We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off-season stay”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were passing through the area and looking for somewhere nice to celebrate my birthday. (I'm not the "noisy party" sort.) We stayed in a Summit Lodge and were really impressed with -- in no particular order -- the kitchenette, the showerhead, the fireplace, the views, the furniture, the mattresses, and the absolutely marvelous way no mysterious allergic reactions ruined getting a decent night's sleep. (It's happened to me before, even in luxury hotels.)

Dinner in the Lobby Bar was lovely and everyone enjoyed their selections. Buffet breakfast at Eclipse was wonderful. Staff at both restaurants were attentive and personable but knew when to let us just enjoy our meals and conversation. They absolutely earned their generous tips!

Our visit was marred by bad weather and I'll also admit that it grated somewhat to pay a "resort fee" when the resort was closed to us. I might also suggest that since indoor parking isn't an option, the resort might offer clearing snow and ice off of vehicles as a service. That said, we all agreed that it was a great trip and we're definitely going back.

Room Tip: If allergies are an issue with you, definitely choose the Summit Lodge over the other older condo-st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben_Robbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us at Deerhurst Resort! I am pleased to read of your positive experience and that you enjoyed the renovated One Bedroom Suites in the Summit Lodges.

The nightly resort fee includes year-round benefits and several new seasonal services previously charged for including parking, hi speed internet, in room coffee service, shuttle to the Decades Live show and Steamers Restaurant (when open), use of the indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub, towel service, fitness room, board games. During winter the following additional activities are available: cross country skiing, snow shoeing, ice skating and hockey, all of which were previously paid for by guests in addition to their room. For the summer season we will be including, at no charge, use of our extensive kids splash zone and all non-motorized water craft such as canoes, kayaks, stand-up paddle boards.

We are pleased to read you are planning a return trip and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,214 - 2,220 of 3,165 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

We got a weekend deal via Travelzoo so given that we didn't pay the full price, the value was good. However, I can't see paying regular price to stay at the resort. Traveled with my husband and two teenagers. We stayed in the main building so nice that everything was a walk away. Rooms were nice, clean and we had no issues. Disappointed though, that there was no fridge in the room.

Like most of the reviews, found the food on the resort and paid for activities to be expensive. We ate outside the resort at this wonderful Italian restaurant in town and the price was fantastic.

Lots of activities for YOUNG kids to do for March break, however, my older kids got bored... FAST. Love the free activities that came with the resort fee, especially x-country skiing. The skating rink was closed the Saturday due to weather conditions so that was disappointing. Instead we hit the arcade and was frustrated because some of the games ate our coins and the prize claiming machine was broken. We had to go to the general store to call for help. Waited 20 mins and no one came. We went back a second time and the employee came within 5 mins. He fixed the ticket counter but getting to the prizes was still broken. The employee left before we figured that out and since we didn't want to wait any longer, the just kids had to pick whatever prizes was working.

Swimming pool was nice and spacious. I was surprised, however, that alcohol was allowed in the pool area. I saw parents supervising their children with beer cans by their chairs, while other parents were a little more discreet with the red Solo cups. It was very busy but that's expected given it's March Break.

Overall, it was a nice stay but nothing of a WOW factor that would be worth the cost. I would not pay full price for the weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review. Pleased to read that overall you were satisfied with your accommodation in the Main Building. Deerhurst does have a variety of different types of accommodation with a variety of different room features. Should you prefer a room with a fridge, I would recommend reserving a Summit Lodge One Bedroom Suite or one of our Multi bedroom Condos for a future visit. Our reservations team is always here to assist our guests and provide recommendations based on preferences.

Our sincere apologies that you experienced issues with the Stargazers Ridge Amusement prizing machine. What you experienced is not the norm and has been addressed with the technician who maintains the machines.

Your comment regarding activities is concerning as the resort offers an abundance of activities in the winter season. The milder weather during March break did affect us opening our skating rink a few days however all other winter activities were available such as Cross Country Skiing, Snowshoeing, Sleigh Rides, Tree Top Trekking, Dog Sledding and more. Our guests also had the option to downhill ski, snowboard and snow-tube at nearby parks.

Alcohol is strictly prohibited in the vicinity of the indoor pool. Our staff monitors the area and will address guests if found in noncompliance.

Also want you to know that we do our best to set our prices to remain competitive and appreciate your feedback as we continue to evaluate this.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post a review and hope we will have another chance to welcome you back to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Great 1-night get away. Very helpful staff, accessed room early, able to switch to a king and check out late. Had an amazing massage with David, food was great. Lovely poot, but hot tub was much too hot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RELM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review. Glad you enjoyed your getaway. The next time you visit I recommend you take advantage of our ‘Stay Longer and Save’ rates so you can explore and experience Muskoka and ALL it has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I went with a group of friends and we were so amazed at how beautiful the condo was.
The staff was lovely. The cleaning was very good. We are already planning another trip for
next year there. I would totally recommend it. We were in a 3 bedroom condo with a jacuzzi and fireplace.

Room Tip: request condo close to the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Sincere appreciation for posting a review and the 5 star rating! We are glad you enjoyed your getaway with us and already planning a return visit!

I recommend you visit our packages and special event pages on our website as the resort has many new and exciting special events lined up for the year 2014. I know you and your friends would enjoy our Spring Girlfriends Getaway with Jully Black and Jarvis Church May 30-June 1, or Chef Susur Lee Culinary Weekend May 23-25.

Hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked a recent trip to Deerhurst, and mentioned to the women I spoke to that we had not been on a vacation in many years. When I arrived I was greeted by very friendly staff and when we got to our room, I was amazed to find a lovely had written note by Haley welcoming us and wishing us a great time at Deerhurst and that she hoped that this trip made up for lost time! The fact that she remembered all of that and included a bottle of wine is a detail that truly made our experience there one we won't forget and we certainly look forward to returning to Deerhurst amongst the beautiful setting and incredible amenities it has to offer! Thank you Haley for helping to make this trip so special for us with your thoughtfulness and kind words!

Room Tip: Ask questions and they will help you find what you are looking for. There are so many different roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregEmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We are indeed fortunate to have Haley on our team. She is a true professional and exceptional Guest Service Manager. It will be my pleasure to pass along your comments to ensure she get the recognition she deserves. We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is my 3rd and FINAL time at Deerhurst, as a timeshare owner through Interval International I was basically forced to use a week of my timeshares before it expired and I lost it (May 2014). I chose to come to Deerhurst simply because of its close proximity to my hometown. The previous 2 times we came in the winter with our snowmobiles so we were occupied as the trail system in the area is great. This time we chose Deerhurst because of its good selection of winter activities(apparently), close drive to home and indoor pool. Well the skating rink was closed, the tubing hill was closed etc. We did decide to take a ride on the horse drawn sleigh, well It cost us $100 and lasted about 25 minutes, with no hot chocolate or anything after the ride, just a "see ya later". Only the lobby bar was opened the entire time we were there, and it was very overpriced, we never tried it. The pool area was nice, clean and the water was warm. The 2 bedroom villa we stayed in was dated, and basically looked the same as it did when I stayed here in 1998. I realize this is a slow season for Deerhurst, as we only seen about 20-30 people staying here, but the list of activities should be corrected on the website as to what is available and what is not.

Save your hard earned money and go South, as this place isn't worth the $400-$500 per night...

Room Tip: Don't stay 2 kms away from the main building, try and stay in the newly renovated Summit Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and apologize for your dissatisfaction.

Our website is designed to highlight all offerings that are available throughout the year and we do recommend that guests call in advance to confirm hours of operations, register for programs and activities especially in the winter, as many are weather dependent and to avoid disappointment.

We did make the decision last year to discontinue snow-tubing due to insurance and liability reasons and determined that based on the abundance of other outdoor winter activities and the option snow-tube at a nearby park that our guests do have many other alternative activities to enjoy.

Our Timeshare Units have undergone a recent refurbishment to include new carpet and drapery throughout, new living room coffee tables, mattress replacement, a 55” Flat screen Television in Living Area. In addition, we will be completing a soft goods replacement in April 2014.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com, should you wish to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The staff we dealt with were friendly but the Resort must still be revelling in past glories. The room was average and the meal a disappointment. The bread rolls were days old.

We expected a lot more for our money than we got.

Room Tip: Go to another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and apologize for the service inconsistencies and your dissatisfaction. Your comments are very important to us and we will recount your experience to our teams to exemplify a missed opportunity to meet the expectations of a valued guest. We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back in the future to ensure you leave with a more positive impression. Please contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com, should you wish to give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
486 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: £123 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing