't cleaned during our stay.
Another reviewer mentioned the noise from live music in the adjoining bar/tavern. Our room was further away, so didn't bother us - but yes it is excessively loud. We had friends that went into the bar and had to go outside as the volume of music was unbearable and painfully loud - this is just silly - the management should control the bands they have performing and regulate the volume to sensible levels.
Left feeling ripped off and taken advantage of by the price of the room - didn't have a choice because of wedding, would never otherwise have booked such overpriced accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the tavern/bar, better still if staying for a wedding, research the cost of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jc2472013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

For years we've coming to Jordan to eat at the Inn On The Twenty and drink wine at Cave Springs. One though does not always have time for an awesome sit down dinner as you would always get at the Inn On The Twenty, so we thought we'd try a something at The Jordan House. The service on the patio was terrible. Waited for close to ten minutes before I had to go in and get a menu which seemed to bother the bartender that gave it me. We had burgers which were terribly average. The only good point of our visit was that the Steam Whistle beer was good and cold. So, we we've been there, done that and we are not going back.....ever again irregardless as to how many time we go to the area. Need we say more!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MarthaFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed there for a wedding so I guess they had a captive audience. After calling a few times for different family members to book a room, I got a different rate all the time. Each time told they provide rates that include the breakfast. Guess what, I was charged for breakfast! Rooms are at best motel quality. There is no mini-fridge or a safe. Just a well-used bed and some washroom facilities.

Room Tip: Stay at another place where they won't over charge you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffyTorontoCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heleniot20, Manager at Jordan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

We have two rates for weekend high season stays: $219 for a larger room with pull out and $199 for a standard room with queen bed. This rate includes breakfast at Inn on the Twenty which is a five minute walk down the street. Guests can choose not to book with breakfast if they prefer and the cost is deducted from the price of the stay and this may be where the "different" rate came from. This rate is carefully monitored to ensure it is a fair reflection of our market, the season and our availability. More economical pricing is available for weekdays and off season weekends: that would be the only further price difference. The rooms are modern but simpler than our sister property Inn on the Twenty as in keeping with the lower price. We offer two very different experiences between the two properties and feel certain that the photographs provided on our website clearly distinguish them. If there is any concern in booking either property, our front desk staff will go over the features of the respective rooms and packages in detail and invite your questions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

We were going to Niagara-on-the-Lake on Sunday and decided to leave one day early, found this little gem. Twenty Valley is amazing, check out the wineries (we stumbled upon an open house at 13th Street Winery, a great time for everyone). The hotel is quiet (an arm of Inn on the Twenty, where we checked in). There is nothing wrong with the place and the room. I think the description said we had a view of the Valley, which is a bit of a stretch (view of the parking lot and part of the town). The Jordan House pub in the same building is a must-visit; we had a great meal with fanastic atmosphere and music, it felt like we were in Saint John's for a bit (Irish dancing and fiddle music). The TV in the room is a bit small but you should not stay in your room and watch TV, there is too much to see and do.

Room Tip: All rooms are fine. Nothing to write home about, but clean, quiet (perhaps a bit dark). We were in 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateKewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jordan
5.6 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
467 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#8 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,379 reviews
6.4 mi away
Best Western St. Catharines Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Super 8 Grimsby Ontario
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Inn On The Twenty
Inn On The Twenty
#1 of 3 in Jordan
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jordan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jordan House Hotel

Address: 3751 Main St, Jordan, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lincoln > Jordan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jordan
Price Range: £88 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jordan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Jordan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan House Hotel Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing