We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place for a family winter vacation.”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The suites we had were adequate. It would help to have mops and brooms to clean up the floors from the wet boots. They do clean once a day but in winter it would be nice to clean up yourself. The building did not have an elevator so may be difficult for older visitors on the top floor. It had a lovely central area for guests to sit or even dine at huge table.

The floor show and dinner are very good. A fun family evening. The buffet breakfast is also very good. The wait staff are attentive and friendly.

There are numerous activities. There is something for everyone. We went 6 adults and 4 children ranging from ages12 to 6 and everyone loved our time spent there.

Room Tip: Ground floor if no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatC499248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for writing a Deerhurst Resort review. We are so glad you enjoyed your winter vacation with us and were able to partake in the many onsite activities and amenities.

As you note, we do have a variety of different types of accommodations. Our reservations team is able to assist guests and provide recommendations based on preferences especially if someone has a mobility concern.

We appreciate your suggestion to place a mop and broom in the condo, which we will take into consideration.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,476 - 2,482 of 3,361 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

It is our first stay at Deerhust. We usually go to another resort in the region for skiing over Christmas/New Year's. We are here with our 4 year old son and have friends with 3 boys in another unit. Overall the units are clean and fine. We are here for a few nights including New Year's Eve. We had a nice dinner with our friends and stayed up together until the New Year. Upon going to bed at 1am there was a sudden loud boom of music from the room above us. It was like being in a club. We called to front desk who said they would have security go to their room. The music didn't stop. I waited and called again. Still the music went on - with lots of bass booming. Eventually I fell asleep out of sheer exhaustion for maybe an hour or two to wake up to the same. Boom boom boom. The wall here are very thin. I called the service desk once again to be told that security was there as well as the OPP (police) earlier and now they wouldn't do anything further. The only thing the hotel suggested was that I could call the police myself. That's it. So here I am now up at 5:38 am, exhausted, headache with no respite for this booming music. All I wanted was a nice quiet few days up north with my family to ski. I thought it was a family resort not a rave.

We had a problem with our cable earlier in the evening and they came immediately to fix it and the men told us that the police were around then because of loud partiers. I guess I should have known this could happen being new year's, but we've stayed other places and have never experienced this before. Why would I possibly want to pay for a room where I can't sleep? It's just awful. You would think with the thin walls here they could forewarn guests.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigchunkoftofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

We appreciate the positive comments about our resort; we are disappointed to read that your stay was negatively impacted by noise disturbances caused by those occupying neighboring rooms and extend our sincerest apologies that your stay was not as restful and seamless as it should have been. Want you to know that what you experienced is not the norm and we hope that your travels will bring you back to our resort again in the future. Please feel free to contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com so we can assist with your next reservation and ensure you leave with a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We have had a rough year to say the least. Upon visiting the Deerhurst for a family getaway we were devastated to see that they had not registered our children for any of the activities requested. To add insult to injury they were rendered 'unable' to squeeze them in because all activities were now full'. All they could say was 'sorry' or 'whoops'. The managers were not present and unreachable and didn't bother returning my messages. The food was over priced but not too bad. Unfortunately they just didn't seem to have it together anywhere. After calling to confirm our christmas dinner-we arrived to find that after waiting 15 minutes in a lineup just to get in (and it wasn't even busy) that we were no longer in the system. However, they tall lady working the computer was rude and unapologetic-she didn't even wish us a Merry Christmas-just waved us off as though she was above us and we were wasting her time. The waiter in the more casual restaurant couldn't even get it together to bring our children something to colour on - the same thing the other children were doing at other tables. The cleaning staff was very friendly-much better at service than the front desk and restaurants although seeing other people's hair in our bathtub put us off a bit. The beds were comfortable. But the service was appalling. No one seemed to know anything. Was informed that it is like this because they are under new ownership and joining forces with other big hotels. This is no excuse. Most of the time the staff were standing around gossiping with one another as though we did not even exist. The spa was no different. I felt like crying for my kids. We came here because of a good reputation, however, times are a changin'.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Fred,

It is evident by reading your comments on TripAdvisor that your experience with us at Deerhurst left a poor impression and on behalf of the General Manager, I sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations let alone the standards of service we are known to deliver.

Please note, that we are also in receipt of your guest survey and in the process of reviewing completely the circumstances surrounding what you experienced. I would ask that you give us a day or so to complete this review so that we can provide you with a comprehensive and hopefully satisfactory response to your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our weekend at Deerhurst Resort, arriving there from
Toronto Friday afternoon December 20th and checking out Sunday. We stayed in the Main building and found it to be very convenient. Our room was well appointed and clean and the beds were very comfy with big white sheeted duvets.

We were able to take advantage of the outdoor skating, cross country skiing and snowshoeing right on the grounds. We used the gym which had excellent equipment and I had a good pedicure at the spa. It was on the pricey side, but they do a very good job and it was a treat.
They offer many activities on their property and can help you arrange other activities off the Deerhurst grounds as well. There are always staff at the activity desk with helpful information.
It is a good idea to plan activities and spa treatments ahead so you can reserve a place. We did not so were unable for example, to book dog sledding upon arrival Friday, not even for the Sunday. The same was true for massage...nothing available.

We found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

There were alot of families there and it seemed like a fabulous place to bring kids.
We had very good food in the dining room for one dinner, lunch and a snack, but had the cold buffet for breakfasts which was only satisfactory. Maybe the hot buffet would have been worth it? There are some very good places to eat in the town of Huntsville a short drive away.

All in all it was a great place to sample the pleasant side of a Canadian winter.
We would definitely go again and I look forward to trying this resort in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie101-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for the detailed and glowing review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us in Muskoka and were able to partake in the many onsite activities and amenities.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I will share your comments with our team – Thank you.

Future guests: Please visit our website or contact us directly to learn more about our amenities and offerings. As Susie mentions in her review, we do recommend you make advance reservations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed on Christmas day for 2 nights a family of 4 adults and 4 kids. We booked 3 room Condo which was large enough and came with full kitchen and living room but was very outdated. Furniture was old and still had old fat tube TV's in there. We stayed in the resort in order to do some family activities which the resorts advertise heavily. When we arrived most of the activities were sold out. we wanted to do snowmobiling which they advertise on their websit that you can rent it from the resort but snowmobiling rental was open yet and there was not much for kids to do, even the indoor game and activity room for kids was closed from 12:30 pm to 4:00 pm, why would you close the activity during the day?? everything else was sold out and we paid to stay in resort but could not avail much.
The indoor pool is open from 8:00 am to 10:00 pm and we went there around 8:00 pm and found out that there is no towels available at the pool from 8:00 pm to 10:00 pm and guest have to go to front desk which is located at other end of the building to get the towels and they have to return to front desk after use otherwise they charge you $20 per towel. why on earth you will have a open pool but no towels and ask the guest to bring and return the towels and we paid $310/night and have to work on towels as well. Cannot understand their policy.
After talking to every manager on each shift, They finally gave us some discount but overall the amount we paid was not worth it.
The location is great with a lot of snow around and staff was friendly and always smiling but there was not much they could do due to management policies.

Room Tip: Try to book in main building which is renovated and close by all of the activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Imagination92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry to read that you were unable to partake in some of the activities that you wanted. We do recommend guests visit our website or contact us directly to learn about our facilities/amenities and offerings in advance and make reservations for specific activities such as Horseback Riding, Snowmobiling, Dog Sledding to avoid disappointment.

The resort does also offer many outdoor activities that do not require advance reservations such as unlimited use of our trail system, Cross Country Ski equipment (ski, pools and boots), Snowshoes, Ice –skates. In addition our destination and nearby parks offer downhill skiing, snowboarding, tubing and so much more. I apologize if you were not aware of these options.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you leave with a more positive impression. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com, should you wish to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent 2 nights at Deerhurst at Christmas. Overall I enjoyed it a lot. It was a great way to have someone else do the decorating and cooking. We had a 1 bedroom Summit Suite which was good because we could prepare other meals and had the separate bedroom and a well used fireplace. Christmas morning it was -30C. The staff were friendly, check-in fast despite a lineup.
If I were to come another year I would do a few things differently.
1. Opt out of the buffets as they were just ordinary and the food gets cold especially the Christmas morning one and they run out of things too fast. Not a good value. I would far rather order off a menu.
2. Opt out of the show.
3. We had to travel pretty far so I would stay an extra night and try to get a 3 night plan in a 1 bedroom condo to get a better space and bigger kitchen area.
Any extra food and beverages are very expensive and the resort charges a pretty high amenity fee even though some things are supposed to be "free" such as basic internet and use of the pool and gym.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for the review! So glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our renovated Summit Lodge One Bedroom Suites. As the resort now boasts over 300 newly or partially renovated rooms, we recommend our guests inquire about the different types of accommodation we have; we are here to assist and provide recommendations based on preferences.

Your comment regarding the buffet food is important to us. We are currently in the process of enhancing our buffet station in the Eclipse Restaurant which will feature thermal heating and improve the culinary experience for you, our valued guest.

The next time you visit I recommend you take advantage of our ‘Stay Longer and Save’ rates so you can explore and experience Muskoka and ALL it has to offer!

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We just spent a few nights right before Christmas in the Summit Lodge with our 2.5 year old. The room was great and a good value at under $200, regular price. The Lodge is very comfortable with a lovely great room and dining room that we made much use of, in addition to our own suite. It is a short walk to the main lodge and with snow all around the property was just a pleasure. This is an Ontario institutions we'd been wanting to visit for years (I thought it was an all-inclusive in the 1980's but I was assured by staff it was not...a quick search to Wikipedia says it was in the early 1900s, though!). The food is excellent - every meal was of a very high standard and well-priced for the quality that it is. For those with children it is very good - kids n'critters, dog sledding, carriage and sleigh rides, a large indoor playground with bouncy castle, etc. I will probably go again, but there were a couple of weaknesses in the services. These included: not being told I needed to visit the activity desk before heading out to the stables by the front desk staff; my phone request about activities not being returned; 4 staff members at the activities desk not knowing the difference between a carriage ride and a sleigh ride, each looking to one another, until a more senior person stepped in to resolve the confusion; astonishingly bad service from an older waitress in the lounge who was late with everything and did not know the difference between our entrees (who disagreed with me when I corrected her!). It was a shame because everything else was so great! But this made it feel provincial - hope they can draw more professional staff in future.

Room Tip: A main floor room in the Summit Lodges facing the garden is very nice and enables you to take best a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChillinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for posting a review and the many compliments. We apologize for the service inconsistencies you experienced. Your comments will be shared with our colleagues as we are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible and your comments assist us in these efforts.

For future guests: A Carriage Ride takes you on a private excursion on the interior roadways throughout the property for up to 4 people. The Horse-drawn sleigh ride is your traditional cutter sleigh that takes you along the snow covered resort grounds and holds up to 12 passengers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
508 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
191 reviews
3.1 mi away
Walker Lake Resort
Walker Lake Resort
#13 of 18 in Huntsville
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: £117 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing Peninsula Lake near Huntsville, Deerhurst Resort is your year-round retreat to Ontario’s famous “Cottage Country” lifestyle in Muskoka and has been welcoming vacationing families and couples, as well as meetings and conference guests since 1896. Known for its excellent golf – including Deerhurst Highlands which ranked in the top 50 best you can play in 2016 by Canadian Golf Magazine, fresh, locally sourced cuisine highlighted throughout the four onsite restaurants, and live entertainment throughout the year, Deerhurst resort has everything you need for your ultimate Muskoka getaway. Offering the most activities of any resort in Ontario year-round including canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, skiing and wakeboard lessons in the summer, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing and skating in the winter, amazing hiking trails to see breathtaking fall colours and so much more, plus Deerhurst is your gateway to Algonquin Park, just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing