We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and staff”
Review of Farmers Daughter

Farmers Daughter
Ranked #14 of 83 Restaurants in Huntsville
Cuisines: Canadian
Description: Seasonally Inspired, Locally Influenced. Everything made from scratch! The Farmer's Daughter (yes, there really is one) has a passion for fresh food and ideas. Our own products are handmade using only the best natural ingredients. Eat in or take home one of our freshly-prepared, oven-ready meals. Enjoy breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner in our vibrant eating area located right in the heart of our store. Grab a fresh sandwich or salad, a just-baked dessert or a cup of gourmet coffee and take a seat at one of our rustic tables. Our casual atmosphere creates a great place to enjoy coffee, lunch or dinner with friends. Whether you are looking for ready-made components or raw ingredients to compose a sensational meal, Farmer's Daughter can help.
Restaurant details
Description: Seasonally Inspired, Locally Influenced. Everything made from scratch! The Farmer's Daughter (yes, there really is one) has a passion for fresh food and ideas. Our own products are handmade using only the best natural ingredients. Eat in or take home one of our freshly-prepared, oven-ready meals. Enjoy breakfast, brunch, lunch or dinner in our vibrant eating area located right in the heart of our store. Grab a fresh sandwich or salad, a just-baked dessert or a cup of gourmet coffee and take a seat at one of our rustic tables. Our casual atmosphere creates a great place to enjoy coffee, lunch or dinner with friends. Whether you are looking for ready-made components or raw ingredients to compose a sensational meal, Farmer's Daughter can help.
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We ate here several times. Each time the food was delicious and the staff helpful and gracious. This is really the spot for tasty breakfast and lunch. Unlike other shops in town, they can actually make a real espresso drink if you talk to them about what you want (one day the double espresso was anything but, after talking with them, they did it correctly - my wife's lattes were always superb).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nonlinear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    63
    16
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Charming!”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great little spot for organic and unique grocery items. Excellent desserts and great selection of coffees and lattes. Staff very friendly and laid-back atmosphere very charming and quaint.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northerngirrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Some what expensive.”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Lots of fresh vegetables...better prices at the local super markets...even in the organic section.
The take home meals are good...but for the money...better choices in downtown Huntsville and area...Average place lunch..but an easy place to drop into for prepared meals and baked meals...goes to show...location is important. Over all...shop around.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Estie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Charming, quality market place / country cafe !”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This was a bonus find on our weekend getaway to Huntsville. We were looking for a place to have a savory snack and a coffee and were enchanted to find this high-quality fine-foods store with a lovely café to boot. The prepared food counters had several mouth watering items like spinach stuffed peppers and healthful salads as well as beautiful bakery items that steadily kept coming out of the oven. Seating is comfortable and your items will be brought to the table after ordering and paying at the counter - which makes this a very affordable treat. I had the homemade asparagus soup - served in a proper bowl ! - and my friends had a hard time deciding between hot cross buns and sticky buns and cinnamon buns...........and peachy plum galettes fresh out of the oven. In the end they went with a cinnamon bun - large enough to allow all 3 of us to try ( and it was very yummy) - and a roasted pepper filled puff pastry. The puff pastry had been warmed in a microwave which sort of "killed" it - would have benefitted from a trip to the toaster oven instead. Coffee, tea , soup, pastry and bun came to just over 15$ !

The store portion featured loads of carefully selected quality items - clearly having been picked by someone with a commitment to quality. Many items were a private label ( marinades, dressings, jams, salsas, pickles) - I bought an interesting rhubarb based grilling marinade and a tub of a much loved Milford Bay smoked trout spread which I have yet to find anywhere in Toronto. The owner also puts out samples to try out and makes up holiday baskets for an easy gift to pick up if in need of one.

Charming and wonderful "Farmers daughters" who clearly enjoy their work as they answer every question with a smile on their face. Two thumbs up for sure !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Not only a restaurant but a fascinating store”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have stopped in here many times and have always been met warmly. There is always something new going on in the store, depending on the season. They make many of their own products, jams, jellies, pickles, spices. The owner is a very health conscious person who is anxious to try and find out new products such as new gluten free items. The café/restaurant at one end can accommodate about 15 persons sitting down, and everything is made fresh and brought to your table. There is a great variety of desserts (all home made), pies, cakes, cookies, lots of coffee and tea. We have always found service has been fast, friendly and attentive. The place is not licensed, but for a quick snack while on the road or just browsing at the numerous interesting selection of items in the store, this is well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farmers Daughter also viewed

Huntsville, Muskoka District
 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Farmers Daughter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing