We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Find....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Swallowdale Inn B & B
Ranked #3 of 21 Huntsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great friends and I just spent an incredible Girls' Getaway Weekend at Swallowdale Inn from November 7-9. What a perfect place to reconnect. When we booked, Isabel reserved two connecting rooms for us but said they would make us as comfortable as possible. What an understatement...when we arrived we were given the entire space, three bedrooms and a huge great room with fireplace all for our use. The bedrooms are all good size and extremely comfortable. You awake in the Lakeside room with a beautiful view of the lake. Every morning the fire was stoked and roaring ( before 7:00am ) and coffee was waiting for us. The great room, with its large sofa sectional, was a perfect place for a glass of wine, great laughs and sharing. Off the great room was a gorgeous closed in veranda and dining area overlooking Fairy Lake where one could watch the sunrise. Breakfasts were beyond amazing (they kept us going the entire day)....Michael is an amazing cook as well as a wealth of information about the area.
Swallowdale Inn was a rare find in a wonderful part of Ontario. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovestotravel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

What a great review - our thanks! You are one of a number of 'Getaway' groups we have had recently, some even coming here for peace and quiet to work!!. We are now offering guests what you had - exclusive use of the Inn - during the Winter season (details at our website). Again our thanks, your group was a lot of fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

A friend and I stayed at Swallowdale Inn B&B for a girl’s getaway weekend from October 18-20th, 2013. There was supposed to be three of us and the Swallowdale was more than willing to accommodate us by putting an extra cot in the room. Unfortunately one of the girls couldn’t make it at the last minute. Swallowdale Inn was a much more pleasant experience than staying in a hotel. It is not a high-end, modern place, but rather an interesting, laid–back, casual place with very friendly hosts and a stunning lakeside location. When we first drove up to the place, it was dusk and there was a group of deer grazing on the grass. Our room had a queen-sized bed with sliding doors that opened up to a deck and looked out onto a lake and dock area. Outside our bedroom door, was a very large seating area, decorated in lots of interesting landscape art by the owner’s father, with a wood-burning fireplace lit for us each night. There was also a large tv, lots of movies, books and magazines to look at. Outside this seating area was a large sunroom, that looked out onto the lake, where breakfast was served. There was also a nice reading area here with coffee table books about boathouses and the area. Breakfast each day was delicious and plenty. There were fresh berries and fruit, baked goods, with eggs benedict one day and a lovely crepe dish the other day.
The host were very helpful in advising us with directions to visit some of the local artist studios and nearby towns we wanted to see, as well as making recommendations on places to eat for dinner. We would not hesitate to stay at Swallowdale again, when returning to Huntsville.
Would like to come in the warmer weather to take advantage of the lake.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose the room that faces the lake and has patio doors opening up onto the deck, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NapaneeFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for the excellent review. It is, indeed, the intimacy of a B&B that marks it out from a hotel, particularly when you are seeking peace and quiet to enjoy an old friendship. We are delighted that you found that quality with us. This winter we are offering guests the opportunity to have exclusive use of the B&B (no other guests). This means guests would enjoy the Lakeside Room plus the Great Room with the wood burning fireplace and the four season sun room/breakfast room without disturbance; a suite of some 1,000 sq ft. This cozy space overlooks the Lake and is an ideal setting for an intimate weekend or simply provides an opportunity to cocoon and wind down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The host are very friendly, the place is beautiful and the food was amazing.
We stayed 2 nights in the Lake view room, it has ots own entrance and a incredible view of the lake from the bed
We went for our 15th anniversary and stayed October 4&5th. The trees were aglow with colours and the weather was pleasant
We ate at the little place at the lights twice as it was recommended by our hosts, the food was Amazing .

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for the review. This tear to maple tree just outside the Lakeside Room was magnificent a brilliant golden yellow. We enjoyed sharing your anniversary celebrations and again 'congratulations'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

It was my husband's and I first time at a B & B. I was a little apprenhensive about the idea because we have always stayed in hotels and inns but never in a B & B. What an amazing first experience! First of all Michael and Isabel the owners welcomed us so graciously, we felt like we were family by the time we left. Isabel was so cute telling us of her daughters wedding on the property. I could just imagine how beautiful it was because the whole place was pretty and peaceful. The dock with the Muskoka chairs was so inviting to just relax and take in the view. We wished we had more time to do this! We were entertaining our aunts from Scotand and Conneticut so we were in town and around Huntsville showing them around.

The next morning Michael made a breakfast out of this world!! Scrumptious!! We had read the reviews about the breakfasts and boy did it ever measure up!!! Everything was terrific and well worth it all! Thank you Michael and Isabel. We have already spread the word to some friends. Sincerely Glenn and Rita.

Room Tip: Lakeview room was facing waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49Rita49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Bed and breakfasts can be fun! Meeting strangers who turn out to be interesting and may become friends. We really enjoyed having you. Perhaps you will now become a 'convert'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife and I could not praise this venue too highly. The breakfasts are very good, the location on the lake is stunning and the quality of the accommodation is wonderful. Very helpful and friendly hosts. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Lakeside room is as it says on the tin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troll001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Thanks for the review. We were so sorry that you had to cut your trip short, but we were glad to hear that you got home safely. Hope all is well

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We have just returned home to the UK after our first trip to Canada. We spent three nights in the Lakeside room at this beautiful B&B. The room was spacious, attractive, with a very comfortable bed, and a French window opening out on to a private deck virtually on the lake shore.The house has a wonderful situation at the end of Fairy Lake, it is so peaceful, and perfect for recharging the batteries, after spending time in the city. We enjoyed some wonderful sunsets from the dock, and loved the conservatory, where we could relax in the evening, and have breakfast. The breakfasts were truly amazing, lovingly prepared and served by Michael. We will never forget the waffle with fresh fruit and maple syrup, and sausages! And those cinnamon buns! The most delicious we had ever tasted! Michael was kindness itself, driving to pick us up from the bus station in Huntsville, helping us sort out car hire locally, and looking after us on our last morning, before the bus journey back to Toronto. We visited Parry Sound, about an hour's journey, and had a fantastic cruise around the 30,000 islands, and spent a day in Algonquin Park and did a couple of the walking trails- another special memory of our time in this beautiful area. Swallowdale Inn is the perfect place to stay! Thank you, Michael and Isabel , for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: The Lakeside room is spacious and has a large private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue180513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us. It is always sad when something planned goes wrong; we were delighted to be able to help you sort it out. Hope you had a good 'rest of trip', we loved chatting about the Lake District - positively nostalgic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at Swallowdale the weekend of the 2013 Ironman event. It was everything that a Canadian B&B experience should be. Our host and hostess could not have been more accomodating and friendly. The rooms and common areas were spacious and clean. This is also a great location if you want to stay in Muskoka but want to avoid all the crowds. The setting is stunning, right on the lake in a tree covered lot. Very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraftonSpaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael K, Owner at Swallowdale Inn B & B, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Thank you for the review. It was much appreciated. All the more so as it comes from the owner of St. Anne's Spa in Grafton the top destination spa in Ontario. Isabel and I really enjoy helping our Iron Man guests. Early breakfast and getting them off to a good start. Congratulations to your friends on their best times in this year's race.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
195 reviews
4.2 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
1.8 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
485 reviews
1.2 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallowdale Inn B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallowdale Inn B & B

Address: 46 Roe Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 0A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Huntsville
Price Range: £82 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swallowdale Inn is a bed & breakfast located on the premier waterfront location on Fairy Lake in Huntsville Ontario. The Inn is an ideal place to stay for people visiting Algonquin or Arrowhead Parks. In business since 2003, the hosts, Michael and Isabel Kay welcome visitors (including children) and provide a hearty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swallowdale Inn B & B Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing