We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat
Nearby Hotels
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Huntsville(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Huntsville(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knights Inn - Huntsville(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King William Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Valley Resort(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tulip Inn(Huntsville)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
61
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgarden suiteget awayyogurtgailhostsalgonquinfireplacelakejacuzziweekendcanoe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

After selling our cottage in Muskoka we wanted a vacation place to go to near Algonquin Park. Algonquin Mists was a perfect choice. All the suites are spacious but our favourite is the Forest View Bachelor Suite with its private entrance, patio and breakfast bar with mini - kitchenette ideal for our extended stays. Gail and Jim are great hosts with lots of knowledge about the area. Fine Dining at the Norseman Restaurant on Walker Lake is within walking distance or just a minute drive if you want some takeout to enjoy on the patio. Wonderful lakes and beaches near by. Gail and Jim know all the hidden ones. Be sure to check out the Limberlost Wild Life Reserve its just minutes from the retreat with great hiking and snowshoe trails. Thank you for creating Algonquin Mists, we sill see you soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, loved the Forest View Bachelor suite the best.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pappy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our newest suite "The Bachelor Forest View Suite." See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My new husband and I took a few days for our "mini-moon" up North and Algonquin Mist was highly recommended by my sister. We had the most lovely, relaxing, refreshing couple of days to regroup after our wedding. Gail and Jim were truly great - I was sick with laryngitis and Gail was sure to bring me some home remedies and herbal treatments to help get me back on my feet! We loved staying in the Garden View Suite - we were really looking forward to the ensuite jacuzzi, the most comfortable King size bed, and cozy fireplace. Our room was kept incredibly clean, our breakfasts were so delicious, and it lovely to chat with Gail in the morning as well as another couple visiting from overseas. Gail and Jim provided many ideas about other parks & restaurants to visit, and Algonquin Mist was only a short drive to Algonquin. Thank you so much for providing such a beautiful retreat for us! We will see you again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for your review and congratulations again on your recent marriage. It was such a pleasure to have you both stay with us. Thank you for filling our home with such happiness and joy...till next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My fiancee and I had a trip to Ontario in August, and we decided to spend two days at the Algonquin Mists. It was such a good choice: Gail and Jim are wonderful, helpful and friendly hosts, the house is so cozy, peaceful and luxurious, our room was beautiful, spacious and clean, with ensuite bathroom, a King size bed, sitting area, kitchenette, and a fireplace. We arrived late at night and Gail and Jim offered us a glass of very good red wine, and suggested us the right places to have dinner (trattoria La Dolce Vita was very good). Gale is such a good cook, and breakfast was excellent and plentiful. She also suggested us what to visit in Algonquin Park. I'm dreaming about going back to Algonquin Mists, one day...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 878Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Looking forward to your next visit and we will be cooking Milanese Veal for sure. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary with a trip to Algonquin park and Algonquin Mists was the perfect place to stay. We were in The Forest View Bachelor Suite, which was a lovely large open space room with fire place and a lovely bathroom including a huge soak in tub-just great. The owners Jim & Gail were super helpful and very sweet and friendly-all in all-a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for your review and the photo of the Forest View suite we are so glad that you had a great time and enjoyed our new suite. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed in the Forest Glenn suite and found it to be spacious, comfortable and private. Lots of room with a private deck and entry. Continental breakfast was plentiful with enough left to use for a snack at lunch. Gail and Jim were very helpful and friendly. We took their recommendations as to where to hike and eat (Nourseman, Tall Trees, La Dolce Vita) and found them to be excellent. And you can't beat a long day of fun and then relaxing on the back deck with a cocktail. House is quite new and in a quiet location conveniently between Huntsville and the park. All in all-as perfect as you can get!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gathp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estie46, Owner at Algonquin Mists Guest Home and Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review...we hope to see you again in the near future,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews