We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Get away”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed with my girlfriend for two nights and had one of the best times. Shocked to find such great service in Ontario. Freshly renovated Bayshore building had an amazing view of the lake. Many winter activities which are included in your night stay. Speechless because had an amazing time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ArtemVernik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Sincere appreciation for posting a review and the 5 star rating! We are glad you had an Amazing Getaway and had the opportunity to stay in one our newly renovated Lakeside Rooms which offer a serene view of the frozen and snow-covered Peninsula Lake..

As you note our room packages do include year round benefits and several new seasonal services previously charged for. In winter our guests now have unlimited use of our trail system, Cross Country Ski equipment (ski, pools and boots), Snowshoes, Ice –skates and more.

Winter can be the most fun-filled season if you embrace it for its wonder and get out and experience all the wonderful activities. Future guests: Please visit our website or contact us directly to learn more about our amenities and offerings and make advance reservations.

ArtemVernik, again, we appreciate the time you have taken to share you feedback and are hopeful we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,472 - 2,478 of 3,370 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed with a large group in January 2014. Upon booking in September 2013, I requested a room with 2 double beds and was told there were not any available. Keep in mind this request was for a stay 4 months later!!!! We were forced to take a King bed with a pull out couch. I called a few times prior to my family's arrival to discover there were rooms with double beds available but a 10 min drive from my group. In the room with the king bed, the pull out couch was beyond lumpy and extremely uncomfortable! The mattress had to be moved to the floor. I requested extra blankets which reception was not overly helpful in trying to find for me. I complained again and somehow housekeeping managed to find a few blankets and a broken feather duvet with feathers falling out of it, which stabbed you if you placed it directly underneath someone. I also explained to reception my original request was for a room with 2 double beds within the area of where my group was staying. They miraculously found me a room with 2 double beds in the building next door! When I called earlier in the month, they didn't have any! Due to the hassle of having to repack, we stayed in the crappy room and requested some form of compensation. Only to have reception explain that they could not possibly do that for any reason (what a money grab!) The second night we stayed, it was freezing rain which made everything very icy. Upon leaving in the morning, my husband fell on the steps outside our bulidng. It was icy on the stairs/steps, on the sidewalk, on the driveway....everywhere there was ice!!! There was no salt, no sand, no attempts made in the early hours of the morning to prevent people from slipping and falling!! After providing first aid to my spouse it was established nothing was broken, just a sprain! Where was salt? Where was the sand? I also heard quite a few people fell! They are lucky no one has decided to take legal action! ...yet! Don't stay here! It is not worth it!

Room Tip: Pick a completely different hotel/resort. Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

I would like to extend our sincere apologizes that your stay with us was not seamless and that our staff were not more responsive to you when bringing your concerns to our attention. This is not the level of service we are known to deliver. I am sorry to read that your husband fell and hope he recovers quickly. Our Grounds department has been working diligently to keep our guest areas safe and will continue to do so over the winter months.

Our Executive office has direct messaged you via TripAdvisor in hopes to personally connect with you, offer an apology and extend an invitation to return. We remain hopeful we will have the chance to welcome you back at some point and ensure you have a more positive experience with us, which we are known to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Have stayed over the past 6 years and every visit it has been getting worse. They need to reflect and either reduce prices to match their lower grade product - service offering or step their game up to match their pricing. It's very inconsistent with some great staff ( who have been around a long time ) to totally disinterested staff. Check in staff were very good - Breakfast buffet previously great - now orange juice was like pop - also cheap hot dog like sausages - I ended up getting my daughter Tim Hortons breakfast as she bailed - all fine but not at a $20 person breakfast buffet. Also blown light bulbs in room - whoever is in charge of quality control needs to make some New Year Resolutions. Understand its under new ownership a while now which may explain the slide. I hope they get their act together as a lot of people work there.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your continued patronage over the years; as a valued guest and customer we do appreciate your opinions and feedback as we are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible. We remain hopeful that you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed in Condo 23, 105-107 in January 2014. Very comfortable condo, well equipped. Super comfortable beds. The weather cooperated and we were able to enjoy the outdoor winter sports. Simply magical...I didn't want to leave.

We had a b-day celebration dinner, January 3rd, @ the Eclipse restaurant where we were served by Christine. STELLAR, CARING, PROFESSIONAL SERVICE!! Thank you Christine for helping to make my Birthday special!!

On January 4, I had two services at the Shizen Spa where I was served by Elizabeth. Wonderful, wonderful service and a very nice lady!! Thank you Elizabeth for helping to make my b-day celebration so special.

Thanks Deerhurst! I can't wait to come back!\

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomagerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us at Deerhurst Resort! I am pleased to read of your positive experience and the personal touches our staff did to make your stay with us more enjoyable. It will be my pleasure to ensure everyone is aware of your feedback and ensure both Christine and Elizabeth are recognized via our formal recognition program at the resort.

We hope your travels bring you back to Muskoka soon– Winter truly is a magical time to visit and we recommend you set time aside to enjoy some of the many adventure choices in winter such as snowmobiling, ice skating, sleigh rides, downhill or Nordic skiing, snowshoeing, dog sledding and much more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

What a terrible Christmas for our family. First off before we even arrived we were overcharged, make sure to watch your credit card!! We had to fight to get our money back. How can they charge more then what your confirmed on your reservation! SHAMEFUL! We arrived and our room at the summit lodge was dirty, stinky and noisy. Our room must have backed onto the furnace/broiler room as it sounded like we were in a wind tunnel and on a jet plane the whole time! There were gross hairs in our bathroom and the entire room stunk so bad! Housekeeping told us that they "don't wash the floors or change bed sheets" during your stay. We were there for 5 days and service was poor...... I WAS HORRIFIED! Hardly any of the winter activities were open..come on its December and Christmas...why weren't these activities available. NO ICE SKATING, NO SNOWMOBILING, No more tubing ...it was very disappointing. We went up there to do winter activities!!! They should have called us to inform that those were not in service during our stay and given us money back as we pay for some of those in our resort fee. The only fun thing was the horse and sleigh ride, which is off of the resort and run by an independent party...they were great! We found out new management took over the resort and now it is not so desirable! Don't waste your time or your money to go there! It looks great when you pull in but thats were it ends. Even the lack of activities for kids on Christmas eve was disappointing. And the Santa that they had there was pitiful....come on they could have at least covered up his dark brown hair sticking out and it not be a teenager dressed up. They really need to step it up! I would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

First off, I extend to you our sincerest apologies for the billing issue you experienced. Deerhurst takes this very seriously and I assure you and other future guests that we have procedures and protocols in place to ensure we are handling credit card information and billing with respect and care. We are grateful you brought this error to our attention so we could rectify it immediately.

Your comment regarding activities is concerning as the resort offers an abundance of activities in the winter season. The milder weather before Christmas did delay us opening our skating rink however all other winter activities were available such as Cross Country Skiing, Snowshoeing, Sleigh Rides, Tree Top Trekking, Dog Sledding. Our guests also had the option to downhill ski, snowboard and snow-tube at nearby parks. In addition, we had our indoor pool, climbing wall, Stargazers Amusement Room and ‘Bounce”, an indoor PlayZone which features 11,000 sq. ft of inflatables, slides, a toddler area, mini-putt.

In the end, we are disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and apologize for your dissatisfaction and the service inconsistencies. We would like the opportunity to speak to you directly to apologize to you in person and address some of your concerns. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent five nights over New Year's and really quite enjoyed our spacious one bedroom condo (29-303), with a view over the golf course and lower ski hill. It was well appointed and recently updated, comes with nice gas fireplace, full size fridge/stove/dishwasher and free washer/dryer in common entrance area. Two flat panel TVs, only drawback is that they are fixed onto stretch mode and you are locked out from setting the proper aspect ratio (when will hotels wake up?). WiFi is good, you just have to log after every time your iPad goes to sleep. Pool, fitness centre and lots of winter outdoor activities both on and off the resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for choosing to ring in the New Year with us! We appreciate your glowing review of Deerhurst Resort and for sharing your experience with others and posting pictures.

We are glad you had the opportunity to stay in one our newly renovated Condos. Our maintenance team will investigate your concerns regarding the Television and we appreciate your bringing that to our attention.

Future Guests: The ‘glowing’ lights in the first picture are of Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area, located next door and features 12 slopes, three quad chair lifts and a handle bar tow, it is an ideal ski location for families.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our family of five, including three small children, just returned from three nights at Deerhurst. We stayed in one of the large 2 bedroom condos and were impressed with how large and comfortable it was. While the condo was mostly outdated, the appliances and tv's in ours were new and it appeared as though the countertop and sink had been updated in the kitchen. Despite the 1980's furniture, the condo was super clean and didn't feel run down at all. The beds were super comfy and the view of the lake was amazing. Our experience with the service in all areas of the resort was perfect. When our car wouldn't start due to the extreme cold, staff were available to try to jump start our car. When they couldn't get it started, there was always someone available to drive us back and forth to the Pavillion, a walk we could not have managed with three small kids in the cold. The extremely cold weather prevented us from enjoying many of the outdoor activities but our kids were more than happy to spend their time in the pool, game room and "bouncy castle room". They've got this place dialled for families with young kids over the holidays and it made for a relaxing holiday. The only downside was the lack of a casual and less expensive dining option. We ate at the lobby bar for two dinners and opted to cook dinner in our condo on the third. There just wasn't enough variety or healthy options at the restaurants for us. We're looking forward to returning in the summer!

Room Tip: 21-203 - very large, two bedroom condo with updated kitchen appliances, countertop and tv's. Ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We are glad that you enjoyed your winter getaway with us and thank you for sharing your feedback with others on TripAdvisor. Our reputation for personalized service and variety of onsite activities and in the surrounding area make us one of the best, four-season resort experiences in Canada. As you experienced firsthand, many of our condominium owners have invested in new appliances, flat screen TV’s and additional upgrades. We continue to work closely with these owners to ensure all condominiums receive a full renovation this year.

We look forward to your return this summer with your family. In the meantime, we continue to enjoy our Winter Wonderland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
511 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
191 reviews
3.1 mi away
Walker Lake Resort
Walker Lake Resort
#13 of 18 in Huntsville
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: £115 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing Peninsula Lake near Huntsville, Deerhurst Resort is your year-round retreat to Ontario’s famous “Cottage Country” lifestyle in Muskoka and has been welcoming vacationing families and couples, as well as meetings and conference guests since 1896. Known for its excellent golf – including Deerhurst Highlands which ranked in the top 50 best you can play in 2016 by Canadian Golf Magazine, fresh, locally sourced cuisine highlighted throughout the four onsite restaurants, and live entertainment throughout the year, Deerhurst resort has everything you need for your ultimate Muskoka getaway. Offering the most activities of any resort in Ontario year-round including canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, skiing and wakeboard lessons in the summer, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing and skating in the winter, amazing hiking trails to see breathtaking fall colours and so much more, plus Deerhurst is your gateway to Algonquin Park, just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing