We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hosts, Great Location, Great Pool, Great Gardens” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hosts, Great Location, Great Pool, Great Gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely property with a large porch where we sat and drank our wine and was pleasantly surprised when our gracious hosts brought out a lovely platter of snacks including cheeses, grapes, shrimp and breads. We loved having a late night dip in the pool which was always a lovely warm temperature even though the evening was cool. The breakfast was full on gourmet with lots of self serve options of hot and cold assortments too many to list. The value of this experience is incredibly good and we have been back since, and have recommended family and friends who have also stayed and had nothing but great things to say. Love to Shirley, Peter and family who have done nothing but share all of themselves with all of us :) ox.

Room Tip: we stayed on the first level with easy access to the outside verandah and swimming pool :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fecklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    7
    6
    3
    8
See reviews for
14
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Whispering Pines as part of a weekend winter escape and retreat we'd been planning for quite some time. I stumbled across the Whispering Pines through an internet search and booked the room via email with the proprietors. That said, here's a summary of our recent experience.

Room - We were told there are 11 in total. We stayed in the Rose Room, a cozy space with lots of atmosphere and rustic character. The room also came equipped with a king size bed, jacuzzi tub and separate bathroom. No television or in-room shower present (shower is down the hall), but it was just the kind of "getaway from it all" experience we were seeking.

Staff/Owners - Shirley and her husband were lovely hosts that truly made us feel relaxed and at home. The atmosphere in general could be characterized as very relaxed, warm and inviting as opposed to the "stuffy" feel of some B&Bs we've stayed at over the years. Very helpful and you can tell they truly take pride in their place and what they do.

Breakfast - Excellent hot breakfast that included eggs, pancakes, sausage, cereal, toast, juice and coffee. The owners truly know how to cook up a breakfast feast! Fruit lovers might be a little disappointed as we didn't seem to see any either of the two mornings we were there, but I wasn't bothered by this. Seating is in a lovely bright room that overlooks the grounds.

Location - For those seeking a lovely Lake Simcoe retreat, this quiet location offers alot of rest and relaxation, but located close enough to Lake Simcoe to walk the shoreline. There are a couple local restaurants (a Chinese restaurant, a pub, and a seafood/steakhouse place to name a few), but for those seeking a bigger selection may have to make the 15 minute drive to Keswick to find this. All in all, treat the Whispering Pines more as a smalltown escape rather than a resort with all the added conveniences, and you'll truly enjoy your experience staying there.

Other guests/variables - During the winter months, the Whispering Pines appears to be incredibly popular with the ice fishing community and as such, usually jam packed on a weekend with this type of clientele. This is something you may want to consider when planning to book your stay (you may want to book well in advance). That said, also keep in mind that the inn can get quite noisy in between 5am-6am in the morning as the fishermen gather there things and prepare for the day. Alot of them seem quite aloof to the fact that there are other guests staying there and carry on as they would with their noise (loud boots and chatter) as if it were the middle of the day. We found this a little disruptive for such an early time of the morning, but this is through no fault of the owners, moreso we just wished the fisher folk were a little more considerate to other guests. Also keep in mind that despite the large parking lot provided by the Inn, parking can get a little dicey when all the trucks roll in with their attached trailers and gear. Another thing to keep in mind is the fishermen tend to overrun the living room, so access to the main television and fireplace is very limited in the evenings, but completely yours during the day when they're out on the lake. All in all, however, this activity is naturally limited to the winter season, and I surmise the summer season hosts a completely different kind of guests.

The Bottom Line - The Whispering Pines Inn was generally a very positive experience on the whole. We departed feeling very well rested, relaxed and satisified with our stay. Granted, the price tag is a little steep, but when doing the comparables to other types of accommodation in the Jackson's Point area, you'll find that this place is reasonably priced given what is offered, the atmosphere it provides, and the overall quality of the experience. We do plan to return during the summer months to experience the natural beauty of Lake Simcoe. Four stars, and definitely worthy of them.

Room Tip: The Rose Room is perfectly suited for those seeking a cozy, romantic space. The Royal Oak (located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globalwanderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at Whispering Pines for two nights, as we were attending a wedding at the Briars and there were no rooms left at that resort. This was the closest available accomodation. (Only a 5-minute walk along the road if you are looking to do the same).
Whispering Pines is a huge house with a beautiful sprawling yard, we were so impressed by all the beautiful gardens everywhere, a fish pond, and plenty of outdoor seating. We didn’t really understand how big the house was until we came down to breakfast…we counted 16 guests!! Even with this many guests in the house, we were happy to find that our room was quiet.
We had the Royal Oak room which was nicely decorated, with a small balcony, windows overlooking the gardens and an en-suite bathroom. (Note: the bath/shower is an old-fashioned claw-foot tub, so would be very difficult for anyone elderly or disabled). Family that we were traveling with had the other ‘deluxe’ room, which was also nicely appointed, and had a jet-tub, but no stand-up shower.
The breakfast both mornings was served buffet-style, and we were impressed by the quality and selection of food: large trays of fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage with onions and peppers, pancakes, a variety of breads and cereals, and of course lots of fresh coffee, tea and juice.
We also enjoyed using the large outdoor heated pool and lounge chairs in the backyard. We were hoping to use the hot tub, but this is not open in the summer months.
One issue: when we asked about needing a key for the front door, we were told that the door is never locked. Considering some of the people we saw coming and going in the neighbourhood, this was a little disconcerting. There are also no locks on the bedroom doors, if you are someone that’s nervous about valuables.
Overall, we did have a pleasant stay, a quality sleep and enjoyed our breakfasts. However at $179/night, we thought this was way overpriced for a B&B; we have paid much less to stay at 5-star Fairmont properties.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Whispering Pines for one night. Very nice house with a beautiful garden and friendly hosts. Just thought $175 for the night was a bit expensive. Room was okay but no TV or air conditioning and shower wasn't the best. Again not worth $$$$$

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BillQ496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson's Point
0.3 mi away
The Briars
The Briars
#1 of 1 in Jackson's Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
17.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Newmarket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
17.5 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Barrie Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
16.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Barrie
16.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Barrie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals

Property: Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals
Address: 992 Lake Drive E, Jackson's Point, Georgina, Ontario L0E 1L0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Georgina > Jackson's Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Jackson's Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Inn is a beautiful, historic home with approximately 4,000 square feet of living space, two walk-out porches, one from a second floor bedroom, and original maple floors. Many of the bedrooms have cedar ceilings. Situated on approximately one acre of land, this large property offers over 27 professionally designed gardens and two ponds stocked with goldfish, Japanese koi and local frogs for our guests to enjoy. Our suites are colorful, large, and welcoming, with king/king-singles, or queen beds, with ample sitting space for a relaxing read our as a base for adventure on Lake Simcoe.. Operated very much like an old English Country Inn, Whispering Pines provides its guests with a very comfortable atmosphere, where they are free to make themselves truly at home for the duration of their stay as the proprietors have their own private apartment. Hence, guests are encouraged to relax in the living area, light a fire, make themselves a cup of tea, and enjoy take out, BBQ, or a prepared meal in the dining room or outside in the gardens. Our main house rooms are beautifully decorated year round for romantic getaways for couples, and will also appeal to families visiting relatives and friends in the area; our low season price applies for the winter season. Also during the ice fishing season; Lake Simcoe is the ice fishing capital of Canada; we have a selection of rooms which we re-decorate for the comfort and convenience of our fishing guests. For those that would prefer the solitude of their own residence, we also have private cottages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Whispering Pines Cottages and Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Cottages And Vacation Rentals Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing