We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and Lovely place to stay for a weekend” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tally Ho Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cozy and Lovely place to stay for a weekend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

I have been speaning 3 days/2 nighst with few of my good friends. We took 2 houese and the house where I stayed was a one bedroom house with separated living/diningroom which was well-equipped with TV set, mini-fridge, a full-size sofa bed, fireplace and a decent size of bathroom. If you are not looking at fancy hotel or places where you will have full room-services, this inn is a good place for you to stay for a weekend.

Meal-plan: They provide breakfast and 4 courses dinner in a very decent portion size from 830-930am in the morning and 730-830pm respectively everyday. If you want to sleep-in or have a late dinner instead, you may always inform the chef there and they would usually do their best to accomodate your needs.

Activities: We don't find there are much to do around the Inn site in the beginning. We spent quite a lot of time hanging out in the area by the lake and inside our own unit. We got a lot of tiem to mingle and relax here and there. The view around teh Inn site is however spendid and lovely enough for us to spend a very relaxing afternoon there with our own bring-in snacks and drinks whethere we were inside or out.

Recommendation: I would definitely go back and spend a weekend or two there again. It was just a very refreshing expeience of staying in thsi inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PollycToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    29
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
29
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

my family and I stayed here for the last week in August. It was a very quiet week, but the place was nice. There were lots of free things to do - water ski, kayak, canoe, paddle boats, basketball, shuffle board, horse shoes. We even took the pontoon ride for $6. Was a nice ride around the lake for about 1.5 hrs. We didn't take advantage of the meal plans, but we did go for breakfast one morning. I didn't think my juice, fruit cup (which I had to ask for), 2 slices of bacon, egg and toast (which I had to make) was worth $6.50. The cottage we rented, Castledown #20, was nice enough for the 3 of us. It had all the dishes, pots, pans, cutlery, etc. provided. We basically brought our own food and salt and pepper !! There was even a bbq for us to use with propane free of charge.
I'm told that if we were there earlier in the summer (mid-July to mid-August), it would have been much busier and more for the kids to do.
All in all, it was a nice place, very relaxing and the weather was spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeachInHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My husband and I visited Tally Ho every year for 3 consecutive years in the month March. We loved it so much that the we ended up getting married there! The location, the staff, the food, everything about this place is perfect! And for such a reasonable price.
We have always stayed in the Honeymoon cabin, it is an open concept cabin with wood burning fireplace, a deck overlooking the lake, a 2 person jet tub, min fridge and sitting area.
The main lodge has a pool table, ping pong, library,sitting area with t.v.,and large deck facing the lake.
The food is amazing! All home made and always fresh, I recommend every dessert, my favourite is the apple crumble with vanilla ice cream. The service at any time of the day is outstanding. We have never had a bad moment, bad food or bad service, which is why we chose this spot for our wedding. We were married in October overlooking Peninsula Lake, with Muskoka chairs for our guests to sit in, the sun was shining and the setting was perfect. The dinner served was amazing, the party was held in the lounge area and was followed up with a bonfire by the lake. Our wedding day was exactly what we imagined it would be and we have the wonderful people at Tally Ho to thank! We will see you again soon, once our son is a bit older and we can enjoy our time with him there as well.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nawdkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This fall, I'm heading to the Tally-Ho for a third consecutive year for a girls' weekend. The cabins are a good size, with a sitting area and separate bedroom. The small fridge is large enough for left-overs (should you go into Huntsville for a meal), snacks and some drinks. The bathrooms are clean and a decent size. The meals offered are good, and special diets are never made to feel like a burden.

Room Tip: The cabins are great and offer a beautiful view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adriel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This resort was really popular back in the '40s and '50s and you can imagine what it would have been like then when it was always full of people. Our last two visits we have been the only guests at the inn. It's really cool to have the whole place to yourself. Our hostess was very pleasant and we really enjoyed chatting with her over our two hour dinner. The resort is made up of many different chalets, cabins and motel type units. We again chose The Nook (a cabin) which is quite modern. It has a nice bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub, a fridge, microwave, a sitting area, bed (of course), tv and a really lovely wood-burning fireplace complete with a great supply of wood. This cabin has a deck and magnificent views of lake Peninsula. No smoking inside the properties, but the resort is pet friendly. We opted for the meal plan which provided us with a 3 course dinner and breakfast. The home made split pea and ham soup was excellent! There is a billiards table, ping pong, lending library, basketball and tennis court and kayaks and canoes at your disposal. You only get 4 channels on the TV, but who cares? We saw a muskrat and a pair of Canada geese that were nesting on a small island just off the resort. This resort is about 10 minutes from Huntsville where there are many restaurants, grocery store, LCBO etc and about 20 minutes from Algonquin Park. This is an expensive area so I think the prices aren't bad at all. I thought the room was quite clean. The only negatives was that the mattress, perhaps, could use replacing and the fridge was a bit noisy, but I would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The Nook, # 27 I believe, is modern and close to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carolannewolkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We "discovered" Tally Ho on exiting the West Gate of Algonquin, worried that we would get stuck with an over-the-top expensive resort stay for the one day we had allocated as a stop-over on the way home. What a delightful surprise, then, to find a warm PET FRIENDLY reception at Tally Ho at an excellent price!. The MAP provided great meals (with home made Jam and muffins for Breakfast and good home cooked meals for dinner) in a warm lodge atmosphere.
While the cottage was admittedly a little on the worn side, they are doing great things in renovating/upgrading the units here and there - and the staff is so friendly !
We decided to stay an extra 2 days and had a fantastic time !

Room Tip: Unit 1 was a good choice, having been recently upgraded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Schadau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Tally-Ho Inn. The room was comfortable & clean. Food was terrific & we enjoyed every meal. The only negative we experienced was that the pillows could be replaced as each one had that stale hair / body odour which kept me from falling asleep. I would take my own pillows next time. The toilet also was a bit "wonky" as the plunger was required twice. (I guess our first hint was the availability of the plunger beside the toilet!)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sperrinone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
1.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
6.0 mi away
Arrowhead Inn
Arrowhead Inn
#12 of 22 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Property: Tally Ho Inn
Address: 2222 60 Hwy, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tally Ho Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the magic of Muskoka enchant you at our family owned and operated resort. Relax, renew and reconnect. We are located on the sandy shores of Peninsula Lake, just a short drive from Algonquin and Arrowhead Park. Both parks offer great trails for hiking sure to please everyone from the gentle hiker to the more adventurous hiker. We offer 26 rental accommodations ranging from rooms to 3 bedroom cottages. All accommodations have colour TV (receives 5 stations), clock radio, hair dryer and (bar) fridge. All are individually heated by oil or electricity. 4 suites, 2 cabins and 11 cottages have wood burning fireplaces and firewood is supplied once a day. Another 2 suites, 3 units and 5 cottages have kitchens.most accommodations have air conditioning. We have something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Inn Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing