We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great couple of days”
Review of Deerhurst Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Deerhurst Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Summit Lodges at Deerhurst . We ate once at Steamers and once at Eclipse with both experiences very pleasant with good food and excellent service.

One activity that is a must at Deehurst is the " Decades" live show . We see this show every time we are at Deerhurst . The new venue is very good and the 2014 addition is the best one ever.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for the positive comments regarding the renovated Summit Lodges and your dining experience. I will ensure your feedback is provided to our culinary team, as they take great pride in the dishes they create for our guests.

For future visitors: Please visit our website to learn more about enjoying the local flavors at our Muskoka Restaurants. Dinner reservations can now be made on line via our website.

So glad you enjoyed this years, Decades Live Show, which is definitely a highlight for many of our guests. Our multi-talented show cast of dancers, singers and musicians create remarkable renditions of many chart-toppers from the 1950s to today. It is a must see!

Thank you for posting the review and compliments and recommendations to others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,315 - 2,321 of 3,320 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We played the Deerhurst Highlands course twice and the Lakeside course once May 23 to 25 and had a very enjoyable experience. Both courses were in very good condition and the Highlands was a good test of golf for the best players in our group from the blue tees. We were fortunate to have great weather, not too hot and no bugs. We stayed in 3 rental condo units May 22, 23 and 24 and they easily accommodated 4 guys to a unit very comfortably. The units were in great condition and very comfortable and well appointed. The meals we ate at the restaurants in the main lodge were very good. Reception, golf course and restaurant staff were all very friendly, helpful and courteous. A great golf weekend at a very reasonable cost per person. Very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith_R291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Sincere appreciation for posting a review and the 5 star rating! We are glad you enjoyed your golf getaway at Deerhurst Resort! We are very fortunate to have 2 – 18 hole golf courses on property for our guests to choose from. Our guests are enjoying pristine conditions on the picturesque Deerhurst Lakeside Golf Course and the famed Deerhurst Highlands Golf Course.

We look forward to your return to enjoy the scenery, atmosphere and friendly staff at our lakeside resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We went to Deerhurst for part of March Break this year, which we have done for 3 years, and something sad has happened. The food has gone downhill and don't plan on eating if you have a peanut allergy. The "chef" in the lobby lounge buffet didn't know the difference between the two kinds of sausage he was cooking. It took over 2 hours for a subpar meal in the shabby dining area and when I filled out the online survey that was sent to me I received a call wanting to know if I was interested in the Skyline Vacation Club. I provided the person on the phone with my opinion and she said someone would get back to me. It is know the end of June and no response. So the moral of this story is that when you book for 5 don't expect the Summit rooms to be outfitted for 5, don't go if you have a peanut allergy or any other allergy as they are not equipped to handle any of it, and take your own towels for the pool unless you want to run around the main building to get and return your towels. I could go on and on but just pick another resort. Sorry Deerhurst used to be my families favourite pick and we were considering going this summer and then March Break happened.

Room Tip: Summit Lodges have great kitchenettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to read of the service inconsistencies and apologize for the impact they had on your experience with us. Although we are not a nut free facility, we do take many steps to ensure a safe dining and resort experience and encourage our guests who have allergies/diet restrictions to advise the server and manager of the allergy throughout their stay and sorry this was not evident during your most recent stay with us.

Our Executive office will follow up with you in hopes to personally connect, offer an apology and extend an invitation to return. We remain hopeful we will have the chance to welcome you back at some point and ensure you have a more positive experience with us.

Future guests: The Summit Lodge One Bedroom Suites are equipped for 4 people. Should you require additional space, I would recommend reserving a 2 or 3 bedroom condo which accommodates 6-8 people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed just the past weekend. I had won a nights stay, in the Main Building, through working at Horseshoe. I am so happy that we had an opportunity to stay as we had the most amazing time.

We arrived around 1:30pm and thankfully our room was ready. We both thought the main building, inside and out, was beautiful. We dropped our stuff off in our room and headed out to check out the resort. Nick at the concierge desk was very friendly and helpful. The waterfront is so beautiful and we enjoyed the kayaks. We spent sometime at the lodge pool and headed back to the room.

After we took off our shoes in the room we were headed to enjoy the patio when we noticed the carpet was wet. My boyfriend called down and Sarah at the front desk was very helpful. There was no other equivalent rooms in the main building and we didn't want to have to walk over the wet carpet to go out to the patio. So she upgraded us to a one bedroom condo, which was absolutely wonderful. I can't thank her enough for that! The condo was beautiful with a view of the golf course.

The breakfast buffet at Eclipse was great and my boyfriend really enjoyed that they make omelettes for you. After we checked out the staff at the activities desk was very accommodating so that we could use the indoor pool. After the pool we went down to enjoy the lake again. We went out for another kayak and swim before we left.

With or without the upgrade to the room we would have enjoyed our stay, but the wonderful generosity was just the icing on top of a wonderful weekend! The property is beautiful, the staff friendly and accommodating, and the activities were fun. My boyfriend and I both are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista_93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are pleased to read that you were impressed and enjoyed your 1st experience at Deerhurst Resort! We appreciate you taking time to post a detailed review and will pass your feedback along to our team. We look forward to your return so you may relax and enjoy your leisure time and explore everything Deerhurst and Muskoka have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had to be in Muskoka for a meeting. Not knowing the area but knowing Deerhurst from years ago, we booked a weekend at Deerhurst. Lovely setting. But curiously for a non- golfer cut off from the lake. There is a general sense of shabbiness. We sat for a beer on the patio. The ground was covered in cigarette butts and the table tops were dirty. The food was very disappointing, including a mediocre breakfast buffet. Puck-like pancakes. Cold eggs. Mislabeled foods. There were some friendly staff particularly the kids from Quebec. But we had a strange experience at Steamers. We are sitting on the patio enjoying a beautiful warm Saturday afternoon. For some reason the manager comes out and without saying anything to us proceeds to light a smoky log fire in the tabletop burner beside us. He smoked us out. One amusing note. The Deerhurst had gophers living under the patios. They are ignored by hotel staff. Probably think they are paying guests.

Room Tip: In the main lodge try to avoid rooms that face the parking lot. Afternoon sun is hot on the decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorontoMcKenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for posting a review. We are disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and apologize for your dissatisfaction. All of your comments are very important to us and we will recount your experience to our teams to exemplify a missed opportunity to meet the expectations of a valued guest.

We hope this one experience will not deter you from returning to our resort in the future. Should we have another chance to welcome you, please contact us directly at info@deerhurstresort.com so we may assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I recently was at Deerhurst for a big family celebration.
About 25-30 family members spent 4 nights there.
The conference dept. that arranged the trip was amazing.
Service in the rest of the resort was very shoddy. The restaurants were very slow. Front desk staff was incompetent. This is a pity because the site is gorgeous, fun activities, food was quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms close to main building are more convenient for restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Deerhurst Resort for your family celebration and the many compliments and personal recognition of our skilled colleagues within the Conference Service Team. We are disappointed to read of the service inconsistencies you note and apologize for the impact they had on your experience with us. All of your comments are very important to us and we will recount your experience to our teams to exemplify a missed opportunity to meet the expectations of a valued guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I along with 2 other couples stayed 2 nights in a 3 bedroom renovated condo on the greens. All bedrooms had their own 4 pc bathrooms as well as flat screen TVs. Had stainless steel appliances, fireplace and a great deck/balcony which we spent most of our time on. I would recommend this option highly when travelling with friends/family. We all had a great time!

Room Tip: If renting a condo I would suggest that you request one that has been newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweenteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Deerhurst Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you the 5 star rating! We are glad you were impressed with the newly renovated Condominiums in the Greens, our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
505 reviews
11.9 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
188 reviews
10.5 mi away
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerhurst Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerhurst Resort

Address: 1235 Deerhurst Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: £119 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerhurst Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embracing Peninsula Lake near Huntsville, Deerhurst Resort is your year-round retreat to Ontario’s famous “Cottage Country” lifestyle in Muskoka and has been welcoming vacationing families and couples, as well as meetings and conference guests since 1896. Known for its excellent golf – including Deerhurst Highlands which ranked in the top 50 best you can play in 2016 by Canadian Golf Magazine, fresh, locally sourced cuisine highlighted throughout the four onsite restaurants, and live entertainment throughout the year, Deerhurst resort has everything you need for your ultimate Muskoka getaway. Offering the most activities of any resort in Ontario year-round including canoeing, stand-up paddle boarding, skiing and wakeboard lessons in the summer, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing and skating in the winter, amazing hiking trails to see breathtaking fall colours and so much more, plus Deerhurst is your gateway to Algonquin Park, just 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Deerhurst Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerhurst Hotel Huntsville
Deerhurst Inn Ontario
Deerhurst Ontario
Deerhurst Resort Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing