We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility by the Lake”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swallowdale Inn B & B
Ranked #3 of 21 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We loved this place for its great location by the Lake, close to Huntsville. We had the Lakeside room, which has a nice view over the wonderful Fairy Lake. Besides the room, the lounge had a cozy atmosphere with a nice fireplace and a big TV for days with bad weather. Every morning a nice and rich breakfast with fruit, bread and cooked things was prepared for us. Furthermore you can use the canoe, which is a nice addition to an already very good B&B.

Room Tip: Lakeside room has a REALLY nice view over the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Thank you so much for the excellent review. It is always a delight to have guests who are so manifestly enjoying themselves. The Lakeside Room does indeed have a great view down the Lake. You may be interested to know that since your visit we have opened up a new room - the Pine Room - with its own screened in porch and a Lake view. You can see a picture of it on our Facebook page

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Swallowdale Inn. Isabbel and Michael are very nice hosts and quite creative with the breafast. It was just delicious!! The lake view is stunning and after sunset you might want to enjoy a good book or a film in the guest livingroom in front of the fireplace. We even saw a couple of deer in the garden. Be sure to have your camera ready.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelKay, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

It was a delight having you stay with us. The deer are delightful at this time of year when it doesn't matter if they eat the garden!! As to breakfast, we try to make sure our guests start the day well.

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and I spent three wonderful nights in the Lakeside room at the Swallowdate Inn B & B. We enjoyed the view of the lake, as we woke up every morning. Isabel and Michael were incredible hosts. They made sure that we were kept comfortable during our stay while keeping the wood stove burning so we could warm up after of our rainy days of hiking and sightseeing in and around the Hunstville area. The breakfasts served were first class. With all that was served to us in the morning, kept us full until dinner time. We would recommend the Swallowdale Inn to anyone looking for a comfortable place to stay that feels like a home. We can not wait to go back again to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HYorzinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelKay, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for the incredible review! It helps that we are located in such a beautiful spot. Even though it rained, the Lake makes all weathers interesting. Most of our guests go hiking in the Algonquin even in rainy weather, which is why we like to ensure they have breakfasted well. It was a real pleasure to have you stay and we hope to see you again.

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

A friend and I just spent a wonderful night there and enjoyed every moment of our time. Isabel and Michael provide a friendly and comfortable experience for their guests. Excellent value for a place of this quality. Beautiful views over Fairy Lake and a scrumptious breakfast as we watched the ducks and loons swim by. Highly recommend it - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaminCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelKay, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

It was a delight to have you and your friend stay with us. It was apparent from our conversation that you take great care about where you stay, which makes this review all the more valuable.

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

than waking up to a breathtaking view of Fairy Lake, eating a wonderful breakfast and then sitting on the dock quietly reading and taking in the clear fresh air at Swallowdale Inn, near Huntsville. This was supplemented with a swim in the lake and a paddle in the Inn's canoe when our friends came to visit from Toronto for the day.

Spotting hummingbirds from your breakfast table, deer wandering around and other wildlife add to the peacefulness of this special place.

Four days spent here with Isabel and Michael as our hosts provided a superb place to relax during our two week tour of Ontario. With Algonquin Park for walks and Hunstville for evening dining (or take-away snacks from the Farmer's Daughter) up the road apiece this is a great place to spend a few days.

We want to return.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the lake was just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_McGraths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelKay, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you for the review. It is really appreciated. Both of us enjoyed your company very much; meeting friendly and interesting people is the joy of a B&B.

As to your visitors from Toronto, it was our pleasure to help you out. You had terrific weather and they seemed to enjoy the paddle down the Lake and canal.

By the way the deer that you enjoyed watching have started the final demolition of the garden!! This includes climbing on to the decks and eating the potted plants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

I have stayed at a number of bed and breakfasts, and I can say with ease that Isabel and Michael run the most relaxing and enjoyable place. I often travel to the Muskokas to get away from the city, and now that I've discovered Swallowdale Inn, I will go nowhere else.

The breakfasts were fantastic, and the views were stunning. I would highly recommend this place for anyone travelling through Huntsville.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

If you are looking for a nice simple place, a place where you can relax by the lake, with wonderful hosts, who know how to give you an amazing breakfast ( watch your diet), and space, go to Swallodale Inn B&B.
The price is also right, you are 10 minutes from Huntsville, so for dinner there are many options, you are not far from Algonquin Park, but for us seating on the dock, reading, swimming was just what we were looking for.
Thank you Michael and Isabel.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MidnightinParis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsabelKay, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a complimentary review.
We are delighted you were able to relax and get away from it all. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
10.2 mi away
Pine Lodge Inn
Pine Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
124 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
505 reviews
2.1 mi away
Morgan House Bed and Breakfast and Wool Works Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Arrowhead Inn
Arrowhead Inn
#12 of 21 in Huntsville
43 reviews
2.8 mi away
Echo Woods B & B
Echo Woods B & B
#6 of 21 in Huntsville
18 reviews
3.1 mi away
King William Inn
King William Inn
#7 of 18 in Huntsville
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallowdale Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallowdale Inn B & B

Address: 46 Roe Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 0A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range: £78 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallowdale Inn is a bed & breakfast located on the premier waterfront location on Fairy Lake in Huntsville Ontario. The Inn is an ideal place to stay for people visiting Algonquin or Arrowhead Parks. In business since 2003, the hosts, Michael and Isabel Kay welcome visitors (including children) and provide a hearty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swallowdale Inn B & B Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing