We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great prices”

Algonquin Outfitters Outdoor Adventure Store
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Historic downtown Huntsville is home to our largest retail location, with three floors of great gear and clothing for outdoor adventure. Backing onto the beautiful Muskoka River, our Huntsville store offers an amazing retail experience. Primarily a specialty outdoor store, with the emphasis on camping equipment, paddle sports, bikes, Nordic skis, snowshoes, and outdoor clothing and footwear. In the summer, the Huntsville store also offers canoe rentals and some outfitting services. This store also carries the region's largest selection of surfwear, water sports (wakeboards, waterskis, towables and water trampolines) and winter sports (alpine skis, snowboards and winter clothing).
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reading
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great service, great prices”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Used the store in Brent and have used them before and will continue!!!! The canoes were great, lightweight and they were very accommodating to our schedule. Jake and his son are a font of knowlegde and Jake is a local legend. the store is a throw back to the bygone days of a country store with a bit of everything. Brent is the real way to get into the backcountry of Algonquin. We spent 7 days and saw more moose than people!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlgonquinOutfitters, Social Media Manager at Algonquin Outfitters Outdoor Adventure Store, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thanks for your positive review, Pete! Our Brent store is a unique place - we're glad you had such a great experience both at the store and in the park. We'll look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“AO before you go!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I have been a client of AO for over 30 years, first in Algonquin Park and now this downtown store. I have found the staff knowledgeable and enthusiastic (a rare feat in a tourist town). Their fall sales have helped me stock up gear for the next season. The staff have helped me pick out life jackets for my kids and in my opinion, even though it may cost more than crappy tire, get a life jacket that fits correctly and is comfortable. Your little ones will be more comfortable, and they will actually wear it. Great job!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMA_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlgonquinOutfitters, Social Media Manager at Algonquin Outfitters Outdoor Adventure Store, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thanks for your review! Our staff work hard to make sure you walk away with the gear that fits your lifestyle. We appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge them and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskoka District, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A must visit when in Huntsville. Rent water equipment here!”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

It's not just a store with outdoor stuff: skiis, snowboards, kayaks, canoes, paddleboards, bikes, clothing, etc. It's in the downtown of Huntsville, very close to a lot of restaurants and on the waterfront here. You can rent kayaks, canoes and paddleboards and they'll set you up, train you and send you up the river for the day. Great adventure if you're new to these sports. Very safe on the river as boat traffic has to slow down and go no more than 9 km/hr.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MuskokaRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RnL_Imagery, Manager at Algonquin Outfitters Outdoor Adventure Store, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you for your review for Algonquin Outfittes, MuskokaRed. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Algonquin Outfitters Outdoor Adventure Store also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Algonquin Outfitters Outdoor Adventure Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing