We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas at Tally Ho” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tally Ho Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Christmas at Tally Ho”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Thank you Tally Ho and the West family for making our Christmas one we will remember for a long time. We had originally booked a private chalet in Hidden Valley but it was so dirty we would not stay there and had to scramble to find another property that we could use for a family and friends get together. Tally Ho not only were able to accommodate us but they went above and beyond to make sure we had a perfect holiday. The food was excellent, the cottage cozy. and the service outstanding.

J and K from pei

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    29
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
29
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I've been to the Tally-Ho Inn three or four times over the past 6 years, staying in the Windy Ridge the last two times I was there. I initially found the place because it was one of the few locations that allowed dogs near Algonquin Park. I have a big dog, so I'm very happy to see a place that doesn't discriminate against them just because they are bigger. Everyone picks up after their pups and there have been no issues with barking or socialization that I have seen.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is good, especially dinner with dessert. They grow a lot of their own produce right on site and most of the food is homemade. I always get the meal plan option because I like the convenience of not having to worry about going anywhere for breakfast or dinner.

If you're expecting a hotel, you probably won't be happy. But if you are expecting a cottage type of atmosphere where you don't have to do any cooking, you'll love it.

Tip: Make sure you bring your own wine, beer, etc to dinner. They do not sell it in the dining room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melindhra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

In spite of its having some charms, I cannot recommend this place. I would not return.

We went there at the end of September after the end of the busiest season, so perhaps some things were done with--for instance, the rec room with ping pong table was locked--although the table looked rather the worse for wear.

The pluses: much (not all) of the staff is quite friendly and helpful. The hotel is on a beautiful lake just 20 miles from Algonquin Park and about 10 minutes from Huntsville. They have some canoes and kayaks for visitors, as well as a few other amenities (jigsaw puzzles, air hockey). The hotel is 20 miles (about 30 minutes) from Algonquin Park and just 10-15 minutes from Huntsville. The lodge area has WiFi, but it doesn't carry very far from the main building.

The minuses: Granted it's only a 2-star property, but the place is rundown and in need of a bit of maintenance. The carpet in our cottage was covered with cigarette burns. The room smelled musty and of smoke in spite of a clear no-smoking sign. The furniture seems to be from the 70s. Although it's on a lovely lake, it's also right next to the highway, so you hear the traffic noise all the time. The food is decent enough, but that's all. If you are not on the dinner plan, do not eat on the property; Huntsville has far better places for the same price or less.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was a two night stop for us as we travelled throughout Ontario. This inn is a very restful place. The hotel style rooms looked a little tired but the rest of the facilities made up for it. The staff were super friendly and the home cooked food was fabulous. The inn has their own garden so we had fresh vegetables. Home made desserts were scrumptious! We brought our own wine and the inn provided glasses. There was a set of swings for the little ones and air hockey and pool tables for everyone else. Boats were available and a pontoon boat took tours. The best for us was sitting by the lake, enjoying the view.

Room Tip: Next time I'd take on of the cottages if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend in the maple view (a one bed suite with a deck) which came with breakfast and dinner. It's pure cottage with old furniture but its immediately comforting and relaxing. People were very mindful of their dogs and while we kept the dog on leash most of the time, we were able to throw a ball into the lake where she could swim/fetch. The food was plentiful and delicious. We missed most of the meals but our dinner was prime rib or salmon and breakfast eggs or French toast with bacon - delicious! The pies are homemade and wonderful. The staff are incredibly kind and helpful. We are looking to return for a weekend in the winter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oplacesyoullgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

My wife completed her second 28 Kilometre Limberlost Challenge this past weekend, and we, together with our 100 lbs. cane corso Isabella, have stayed at the Tally Ho both times. Each time we stayed in the private bungalow called the Nook and found it to have everything we needed, and more. There is a small fridge, coffee maker and microwave in the unit. It doesn't have a kitchenette, but as the resort prepared our breakfasts and dinners, we didn't need one. The staff simple went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Our delicious Friday and Saturday night dinners and Sunday breakfast were prepared so as to allow all three of us to eat on the outside patio. Knowing we had to leave early Saturday a.m. for the race, we were provided with hearty breakfasts to go the night before. We haven't been there any other time but summer, but the quaint and clean bungalow has a large stone fireplace in the open bedroom/living room. The patio doors lead to a private deck overlooking the beach. There is a jacuzzi/shower in the ample bathroom. The Inn acts like a beacon for us on Highway 60 where the Limberlost Road starts, but Huntsville is only 10 clicks away. If you want privacy and a reasonably priced Muskoka experience, or are travelling with a dog - big or small, this is your place!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This gem of a hotel offers a quiet, friendly environment. We had the Honeymoon Cottage which gave us a private, bungalow with a double jacouzzi bath, coffe maker, microwave, small fridge, and best of all a deck that overlooks Pennisula Lake. The cabin was spotless, safe and was cleaned every day. We had exceptional weather and extended our stay by one day. The waterfront was terrific. Boats, waterskiing, and swimming was wonderful. The biggest surprise was the food. It very much exceeded our expectations. Fresh vegies grown on the property were served every day...all organic!

This gem of a holliday hotel gave us the privacy and quiet we wanted as well as the opportunity to
Meet some interesting people. We will return.

Room Tip: Waterfront cottages are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
5.4 mi away
No photo provided
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
1.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.8 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,660 reviews
6.0 mi away
Arrowhead Inn
Arrowhead Inn
#12 of 22 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Property: Tally Ho Inn
Address: 2222 60 Hwy, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tally Ho Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let the magic of Muskoka enchant you at our family owned and operated resort. Relax, renew and reconnect. We are located on the sandy shores of Peninsula Lake, just a short drive from Algonquin and Arrowhead Park. Both parks offer great trails for hiking sure to please everyone from the gentle hiker to the more adventurous hiker. We offer 26 rental accommodations ranging from rooms to 3 bedroom cottages. All accommodations have colour TV (receives 5 stations), clock radio, hair dryer and (bar) fridge. All are individually heated by oil or electricity. 4 suites, 2 cabins and 11 cottages have wood burning fireplaces and firewood is supplied once a day. Another 2 suites, 3 units and 5 cottages have kitchens.most accommodations have air conditioning. We have something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Inn Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing