We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never ever ever ever ever ever ever get married here .... ever”
Review of Walker Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Walker Lake Resort
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Huntsville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never ever ever ever ever ever ever get married here .... ever”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Title: Ice, ice baby??? I think not. Robert Van Winkle won't be showing up any time soon to this resort

The view is great outside but this is a horrible place to get married if you want good service... or things like.... ice. The bartenders withheld ice like it was gold, it was like pulling teeth to try to get a cold drink no matter how many times you asked for more ice. You had to ask for cups of ice and a drink separately and they still only put 2 baby ice cubes in the glass of ice you received. Everyone drank warm drinks all night, with glasses hot out of the dishwasher... it was the worst. I love warm beer, mmm. The cheapskate who ran the place didn't even have a cooler behind the bar to keep the drinks cold, nor did he have AC, it was a B.O. sweat-fest in the middle of summer on the dance floor.

On top of the joke of a bartending service, the meals took so so soooooo long to receive a 1 course meal plus salad. The servers were serving 2 people at a time and taking at least 5 minutes or more in between every 2 people that they served so no one ate at the same time, it was easily less than 100 people at the wedding so there was no excuse. What a joke. The simple 1 course meal took until 10 pm to finish serving when it started at 7pm. Speeches didn't contribute at all to this delay, this was strictly dinner serving time. On top of this, the serving ladies were all unfriendly and they looked like they were one night away from taking a razor blade and .........you know the rest. They promised to bring a pitcher of ice water to the table on 3... I repeat 3 separate occasions and they never did.

So in conclusion, if you're looking for the worst service possible, I highly, highly recommend this place! But if you are one of those weird types who is crazy enough to like good service, then run for your life.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kate25989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    22
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our cabin was right next to the lake. Steps to all the water activities and they are all free. Surroundings were quiet, peaceful and just right for a weekend getaway to recharge. Absolutely marvellous

Room Tip: The screen door of the cabin cannot be totally closed leaving a space for mosquitoes to get in. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Farouk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thanks very much for your wonderful review. We're really happy you found Walker Lake resort "absolutely marvelous". Our staff and ourselves really appreciate your saying that, we all do our best for our guests so they'll have a great time. We hope to see you'll come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaughan, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just was looking some place to get relief from day-to-day commuting and running and I found it in Walker Lake resort. All our family of four ( 2 adults and 2 kids) enjoyed weekend there. Stayed in Acorn cottage . Cottage has all equipped kitchen, dinner table is in the porch that has view on the lake, nice wooden ceilings in all cottage room . The family enjoyed canoe and kayaking and playing at the beach. Cottage is just steps away from the beach. Owners were very welcoming. Place is beautiful and all family kids and adults enjoyed the stay. Will return around Thanksgiving time to enjoy the fall colours.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank travelladdict2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a great review. We're happy your family really enjoyed your time here. It's nice to hear your children enjoyed the kayaks and canoes and playing on the beach. We pride ourselves on helping families have fun and take home great memories of their vacations together here. We're also glad you liked the Acorn cottage with its view, well equipped kitchen, authentic wooden ceilings and closeness to the beach. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Did a girls weekend away, just to chill. This proved to be the ideal place for us. We had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend: best of all it was spotless, comfortable, beautiful surroundings. We all agreed it was the best girls weekend we've ever had. You couldn't find a better location, heaven on earth. Service was very good, no complaints at all. My boyfriend and I will make the trip north next summer. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freeloader03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
We're really glad our resort proved to be the ideal place for you and thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review. Our staff appreciate yout comments that the cottage was spotless and comfortable, they work hard. We love that you found the location like "heaven on earth", enjoyed the beautiful surroundings and had the best girls weekend you've ever had. We look forward to welcoming you here again in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

"We rented a cottage here last summer and am getting ready to book again for this coming May. It was one of the most relaxing, enjoyable weeks I've had in a long time. The cottage was clean and cozy, and right by the lake. Each morning we woke up early to catch the sun coming up over the lake, while sipping coffee on our little porch. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. They also provided kayaks and stand-up paddle boards which we thoroughly enjoyed. My personal favourite activity was just relaxing on the doc with a beer, watching the lake and breathing in the clean, calm Muskoka air. I've already sent a few friends up to Walker Lake Resort because I want everyone to know about this little gem in the wilderness. I highly recommend doing a bonfire at night. We sat around the fire-pit and roasted marshmallows with some people we met from the other cottages. It was a blast!"

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thanks very much for your great review. We're very happy you enjoyed it here and plan to come back. We're glad it was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable weeks you've had in a long time anf found your cottage clean and cozy. We pride ourselves in maintaing a peaceful and enjoyable environment for everyone, so they can sip coffee on the dock, hear the loons, watch the kids play and enjoy the fresh air and clean water. Meeting new friends around the campfire and sharing stories and marshmallows is another one of the things we're all about. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My girlfriend and I rented a cottage in May for our anniversary. It was a pretty far drive, but it turned out to be well worth it. The cottage was immaculate, and stocked with wood and newspaper. There was a heater going to warm up the cottage for us. The kitchen had everything we needed, minus the obvious things (condiments, food etc). The property was well maintained, and the cottage was right on the water. The best part for us, was that it was dog friendly. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshy2Saucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norsemen, Owner at Walker Lake Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to write your great review. We're glad found it immaculate, warmed up and well stocked with wood for the wood stove. We like people to feel welcome and start enjoying their experience here from the moment they arrive. We're glad your dog like it too. We look forward to having you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I recently stayed in the Birch cottage. The view was sensational to enjoy the waterfront that was only steps away through the wall to wall windows. You felt like you were outside even when you were in the cottage.
The simple cottage has all the essentials. The wood stove quickly heated the living room up so we never needed to turn the heat on. While the beds were quite hard, the bedding was cozy with lots of extra blankets and pillows available.
We thoroughly enjoyed the use of the leisure equipment of kayaks, canoes and paddle boat. The evenings were spent around the campfire while we gazed at the millions if stars we can't see when we are home with the city lights.
A fantastic place to share with your family!! Les was a gracious host making sure we had everything we needed to ensure our stay was comfortable and memorable. When I had a concern, Les promptly and efficiently made sure we were taken care of. I highly recommend staying at the resort. You will thoroughly enjoy stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JML2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
7.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#6 of 18 in Huntsville
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
471 reviews
3.1 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
2,996 reviews
6.4 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walker Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walker Lake Resort

Property: Walker Lake Resort
Address: Rr4 1040 Walker Lake Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huntsville
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Walker Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing all-season family resort nestled in the woods on Walker Lake in Muskoka, just 15 minutes from Huntsville, Algonquin Park, major resorts and golf. Seven lakefront cottages offer privacy and great views of the lake, some with Jacuzzi tubs and wood stoves. Sandy beach, swimming, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, water trampoline, stand up paddle boards. One, two and three bedroom cottages have kitchens, bathroom, living room, outdoor deck, bbq and free internet. Enjoy the haunting call of the loon and the tranquil quiet.Walker Lake Resort is a great choice for a skiing, snowshoeing and snowmobiling in the winter. We are only 20 min from Algonquin Park and Arrowhead Provincial Park, both beautiful places for cross country skiing with groomed trails. We are less than 10 minutes from downhill at Hidden Valley. We're only two minutes by snowmobile to Trails 77 & 78 near D101B and D102B in the Algonquin Snowmobile Region. From here you can get virtually anywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Walker Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walker Lake Resort Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing