We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, no WiFi”
Review of Jordan House Hotel

Jordan House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jordan House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jordan
Amherst, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, no WiFi”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Room was clean (hence two stars). Bathroom shower curtain smelled of mildew.
No WiFi, as advertised. My husband and two sons called desk (a few times) about it, to no avail.
Complained upon checkout. Sandie at the desk said she'd have John, the manager call me later.
Guess what? No call.
Also, ridiculously over-priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    23
    13
    12
    3
See reviews for
10
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north rustico pe canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I have just arrived home after attending our good friends daughter's beautiful wedding. We stayed at the Jordan House and we were very pleased with our accommodations. The room we had was on the second floor. It was exceptionally clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and although it was the weekend and there was a live band in the tavern, we could not hear a thing. The staff at the Inn on the Twenty where we checked in were only to happy to assist you, if needed. I can only say this.....we would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to going back and wandering around the shops, eating at the Inn and purchasing some delicious wine. We use to live in the Hamilton area and now live in P.E.I. and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heleniot20, Manager at Jordan House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thanks for telling us you had a great stay. The Jordan House offers a good choice to wedding guests as the busy activities of the wedding day mean that guests often don't need an elaborate room with Jacuzzi, fireplaces and so on. Glad it met your needs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I was attending a conference in Jordan and was looking for an affordable place to spend a night. The check-in at the Inn on the Twenty went smooth, BUT when I got to the Jordan House, 5 minutes down the street, the key wouldn't work in the front door of the Inn. The key appeared to have been freshly cut. Newspapers were piled up in front of the front door of the Inn. It looked like I had stumbled upon an infrequently used motel. The staff at the adjacent Tavern were very friendly and let me in. When I eventually got to my room as it was difficult to find the stairwell it was very basic, but clean.
When I returned to my room in the evening after a delicious dinner at Inn on the Twenty down the street, again I had to ask the Tavern staff to let me in the front door of the Inn and when they did so all of the lights in the front entry hall were dark. It really did seem like I had entered a place where they were not used to visitors! A strange concept for an Inn.
Nevertheless the room was clean and quiet, despite the absence of any heat, light or accessible entry.
I wouldn't recommend it or return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heleniot20, Manager at Jordan House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We have contacted this guest directly to apologize for the problem with the key and it has been replaced with another that has been tested thoroughly. The Jordan House operates as a satellite of the Inn on the Twenty and assistance is provided from its front desk with the assistance of the tavern staff who are on site: we are glad they were able to help and that the guest had a comfortable stay after this unacceptable beginning.
The newspapers were those thrown there that afternoon by our new local paper boy….we have had an ongoing discussion with his predecessor and had thought we had stopped this from happening, but alas no. We are redoubling our efforts to ensure that the Jordan House offers a comfortable arrival and stay,while trying to keep the cost of the rooms well below that of the inn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracebridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We were very disapointed with the room we rented March 15. We paid extra for a room with a bed and a daybed. The daybed was unmade and when I went to make it I discovered that they had given us two bottom sheets (both yellowed and ratty looking) and only one blanket for two beds. The room was cold and the bathroom floor was freezing. They did credit us the bar bill but that didn't really make up for a night spent shivering, not to mention having to make the bed myself when paying almost $200/night! This hotel is very overpriced for what they provide.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heleniot20, Manager at Jordan House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
It is unfortunate that this guest was not using the in room air conditioning/heater appropriately. We were not given the chance to help as we were not asked for assistance with heat. We clearly made an error in not setting up the daybed and attempted to address that with the credit mentioned. In respect to the sheets, it is important to note that the Jordan House linen is all bone coloured rather than white which may have led this guest to believe that it was old when, in fact, they are not.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed for a wedding Feb 2014. Rooms seem to have been renovated after reading earlier posts. Location and proximity to Jordan town and winery's was great. Staff was friendly and curteous. After a small issue with room cleaning we were given a complimentary small bottle of cave springs wine. Breakfast at the Inn on the Twenty was included and was very very nice. My only complaint would be the $30.00 charge for lost keys - a bit much in this day and age. I had a wonderful weekend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A quaint little hotel with decor that could only be described as mid-to-late-20th century institutional. You will be greeted at the front desk with a healthy dose of ennui, by a pretentious clerk who neither knows nor cares why you booked at the Inn on the Twenty but were shifted to the Jordan House. There, you will sign a waiver assuring that you will pay dearly if you smoke in the room ($150) or lose the room key ($35). A short trip up a dark back stair of the finest institutional concrete style (yes, the light is burned out), brings you to the door of your room. Hope you didn't lose the key!
Opening the door is like a step back in time - to a 1970's vintage motel! The generous bathtub compensates nicely for, and is in fact larger than, the miniscule bed, but you won't mind! No matter who you bring along, you'll be sleeping alone before the night is over!
If you accidentally forget your key in your room, it's not a problem, The staff will be back around 9 in the morning, (You will not find a living soul manning this hotel through the night!)
There are so many wonderful things that $225 can buy ... a night in this hotel is not among them.

Room Tip: Stay in another town, as far away from this hotel as you can feasibly be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heleniot20, Manager at Jordan House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
This is a very disappointing review. We checked with the guest who indicated that he did not make the reservation and thinks that his wife mixed up the Jordan House with Inn on the Twenty and so the expectations were out of sync with the style of property that the Jordan House is. Our confirmation letters are clear about the reservation NOT having been made at the Inn. We do not shift our guests between properties because they are very different, with the Jordan House being a more affordable, more standardized experience than the Inn.
As to the issues identified, we can confirm that our Queen size beds are the identical size as ALL Queen sized beds in North America, that is 5' wide. We have King sized beds at Inn on the Twenty for those who desire a larger bed. Our sign off on smoking and taken keys is meant to ensure that guests know we are non-smoking so that subsequent guests can be certain that our rooms are entirely free from second hand smoke and that keys are kept in closely supervised inventory. These are minor administrative matters and do not result in more than a moment's scrutiny during the check in process. While we do not staff the desk of the Jordan House overnight, the Front Desk staff of the Inn are available 24/7 to deal with urgent issues and that is conveyed to guests. A burned out light is definitely unfortunate, but advice of the same would lead to timely replacement.
We urge anyone who wishes to see the decor or style of the Jordan House to look to the website: photos are accurate and up to date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at Jordan House for a wedding that was at Inn on the Twenty, and the rooms had obviously been upgraded but were still very basic. I understand the cost just because it's a small town with two hotels but it was quite a lot of money for one night. We still had a great trip and if we were to end up in Jordan again we would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jordan
5.6 mi away
Capri Inn
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
451 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
12.5 mi away
Casablanca Winery Inn
Casablanca Winery Inn
#2 of 2 in Grimsby
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the-Lake
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#9 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
1,312 reviews
6.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton St. Catharines Niagara Suites
0.3 mi away
Inn On The Twenty
Inn On The Twenty
#1 of 3 in Jordan
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Jordan House Hotel

Property: Jordan House Hotel
Address: 3751 Main St, Jordan, Lincoln, Ontario L0R 1S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lincoln > Jordan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jordan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jordan House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Jordan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jordan House Hotel Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing