We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Rainbow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rainbow Inn
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed at the Rainbow Motel the weekend of October 12/12.
The best feature was the fireplace-it was a miserable rainy weekend.
Just felt as if the room was not as good as it could have been.
The room was quiet and the fireplace was an attractive feature. But , I am not sure what would attract one to this place in the warmer months.
The towels were very thin. The carpet looked as if it hadn't been cleaned for awhile. I am not talking about just vacuuming. The vent by the air conditioning unit in the microwave/fridge area was dusty and full of odds and ends.
The owners had no qualms about charging a healthy rate for mid October. I am comparing the rate to similar accomodations in Stratford(for example).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnicol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D T, General Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Nicol

Thanks for sharing your views on Trip Advisor, about the rates, rate you paid was for the mid October and you stayed in deluxe room with Fire Place ( same room rates are much higher in Summer), you are also comparing rates of Muskoka region with Stratford.
Also Fire place is an attraction and has charm even in the hot weather makes/feels the guest sitting in their own family room and of course in winter it makes even cozy and warm. About the carpet, we will be soon going under renovation. Our Rooms are quiet plus right in the heart of Huntsville. Hope you must have had nice time at Rainbow Inn. We are always glad to take your views and opinions at the Front Desk to make our next guest saty more comfortable and enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

We were four families with children between 4 and 12 who wanted to spen the weekend in Algonquin but could not find camping sites (they are booked months in advance), so we decided to stay at a motel overnight. We read great reviews about this motel and were pleasantly surprised to find out that there were available rooms. The motel was far beyond our expectations. The staff is very kind and helpful and the motel is very, very clean. The rooms were very spacious and the kitchenette came in very handy. It is also located very conveniently close to the old Huntsville downtown, to a lookout (Lions' lookout).
We could not ask for better in a motel. Good luck to the staff and keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room (as we did) - it is sparkling clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ovidiu_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rainbowinn, General Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2012

Thankyou Sir for taking your precious time in writing a review and giving 5 stars for Rainbow Inn. We are glad that you had a nice time and all was according to your expectations at our motel.
Myself and my staff are keen and work hard to keep the motel clean. I appreciate your thoughts on sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Please do come again and we will stand by to your expectations.

D T
Gen Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Good room, kitchenette and shower. What more do you need?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam635836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

we travelled from Toronto and was just planning to check out the price for the motel before making our decision to stay overnight or drive home. After checking out the room and the price we decided to stay. For such a reasonable price, the room is more than what we expected: clean, comfortable with microwave, coffee maker, fridge even a fireplace. Love it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trangdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We planned a last minute trip to Algonquin didn’t expect to find a place to stay, as we needed two rooms for two couples. Thanks to a cancellation, we got a family suit at Rainbow Inn, which was perfect. It had two separate bedrooms, a washroom, a kitchenette and a living/dining area. The suite was very spacious, impeccably clean and comfortable. It is conveniently located right off highway 60, walking distance from shops, restaurants, the historic town of Huntsville, and Algonquin is about a half hour drive away. The staff are friendly, helpful and informative. We had a great weekend away, and Rainbow Inn played a big part in it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #122
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We found this little gem while reading reviews on other local hotels and in one of those reviews someone had mentioned the Rainbow Inn and wished he had stayed there instead. I then read the reviews on Rainbow and decided this would be the one. We too had a very delightful stay. The room was large with a separate area for a small fridge and coffee maker, and a separate very clean bathroom with tub/shower. The king bedroom also had a comfortable couch, nice TV, and gas fireplace that worked very well. There were two outside patio chairs in front of the room, and a large window overlooking our car in the parking lot. Lots of sunshine made the room bright and cheerful - it was just a joy to stay here. Bill and his wife Gerda (owners) who are Dutch, made us feel at home and were so very pleasant to talk to. I asked Bill for a local breakfast recommendation and he even pointed it out to me a block away. His recommendation was excellent - it was the "Family Restaurant" where a one egg breakfast means two, and a two egg breakfast means three - a nice suprise! The food was hot and excellent. We would absolutely stay at this hotel anytime we are in Huntsville!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The room was very clean, the bed extremely comfortable, and the gentleman who owns the motel was very pleasent. I called to the office about 10 p.m to see if they had any newspapers and before i could get there to pick it up it was delivered to our room. We would like to visit Huntsville again this summer and we will definitely be staying at the Rainbow Inn. So thank you Willem Kaptein, we will see you in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottawalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
166 reviews
1 mi away
Knights Inn - Huntsville
Knights Inn - Huntsville
#7 of 18 in Huntsville
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#8 of 18 in Huntsville
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn

Address: 32 King William St, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 1G5, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Price Range: £35 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rainbow Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Rainbow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Inn Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing