We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Blue Water Acres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Water Acres
Reviewed 29 March 2013

It is nice and quiet place that offers tons of activities. Our cottage is located near the local road but we hardly hear any cars passing. The rooms are small but the accommodations are compensated with leather furniture, a nice TV and a fireplace. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a new gas grill outside. The whole resort seems like a very well maintained place. The indoor pool, jacuzzi, and sauna are clean and pleasant. The gym is small but is bug enough to keep us busy. We love to play pool and ping-pong. All winter equipment is available for reasonable prices. Nice and friendly personnel. I can imagine how enjoyable it would be to stay here in the summertime. We love this place!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbwarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Blue Water Acres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a traditional cabin in April 2012. The cabin was in need of refurbishment but was clean and fairly well equipped. The resort and beach were nice and staff were polite. We stayed with young children and were greatly concerned about security inside the cabin as none of the windows were lockable (all of the locks were broken). Similarly, the door lock for the door onto the terrace was also broken and had been wedged closed with a wooden stick.

Room Tip: the traditional cabins are well located but are very basic
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the long weekend in February. Firstly – I want to say that the staff is very helpful and extremely friendly. They are always willing to go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable.
The resort itself has fractional cottages and traditional cottages. We stayed in a traditional cottage. It was very clean and nicely equipped with all the essentials. There are a multitude of activities to do from tubing, skating, beautiful walking trails…etc. We went in the winter and there was so much to do. We plan on returning in the summer to check out their private beach! This resort also has an indoor pool, laundry facilities, sauna and hot tub. I would highly recommend this place and plan on visiting again many times in the future.

Room Tip: Any cottage on this resort is great. In summer - ask for one closer to water.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jetsetter263872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We found broken armchairs, dirty chairs on the terrrace,dirty sheets, no comfort in the bedrooms, I mean only two beds, no chairs, no lamps ,no bedside teables, only an open wardrobe. The bathroom was so terribly small , like that you can find in a ship cabin. We had payed for three days in advance , but we went away at the second day of our staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank vivianavanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed here July long weekend in an older traditional cottage. These are fairly simple cottages though quite clean...our 1 major gripe was the charcoal bbq. No propane bbq for a few hundred bucks??? And the cooking surface of these charcoal grates is minimal considering this was for a 3 bedroom cottage. Other than that the place met our needs quite well. Great for young kids as the beach has beautiful sand and very shallow. There is also a nice play area for kids, huge property with a lot of grass, tennis courts and nice indoor pool though the temperature was just as warm at the lake. They would also put on a bonfire nightly and supply wood to keep it going which the kids all enjoyed as well.

If we were to go again we would probably try & rent a fractional unit as these units look very nice but overall we were pleased in comparison with other cottage/resorts places we've been to in Ontario.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockyraccoon44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Through Interval International we traded a winter week in Florida for a winter week in this snowy resort -- and loved it! However, I must say, what we most liked was its close proximity to Arrowhead and Algonquin Provincial Parks and some great skiing. That doesn't mean the resort was a disappointment.

The property itself is a fractional ownership development with a lot of cottages bundled together. And although the cottages themselves -- particularly the newer ones -- are very nice it does feel a bit suburban and slightly crowded. That said: the people we met there, including the staff, were friendly warm and helpful. The property had a natural skating rink with a fire-pit at the side (and a free loan of skates). There's a tubing hill with plenty of free tubes to slide down on. There's a small trail around the property which we happily snowshoed and we went cross-country skiing on a semi-groomed trail on the owner's property (about 1km away from the resort), We saw several people hiking across the frozen lake -- but never ventured out ourselves. There is a small pool, a hot-tub and a sauna available that we enjoyed after our long days of x-country skiing. The "games room" is old and tired looking -- but we were too enamored with the outdoors to care .

Unlike another reviewer on here we were given one of the newer cottages and I must say it was nicer than our house. Everything was new and top quality: new gas range, new large fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer and dryer (with detergent). Two HD-TVs with satellite feed (including the movie channel). Free Wi-Fi Internet access. Leather couches and arm chairs. Gas fireplace. Three bedrooms: 1 king size bed, one queen size, and two twin beds. Plenty of pillows, clean linen, quilts and blankets, etc. Even the pots, pans, plates and cutlery were above average in the quality you'd expect for a rental cottage. Very comfortable indeed!

We plan to check out this resort in the summer and see if we enjoy it as much as we did in the winter.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Godott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

We were lucky enough to spend a week in August at one of the new cottages at the Blue Water Acres resort near Huntsville Ontario. The cottage was beautiful and very well finished. The facilities left nothing to be desired. The beach is fantastic, nice ssandy bottom where you can walk out over 100 feet, perfect for kids. Lots of water toys, paddle boats, canoes, kayaks and a slide into the lake. The play structure, tennis courts, games room and indoor pool were a hit.
We found the staff to be very helpful. This place really feels like a family run resort where they are not trying to nickely and dime you at every turn. Looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelin4FunAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
190 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
482 reviews
3.9 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,096 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Acres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Acres

Address: 1052 Rat Bay Rd, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2J6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Huntsville
Price Range: £127 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Water Acres 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Water Acres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Acres Hotel Huntsville
Blue Water Acres Huntsville, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing