We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norsemen Walker Lake Resort”
Review of Walker Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walker Lake Resort
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the resort for a day and it was fantastic.
If you like quite, peaceful, and calming weekend getaway, i suggest this resort is perfect suitable for you. Just little more than 2 hours driving from Toronto...plus the price is very reasonable. I would definitely recommend....two thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1sCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in the Cedar cottage , two bedroom for two couples was perfect lots room and very clean. They supplied everything- Bedding, towels and even fire wood. we forgot coffee and they even helped us out with that. The snowmobile conditions were perfect , the only thing was you had to ride the road for about 2 kms to get to the trail, once on the trail you could go anywhere.
We had returned one evening sledding to discover a family of deer on the lake , was a nice sight to see. Although the restaurant was a little slow in service and pricey the food was 5 star gourmet with presentation and portioning was exceptional.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerly-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I've been going to the Norsemen cottages for a few years now and I've extremely enjoyed myself on every occasion. Beautiful place with all the necessities needed to make a great weekend! .. Definitely recommended !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ME2012154996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thanks very much for your great review and recommendation of Walker Lake Resort. We love to hear from customers who have come back that they had a great time once again. We strive to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere and the good quality it takes so that people want to return to relax and enjoy their stay with us. We certainly hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

My husband and I first stayed at Walker Lake in February of 2009. I'm not quite sure how we came to the decision on this particular place, however we are both happy that we did.
Initially we had tried to book the Maple cottage, but it was already reserved. We ended up in the Cedar which was great - spacious and airy with a beautiful view of the frozen lake. The kitchen was well equipped and the entire cottage was very clean. Although the Birch is directly next door, it still felt like we were there by ourselves.

I skated on the lake, we played scrabble by the fire and generally just lounged about.
It was Family Day weekend as well as Valentine's Day weekend. We were encouraged by Les to try out the Norsemen restaurant on site for a special dinner they were hosting for the occasion. I can't say enough good things about the food and ambiance at the restaurant! Wood beams, antique tables, roaring fire.... Just perfect! It was not inexpensive, however the quality of food and the service warranted every penny.

After a wonderful long weekend there we began discussing the possibility of holding our wedding reception at the resort - we had been engaged for under three months when we stayed there. I simply emailed Les and Suzi and the plans were under way! We decided on May 9 of the same year so that didn't leave much time!! Les and Suzi were extremely accommodating especially since everything needed to be done via email. We were able to customize a menu that definitely pleased all!!

We booked all of the cabins so most of the guests could stay on site for our wedding weekend. Everyone arrived Friday afternoon which turned out to be a wonderfully warm spring evening. After our rehearsal at a local church, we had a barbecue and several cocktails on the dock and around the fire. The kids were even fishing right there off the dock.

Keeping in mind that this is still off-season for 3 of the 7 cottages, there were varying levels of satisfaction with the accommodation. There were a few glitches (water problems and appliance issues) but all were addressed one way or another quickly and professionally. The Birch and Cedar were flawless. My soon to be husband and I stayed in the Maple which is definitely rustic, but had everything we needed. The Spruce accommodated my large group of neices and nephews wonderfully. The Pine could use an overhaul, but it is quite old, so as long as you know what to expect it shouldn't be a big problem. I didn't ever actually make it into the Other two cottages, so I can't give an opinion on them.

Anyway, our reception dinner went off without a hitch. The service was impeccable, the food was to die for and the night was just wonderful. We had chosen the perfect spot for our wedding!! It suited us to a tee...

We just returned from our 3rd visit to Norsemen Walker Lake and enjoyed it once again. A fabuolus dinner was had at the restaurant once again! We stayed in the Maple and it is showing some further wear and tear, but that does not bother us much. It would be wonderful if the cottages could be updated somewhat to appeal to people that are obviously more fussy than we are, however we will continue to visit knowing that this is the place we started our married life together.

Sorry for the long review, but it was 3 years in the making!

Thanks Suzi and Les!

Room Tip: Choose the Birch or the Cedar if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennyleigh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to let people know about your wonderful memories of Walker Lake Resort and the Norsemen Restaurant. We enjoy hearing that you had a great time here (all three times!) and appreciate your feedback on things to improve to make your next visit even nicer.

We’re gratified to know that you thought that Walker Lake was the perfect spot for your wedding. It's our greatest pleasure to have people start off their lives together here, and think of our resort as their special place.

Every year we try to update the cottages and the amenities based on feedback like yours. We update furniture and accessories, and paint and restore. Regarding your comments about the Maple cottage, we will be updating it this year to freshen it up. You also mention the Pine cottage and its rustic-ness. You’re right about that – and we have people who return and only want to stay in the Pine – since that’s exactly what they’re looking for. As long as all is in working order, they love the ambiance of the all-wood cottage, the screened in deck that sits over the lake at its most secluded point and it’s very private dock.

We also improve our water equipment each year to please return cottagers like you and our other new guests to the resort. Last year we added a new fishing boat with a motor so more people could enjoy fishing at the same time. This summer we have two more kayaks coming, and brand new to the resort - two stand up paddle boards as well! Also, by popular request, we’ve added wifi –and it’s free.

Thanks for returning once again and for your great comments about the resort and about your delight with the restaurant too. We love to have you and hope you will continue to make Walker Lake Resort your special place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the walker lake resort in May. We had a great experience . It was exactly what we were looking for. Walker Lake Resort has 5 older cottages that were very clean and have much newer furniture . They also had two newer cabins with modern layouts and appliances. We enjoyed staying in one of their older cabins, it seemed to add to the ambiance of eating fine food in a century old lodge . The restaurant is a great experience, they have a small gallery of paintings, wood work and sculptures all done by the local " artist of the limberlost ". The restaurant showed its age and was a beautiful place to spend the evening . It had many more paintings , white linen table cloths and a great wine list. The service was nothing but polite, courteous and professional. The menu was hard to choose from because everything sounds so delicious. Our meal was served in a timely fashion with great presentation. It was a very tasty meal indeed . We will definitely be back again. The grounds at the resort were well kept and clean. Walker lake is small and very quiet. Walker lake is a great place to sit back and RELAX , go for a walk, check out local art and eat great food.
Thanks to the hosts for the great evening see you again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benmayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

This is a beautiful place in terms of location, sadly lacking in upkeep and cleanliness.
We came in the winter with our child, looking forward to a winter vacation in the woods. The cottage has a lovely view but many problems. The extra room had a hole in the wall and plaster falling off , the taps on the sink were falling off, and there were mouse droppings in the cupboards. We were awakened in the early morning by animals in the roof. The whole cottage had a neglected feel. When we complained the next day, the owner ( when finally found) was sympathetic but initially reluctant to refund our money ( but did in the end).
This is a place which is in need of a huge overhaul to reflect the beauty of it's surroundings.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milo201137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We spent one week end with my parents and my sister in the Walker Lake resort.
We came from France and were in Canada for 20days.
The reason why I rented in the WL resort is because of the good tripadvisor's reviews and we were not disappointed. We went there off peak and we enjoyed the quiet atmosphere.
The cottage was beautiful and we had the feeling to be really close to the wild.
Fireplace/glazed bay/sofa were really appreciated.
We were at less than 15min of Algonquin Park where we made wonderful trails and huntsville where we found food/beverage and other store that we needed.
Also, the owner was really kind and always available for us. He gave usefull informations and helped us to spent a very good time.
I strongly recommend Walker lake Resort and think that i will come back during one summer

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
498 reviews
3.1 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Lake Resort

Address: Rr4 1040 Walker Lake Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: £162 - £387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Walker Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing all-season family resort nestled in the woods on Walker Lake in Muskoka, just 15 minutes from Huntsville, Algonquin Park, major resorts and golf. Seven lakefront cottages offer privacy and great views of the lake, some with Jacuzzi tubs and wood stoves. Sandy beach, swimming, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, water trampoline, stand up paddle boards. One, two and three bedroom cottages have kitchens, bathroom, living room, outdoor deck, bbq and free internet. Enjoy the haunting call of the loon and the tranquil quiet.Walker Lake Resort is a great choice for a skiing, snowshoeing and snowmobiling in the winter. We are only 20 min from Algonquin Park and Arrowhead Provincial Park, both beautiful places for cross country skiing with groomed trails. We are less than 10 minutes from downhill at Hidden Valley. We're only two minutes by snowmobile to Trails 77 & 78 near D101B and D102B in the Algonquin Snowmobile Region. From here you can get virtually anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Walker Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walker Lake Resort Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing