We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated, over priced.”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The staff we dealt with were friendly but the Resort must still be revelling in past glories. The room was average and the meal a disappointment. The bread rolls were days old.

We expected a lot more for our money than we got.

Room Tip: Go to another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and apologize for the service inconsistencies and your dissatisfaction. Your comments are very important to us and we will recount your experience to our teams to exemplify a missed opportunity to meet the expectations of a valued guest. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you leave with a more positive impression. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com, should you wish to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,362 - 2,368 of 3,308 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

-great views & trails, lots to do in the region.
-didn't dine in the resort, but the eateries looked very nice.

-the location is ideal to the city of Huntsville, ski hill, or fabulous Algonquin Park.

-staff working the general store, pool and activity areas were extremely f

-didn't care for the resort fees of $24 a night--for parking and use of equipment...should have been in the price of the room, we felt this was nickel & diming us. it wasn't advertised in the price until the reservation process started...it didn't stop us from visiting, but it left a bad taste in our mouths. (half of our review)
-loud and noisy housekeeping staff...woken up each morning by their voices and laughter.

Room Tip: -7 Main café in town is excellent. -3 guys & a stove...5 starts! fabulous food and sunday brun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for posting a review and the many compliments. The Resort fee has been in place at our resort for many years and is common within the resort industry in some form or another. Prior to December of 2013, every guest at Deerhurst paid a 5% Resort Fee on their daily room accommodation rate to cover a number of things that we don't charge for at the resort. In December of last year, we decided to change the format of the charge from a percentage to a fixed amount per day while at the same time increasing the items covered by this fee to include parking, hi speed internet, in room coffee service, shuttle to the Decades Live show and Steamers Restaurant (when open), use of the indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub, towel service, fitness room, board games. During winter the following additional activities are available: cross country skiing, snow shoeing, ice skating and hockey, all of which were previously paid for by guests in addition to their room. For the summer season we will be including, at no charge, use of our extensive kids splash zone and all non-motorized water craft such as canoes, kayaks, stand-up paddle boards.

We hope your travels will bring you back to our resort and encourage you to dine at Deerhurst to discover the delicious tastes of Muskoka dining. The restaurants at Deerhurst are committed to the "eat local" food movement. Director of Food & Beverage Rory Golden has been a true advocate for Ontario growers and producers, assisting in the foundation of the Savour Muskoka culinary trail. Now, new Executive Chef, David Bakker is continuing and furthering that delicious trend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I went last year with my kids and we had a great time. The food was overpriced but I didn't let it bug me. This year we went again for three days over March Break. I could feel a definite change in the resort, it seemed like they wanted as much of your money as they could get with as little output on their part. The restaurant in the basement which was a cheaper alternative to the Eclipse restaurant and had more standard fare has been closed. Now they have food in the lobby bar. Much worse. I asked for green tea, they had an ancient decaf green tea that tasted like horse pee. She said decaf is all they have. I'm sure grocery stores in Huntsville carry tea? They want $10 for every 24 hours of wifi!!!!! Tim Horton's offers free wifi. Deerhurst does offer free wifi but the signal gets cut every 20 minutes. I wonder how many people pay to have an uninterrupted signal. To get towels for the pool you have to walk well out of the way of the pool to pick them up and then walk through several doors through the maintenance area of the basement to get to the pool. You have to follow the same route back to return. I get that people steal towels and they don't like that. I don't steal towels and it was a huge pain in the butt. In terms of activities: we went dogsledding, the staff there seemed pretty disconnected and didn't explain anything about how to dogsled before we set off. We'd done it the year before (and it was lots of fun) but the people in front of us hadn't, so the one woman stood on the brake the whole time causing my son and I to bunch up behind her and wipe out several times. What a waste of money. The short x-country ski trail hadn't been groomed in several days from the look of it, the tracks were mostly gone and skiing was really difficult. And the snowshoeing trail? Short and a steep uphill. There is a beautiful forest surrounding deerhurst and we're left with a 1km steep uphill trail for snowshoeing! My Mom couldn't get 5 feet up it. Otherwise I found the wait staff to be very distracted except for a couple of amazing exceptions. The activities are all really mickey mouse and cheap (the cross country ski equipment is ancient, worn out and with pieces missing), dogsledding was pathetic. I'm still mad! It just felt sooo cheap. After wiping out so many times dogsledding I asked about getting a massage at the spa. $165 for 50 minutes! I declined. On the plus side, they do heat their pool which was great.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor so you don't have kids running laps in lead boots above your head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and apologize for the service inconsistencies and your dissatisfaction. Your comments are very important to us and we will recount your experience to our teams to exemplify a missed opportunity to meet the expectations of a valued guest.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you leave with a more positive impression. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com, should you wish to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Great family vacation experience. We enjoyed cross country skiing, snow shoeing, skating, and tubing in nearby Arrowhead Provincial park. We had great dinners too. The buffet is wonderful, and the children's buffet is excellent. Summit park lodges are newly renovated, and well appointed, and staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Summit Park lodges have a kitchenette. Suites have full kitchens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are pleased to read that you were impressed and enjoyed your winter vacation at Deerhurst Resort! We appreciate you taking time to post a detailed review and will pass your feedback along to our team. We look forward to your return so you may relax and enjoy your leisure time and explore everything Muskoka has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Reserved a room overnight to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. It was a surprise.
While the foyer is magnificent, the room was good but we expected great due to the reputation of this resort. We were planning on dining at the Eclipse restaurant until we saw the prices on the menu - we felt the restaurant was over-priced based on meal selection and the location of the resort.
We did enjoy walking around the large sized property, snowshoeing was difficult due both to the uphill terrain and the icy finish on the existing snow. We did like the pool area and the hot tub.
Would we return? Probably not. We are not golfers (which is most popular in this area) and since we own a 5th wheel, we'd enjoy exploring Ontario via camping rather than stay in an over-priced summer resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us at Deerhurst Resort! Your comments are important to us and will be evaluated as we are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible and your comments assist us in these efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

From Nick's welcome as we arrived through the revolving doors, to the excellent and friendly service we received from Jodi at check-in and all the other staff we dealt with (Melissa, Ian, Drew, Matt), our family enjoyed a lovely 4 days at Deerhurst. I can't say enough about the excellent service. The food in the Lobby Lounge and the staff (Nina&Dora) were terrific. The few small concerns that cropped up during our stay were dealt with immediately. I would definitely recommend the resort as a place to relax and enjoy the beauty of northern Ontario.

The only negative comment I have is that the route to the pool is a bit convoluted through back passages and having to go to the the shop in order to obtain towels and then having to return the towels by the same route (not sure why there couldn't have been a used towel bin in the hallway outside the change rooms). Also, clearly the change rooms and showers were not renovated for the Summit because many of the doors were falling off the lockers, the hair dryer didn't work, and the shower stall I used on one occasion was filthy - the wall I accidentally touched felt greasy from what could only be extended neglect. This was on the Tuesday after the March break rush, so there's really no good explanation - the resort was pretty empty by this point.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thank you for joining us over the March Break Holiday! We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We are indeed fortunate to have the caliber of employees we have as you noted in your review. It will be my pleasure to pass along your comments to our team and ensure they get the recognition they deserve.

I sincerely apologize that you had difficulty locating towels in our Winter Recreation Shop (also referred to as Lakeside ProShop in the summer months). We will review our communique at the resort as we are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible and your comments assist us in these efforts.

We look forward to your return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had yet another wonderful experience at Deerhurst. Went for a girls weekend and we were, as always, impressed with the rooms, grounds, staff and service.

Thanks to all the staff working in the lobby, the shop, the spa and the breakfast buffet.... we are so impressed with your dedication and service.

Special thanks to Andrew at the Lobby Bar who went above and beyond for my friends and I. He's amazing and ensured we had a great Saturday night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxingonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

As a Senior Contributor for TripAdvisor and well-travelled guest we sincerely appreciate your 5 star review and the kind compliments about our resort and service team!

We hope to welcome you back for another ‘Girls Weekend’ and recommend you inquire about our Spring Girlfriend Getaway Weekend with Jully Black and Jarvis Chruch April 11-13, 2014, featuring accommodation, marche dinner, live performances, workshops and shopping of course!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
505 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
188 reviews
10.5 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: £120 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing Peninsula Lake near Huntsville, Deerhurst Resort is your year-round retreat to Ontario’s famous “Cottage Country” lifestyle in Muskoka and has been welcoming vacationing families and couples, as well as meetings and conference guests since 1896. Known for its excellent golf – including Deerhurst Highlands which ranked in the top 50 best you can play in 2016 by Canadian Golf Magazine, fresh, locally sourced cuisine highlighted throughout the four onsite restaurants, and live entertainment throughout the year, Deerhurst resort has everything you need for your ultimate Muskoka getaway. Offering the most activities of any resort in Ontario year-round including canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, skiing and wakeboard lessons in the summer, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing and skating in the winter, amazing hiking trails to see breathtaking fall colours and so much more, plus Deerhurst is your gateway to Algonquin Park, just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing