We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice weekend at Deerhurst” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice weekend at Deerhurst”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed over the weekend for a dance competition. We stayed in the Summit Lodge, in a one bedroom suite. Walk up to third floor, not for everyone especially with a lot of baggage. The rooms are nicely decorated and are a fair size. Beds comfy. The kitchenette is lacking some basics, like there was no ladle or large spoon for making soup. Also only one mirror in the room is in bathroom, which is hard for three people getting ready at the same time. Front desk staff were friendly, and while service was a little slow in the lobby bar, staff was also friendly and it was packed so understandable. Food ok. It was raining too much to enjoy any amenities, but I would go back another time to try things out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerngirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay in the renovated Junior One Bedroom Suite (also known as Summit Lodge). As these suites are smaller in size they feature a kitchenette with basic cooking supplies. Our Condo’s feature a full kitchen and a wide range of cook/bake-ware for those who wish to prepare full meals in the privacy of their Condo.

Thank you for providing us with feedback and suggestions to ensure that those visiting us enjoy a memorable experience.

We look forward to your return and recommend you visit this summer to enjoy a variety of activities on the waterfront from Kayaking, Canoeing and an inflatable water park, hiking, horseback riding, Treetop Trekking, golf and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    809
    613
    322
    162
See reviews for
1,175
828
22
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (749)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

we enjoyed our stay. The staff is very friendly. Everything is clean. The shuttle service is very convenient for getting from main building to condos. Great view from large balcony. The only thing I found that needs improvement is the pullout sofa mattress. It is very "springy and the mattress is falling through the frame at the foot.

Room Tip: The condos have gorgeous view of lake, large balconies and spacious rooms with nice bathrooms and ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AEBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed your getaway and accommodation. The multi bedroom condos are perfectly suited for those who enjoy a larger living area and additional room features. As the resort does offer a variety of different types of accommodations with varying views and features, our reservations team is able to assist guests and provide recommendations based on preferences.

For future guests: Shuttle service is not part of the daily service at the resort. This scheduled shuttle service is available and organized for large special events, golf and group tournaments, large conventions and wedding groups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklin, Canada
Level Contributor
257 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent the weekend here with several hundred of our closet friends. For a conference, one couldn't find a better place. Scenery was wonderful, the facilities first rate. The rooms are spacious, ours had 12 foot ceilings and a walk through closet, which made the little dressing area especially useful. We had a window wall and patio door to the outside. The bed was not comfortable and the heat was uncontollable- set for 62, being 75 while on the cool setting. Bathroom was small but efficient. Amenities were first rate. Food was expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeepTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Deerhurst Resort for your annual conference and the many compliments. We are glad that you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others.

We are concerned about the issues you experienced in your accommodation and would appreciate if you could contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com, to advise which room you stayed in so our Engineering team can address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This was our first time at Deerhurst and in Huntsville. We were there for my son's wedding April 25-27, 2014. The wedding itself was at Grandview Golf Club. There were however many family and friends that chose to stay at Deerhurst as a shuttle had been arranged to take guests between Deerhurst and Grandview Golf Club.

The reservation was made weeks in advance and I must say that the person I dealt with was somewhat rude and did not in the least make me feel comfortable. Nothing worse then feeling talked down to - especially when I'm the customer. Despite this first overall impression I went ahead and made the reservation. So be aware that the people at Bookings need to work on their people skills as they are the first contact with the Resort.

Upon arrival at Deerhurst, staff at the Front-desk were quite friendly. They explained how to get to the condo and how the keys worked. The map they gave us however is far from clear and it can be quite confusing the first time.

Our condo was clean and had a view on the tennis courts. The DVD did not work (and despite two staff members working on it for over an hour - did not get it to work) and there was no offer to bring in another one. The toilet in one of the rooms was leaking - this was promptly fixed!! The condo needs some refreshing - especially the bathrooms as they are somewhat dated.

We were told that a shuttle was available to take us to and from the condo. However it seems the front-desk was not aware of this, and even told us that the service no longer existed. So it seems the front-desk is not always made aware of what is available to the guests. My son, the groom, was also staying at Deerhurst. A shuttle bus had been arranged to take guests and family from Deerhurst to Granview Golf for the wedding. The front-desk was made aware of this but chose to ignore or overlook this and many of the guests at the wedding were left wondering what was happening. It is of no importance that the wedding was at Grandview, we were guests at the Deerhurst and should have been treated as such!!

We were there for two nights. We had no room service - no one came to replenish the coffe, tea, ask if we needed fresh towels, etc.....Upon reading the guest book, I noticed the option of opting out of room service and that this would save me $10 a night per room (that would mean $60.00). I was not told of this option by the Booking staff, nor at the front desk. I did not get room service, therefore this fee should have been waved from my bill - it was not!!

The front desk did however allow for a later checkout time - one hour. This was much appreciated.

This very important weekend for our family could have been much more pleasant had we had an enjoyable stay at Deerhurst. The setting is beautiful, quite picturesque, however staff at front-desk, staff at bookings, room service are really what make the stay enjoyable - and this time, unfortunately they failed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to read of the service inconsistencies and apologize for the impact they had on your experience with us.

All of your comments are very important to us and we will recount your experience to our teams to exemplify a missed opportunity to meet the expectations of a valued guest

In follow up with our team at the resort, we were unaware of the shuttle requirements in advance and as this is not part of the daily service, we did not have anything organized for your group. I do understand that our team did react to the groups needs as soon as it was brought to our attention.

Your comment regarding Housekeeping is important to us. Our vacation rental condos and suites do not receive daily housekeeping as they are fully stocked prior to arrival. Should stays exceed three nights, a towel and amenity refresh service will be provided complimentary on the 4th day of the stay. Our reservation & front desk agents communicate this to guests at the reservation stage, on pre-arrival letters and it is outlined on our website. I sincerely apologize if we missed this important communication during our discussions and correspondence with you.

I do hope this one experience will not deter you from returning to our resort in the future. Should we have another chance to welcome you, please contact us directly at info@deerhurstresort.com, so we can facilitate your reservation. We remain hopeful that we will hear back from you to assist in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in a large 3-bdrm condo at Deerhurst Resort last April 26-27, 2014. The unit was beautifully and adequately furnished and we had a lovely view of the lake. We requested for additional towels and the staff was quick to oblige. However, when I checked the two toilet & bath rooms, there were already extra towels in the cabinet. So I cancelled the request. We likewise asked for early check-in and late check-out times, as most guests usually do, I think, and we got them. We were still able to enjoy the indoor pool even for at least 2 hours before leaving the resort. Because the weather was still cold, facilities like golf were still closed. However, there was an exhibit of Taylor Made, how timely for us; hence, my husband, son and friends were able to do some driving in the area set up by the exhibitor. We recommend Deerhurst for such weekend getaways, with family and friends. Thank you, Deerhurst staff, for making our stay pleasant and memorable.

Room Tip: There were no paper towels and table napkins in the kitchen. But toiletries were provided; e.g., soa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Sincere appreciation for posting a 5 star review! We are glad you enjoyed your getaway.
The multi bedroom condos are perfectly suited for those who enjoy a larger living area and additional room features. In addition to the extra bathroom amenities the kitchens are fully stocked with dishes, cookware, cutlery, dish cloth, pot scrubber and dish towels, dish detergent, garbage bags, coffee, coffee machine and filters, kettle and microwave. A home away from home!

Our Lakeside golf course opening was delayed by one week due to a late spring snow fall. The golf course is opening tomorrow and is in great condition. Many guests are taking advantage of our Free Golf with Room offer (valid May & June) and we hope you will too!

Look forward to seeing you real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I have never ever been to Deerhurst Resort before. My favorite High School band April Wine was playing the weekend before my big 50th birthday. We don't have a credit card, so we got a prepaid kind where you load the money on to the card, and then purchase things online. This is how we purchased the 1 night package. When we were checking in after our 3 and half hour drive. The Guest Clerk said we needed a credit card to put a $100 damage deposit on, or $300 cash. We did not have either. Just brought a little money for wine for the concert, and dinner after the wine tasting was over. She kept apologizing saying there was nothing she could do. My heart sank into my stomach. We asked to see the manager, who cleared things up immediately. He even noticed I was celebrating my big birthday. We got all checked in, and he knocked on the door with a bottle of wine and some goodies for my bday. the concert was fantastic! The food was amazing! and the rest of our stay was incredible! Very happy! Will try and come back next year.. You do need to tell people about the credit card thing beforehand though! nobody informed me of nothing of the sort. Glad it got worked out anyway!

Room Tip: Did not use room service, or the spa. Very happy with the very nice suite in the Summit Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend such a special occasion with us at Deerhurst Resort! I am pleased to read of your positive experience and that you enjoyed the renovated One Bedroom Suite in the Summit Lodges.

Your comment regarding our credit/debit card policy is important to us and I sincerely apologize you were not made aware of this in advance of your arrival. A valid credit card must be provided at check in for payment of the room, tax and incidentals. Guests paying cash or debit card must provide a deposit per night at check in to guarantee the room, which is refunded at departure if not used. We will review our communication and marketing material to ensure it is accurate and communicates this policy effectively.

Our dinner and concert series have been a great success the past 2 years and we are excited to announce our 2014 line up such as the Spring Girlfriends Getaway with Jully Black and Jarvis Church May 30-June 1, or Chef Susur Lee Culinary Weekend May 23-25 and more. All details are posted on our website and we hope you will return to enjoy future events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Came for the April Wine concert: somewhat good value, the entire drink management during concert/dinner was mismanged. Had to line up for tickets, over priced drinks. Brunch at Eclipse: $31.00 for two, cold breakfast buffet, nothing was hot and some entrees were empty.
Updated rooms in the Green condos, very nice except gas fireplace would not work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDarvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
So glad you enjoyed the April Wine Concert and our newly renovated Condominiums in the Greens. I was able to locate your reservation and will have our maintenance team address the fireplace today. Your comments regarding the beverage service and buffet is important to us
and on behalf of our Director of Food & Beverage, I apologize for the inconsistencies in service.

Please feel free to contact us at info@deerhurstresort.com so we can assist with your next reservation and ensure you leave with a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tulip Inn
Tulip Inn
#10 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Property: Deerhurst Resort
Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Deerhurst Resort's idyllic lakeside setting in Muskoka cottage country. This 760 acre, year-round retreat is minutes from Algonquin Park and historical, culinary, sporting and cultural attractions like Huntsville's Group of Seven Outdoor Gallery and neighboring Hidden Valley Highlands Ski Area. Known for its two 18-hole golf courses, Deerhurst offers the most on-site activities of any Eastern Canada resort, from indoor rock climbing, Treetop Trekking, paintball, ATV tours and snowmobiling to water sports, spa and a live stage show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing