We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hidden Valley Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed 2 nights in a beautiful room with whirlpool bathtub, king size bed, and fireplace. We loved the fireplace and the view of the lake was amazing with all the snow. Our room was warm and clean and all off the staff were friendly.

FYI you can only burn those composite fire logs you buy in the store. They provide them for you at the front desk.

Oh yea, most importantly the bed was supportive, soft and comfortable and we had a great sleep!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear valued guest , Thank you for reviewing Hidden Valley Resort on Trip Advisor , knowing you enjoyed the resort during the winter season enables other guests to decide on where they will stay when visiting the town of Huntsville.

All the staff at Hidden Valley Resort look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    169
    75
    41
    27
See reviews for
173
165
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. The room was large and clean with an excellent view of the lake. Restaurant was reasonably priced and servers were good. Pool was well maintained. A great stay!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake side have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Senior F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear valued guest Thank you for taking the time to review Hidden Valley Resort.
I am pleased that your enjoyed a relaxing and enjoyable stay which always helps other people to decide where to stay when in Huntsville.
The staff at Hidden Valley look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed two nights for the colour change..Oct. 2-4, 2013. Wanted another resort, but it was closed! Went next door to Hidden Valley. Counter staffer, John, was pleasant & very helpful. Let us see a couple of rooms before deciding what we wanted. Gently asked if we were seniors.:-) and gave us that discount. Queen bed double room so we each had a big bed..sooo cosy and comfortable. Big, soft duvets.Four pillows for each bed! View was amazing onto a lake with leaves changing. We had the pool & sauna to ourselves at dinnertime one night. Ate at the Birches restaurant, and sat in a quiet corner of the bar as there was a busload of "leaf peepers" in the main room. Kristie in the bar was efficient, and the burgers & fries were hot. We had a lovely mini-holiday, and definitely would go there again.

Room Tip: If you aren't sure, ask to see the room before settling in. Don't be shy to ask for a change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MississaugaMissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and I am delighted to share your review with our dedicated staff who work hard to provide our guests with
superior service throughout their stay at Hidden Valley .
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We enjoyed our one night stay here. It's not luxurious but it is good value, right near Algonquin Park. Our room had a good king size bed that was quite comfortable-- quality linens.

The rooms are very large. The televisions are not lcd and are fairly old. The fake fireplace made quite the noise when it was turned on. The Keurig coffee maker was a nice touch. WiFi was free and worked very well. Bathroom amenities were of good quality.

There is no elevator to get to 3rd floor rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the long halls are adjacent to exterior exits. That's where the smokers lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikethetripFantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear LikethetripFantastic,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad you thought our resort was of good value and comfortable. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We checked out this resort in May for our friend's Terri Tweedle's upcoming wedding in September. Had a fabulous time in May, mediocre time in September and slightly disappointed. But of course I'm only talking as a guest not the bride so please keep this in mind when choosing Hidden Valley for your special day. It truly is a beautiful place for a wedding.
I know personally that they have changed chefs and that is reflected in some of their dishes. As always the atmosphere in the Birches Restaurant was very beautiful, relaxed and picturesque with very personal service however we were let down this time. We didn't have our past servers over the weekend but on Thursday our group was blessed to have Candace. She was very attentive, listened to the requests of her table and was very sociable. However the other tables that didn't have Candace didn't have the same warm welcoming hospitality. We
were a very large pre wedding day group that comprised of the wedding party, their spouses, family and guests. So based on the numbers that were checking in I thought management would have staffed the restaurant accordingly. However they didn't and we certainly heard about it from their server Chris. Chris unfortunately complained to the MC of the wedding that "for a group this large we should have made reservations". Chris continued to display his frustrations by telling guests that it was past 9:00 pm and actually removed plates that had food on them away because it was 9:00 pm. So not impressed with his service or professionalism. With that said, if you plan on getting married at HVR I suggest that you request Melissa and ensure that the restaurant is prepared for your arrival. I truly think this should have been managements job but if you don't want to be disappointed then I suggest that you take control of that situation. Melissa is very knowledgeable and very, very patient and open to suggestions. The wedding bartender Scott and his lovely wife Peggy (reception coordinator exceptionaire) was super nice and accommodating.
So kudos again to the amazing manager John for his super funny and personal customer service, need for improvement is the hospitality suite (Rm 323). We were in and out of that room from 9:00 am- 3:00 pm on Friday and not once did any hotel staff offer to clean the room or offer hospitality items like water, tea or coffee. Housekeeping staff were around most of the day and saw us coming and going through out the day and even offered to help us open the door when the keys failed. I appreciate that it is not their job to supply the hospitality suite with "hospitality" but perhaps with better communication between their team and management, "hospitality" could have been provided to this suite. Again kudos to Mark from
Birches for the amazing made to order breakfast, was perfect, especially liked that they accommodated my gluten free diet.
Overall review, if you want the best in service for an over night visit, then go in off seasons and always ask for room is in the 210 or higher if you want hot water and water pressure.

Room Tip: Room 2010 or farther for hot water, water side the best on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Nick1968,

Thank you for your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here attending your friend's wedding and the lovely comments on the service you received by the majority of our staff except for one individual. I apologize for the service you received from this person and I have shared your comments with him. We hope you will return to Hidden Valley Resort and thank you for your business.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Spent two nights here for a relaxing getaway.

Nice swimming pools but could do with mor lounge chairs round the outdoor pool.

Rooms nicely decorated and new (rm 304) with a view of the lake.

Restaurant was good for all 3 meals with good service.

Only sort of complaint was that we did arrive early 12 noon and our room was not ready which was fine as check in is not till 4pm. I think the hotel staff could have made an effort to get our room ready sooner seeing as we were there,as it was not done till five to four.

Overall a good two days.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lake nice to sit out and watch the activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t2311ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear t2311ps,

Thank you for posting your review of our resort on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a relaxing getaway and enjoyed our indoor and outdoor swimming pools and your nicely decorated room. Also pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals in our Birches Restaurant with good service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hidden Valley Resort.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My family stayed the night when my parents celebrated the 40th anniversary of their engagement. My Dad proposed at this hotel because it was "so beautiful" when they visited he didn’t want to wait until Ottawa like he planned. The view and grounds are still very beautiful. (Even though part of the view is "now" hidden by a timeshare complex.) After dinner at the restaurant, we spent a lovely evening by the lake watching a spectacular sunset.

The hotel is very nice: good service, clean rooms, comfortable bed (I loved the abundance of pillows!), large rooms and very peaceful. There is beautiful local artwork hung (and for sale) all through the common areas which provides a lot of character to the space. The over sized Muskoka chair at the front door provided a fun spot for pictures. The rooms had connecting doors which was convenient.

Knowing that this is an older hotel explains a lot of things that aren't perfect with this hotel. The fact that you have to use the stairs instead of an elevator was one negative. (But the stairs are not steep and were an easy to walk for my older parents.) The door to the bathroom in our room would stick and not shut properly, but in my parents' room it was fine. In their room the electrical plugs were hidden behind the furniture so it was hard to find a free plug to charge the cell phone.

There were lots of families with kids staying at the hotel. We didn't hear them through the walls (thankfully!!).

Overall, my parents were delighted with the stay for their anniversary. Sentimentality aside, it was a very good hotel that provided comforts with a spectacular scenic backdrop.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thamuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHiddenValleyResort, General Manager at Hidden Valley Resort, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear thamuria,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor of our beautiful resort. So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us with your parents to celebrate their 40th anniversary of their engagement. Thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Hidden Valley Resort.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#6 of 18 in Huntsville
184 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,997 reviews
7.7 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
10.1 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
#2 of 2 in Oxtongue Lake
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Resort

Property: Hidden Valley Resort
Address: 1755 Valley Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1Z8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hidden Valley Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hidden Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Hotel Huntsville
Hv Hidden Valley Hotel
Hv Hidden Valley Huntsville
Hidden Valley Resort Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing