We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curtains Don't Close!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I've stayed at a few Holiday Inns and it seems that the interior designers have decided that the window curtains shall remain open at all times. Maybe this gets you up earlier so they have more time to clean.

It's not that they don't pull completely across the window - they basically don't move at all as there is only material to cover the edges of the window. Maybe I'm missing something basic but I don't think so.

First saw this in the HI in Newmarket Ontario, then we stayed in the Huntsville Ontario HI last weekend. Same thing, but this time there was a powerful spotlight in the complex next door that shone right on our bed.

I had to drag the table to the window and then put a chair on it to block the glare. Hey Holiday Inn, what's up?????

Room Tip: Ask for a fridge beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hogboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Hogboy47:

We do in fact have blackout drapes in all of our guestrooms! We even go one step further here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Huntsville and we include a nice plastic clip to keep both sides of the curtain together to ensure your room stays nice and dark!

The drapery you're referring to is the drapery which matches the room and yest these smaller pieces are to enhance the decor in the room but are not meant for anything but decor. Behind these two small pieces each Holiday Inn has sheers that go across the entire window and behind the sheers are the thick blackout drapes! I'm sorry you missed them. Anytime you ever encounter a problem regardless of where you stay I always encvourage all guests to call the front desk so they can reedy any issue you're having or at least make it right!

Thank you for being our guest and we truly look forward to having you return!

Sincerely,

Matthew Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We arrived tired and hungry after a long day of sightseeing in Algonquin Park. The Holiday Inn Express was a pleasant respite. Our room was large and nicely appointed. The bathroom was immaculate. The room was exceptionally quiet. In addition, it is conveniently located to restaurants. We highly recommend this Huntsville gem!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lakinhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Arrived last evening to the beautiful Muskoka region after a 6 hr. drive from Windsor. Just finished the first of a 5 day stay and already it's very clear where We'll stay next time around. From the check-in desk staff TO the chef, Liliane, who made the rounds in the dining area to ensure each guest was satisfied (the warm,hearty breakfast is included), TO an extremely pleasant and accommodating Room Attendant, Angie, this hotel IS everything excellent about which most have already identified and written about on Trip Advisor. A clean, fresh scent when you enter the building and observable cleanliness to compliment it. Our suite was impeccably appointed and impeccably clean - again prepared for us by Angie. A quick chat with her today and it was obvious that this is 'not' just a job to her......keeping up the ratings IS her mission, as is Liliane's based on a conversation with her as well. Will DEFINITELY stay here again......we KNOW this after just one night and one day! Looking forward to our next 4.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CareZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 midweek nites in a suite
extra room was nice
nice egg & sausage selection included in hot breakfast
1 minute automatic pancake maker produces 2 pancakes
close to Walmart & nearby restaurants
lots of walking trails loved Lion's Lookout very scenic views
Fall colours are peaking & short drive to Algonquin Park
We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Clean and modern, but just another hotel.
Great breakfast, and free newspaper.
Would visit again if in Huntsville, but would rather be in a smaller hotel on a lake nearby.
Had a nice dinner in a local restaurant in town, and on the water.
Lovely town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MuffyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed a Tuesday night at this shiny, new Holiday Inn recently at a bargain rate ($73 for 2 queen beds, including hot breakfasts), located in a newer part of Huntsville Ont and found it exceptionally clean, well managed and staffed, and close to everything. What a bargain compared to the nearby resort prices averaging $400 a night (because they face one of the lakes)! Would easily go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and have blackout curtains, so all choices are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank biffbiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Love most HIE - they are consistently good. This one is not "in town", but you can get a cab from the hotel. We were just passing through, so it didn't matter, and there is Kelsey's across the street w good food and happy hour. Staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were very large. Typical breakfast, which gets boring if you are staying several nights or at several different HIE.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the street if you don't want to sleep with the blackout drapes fully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nadine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntsville
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Muskoka Inn
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
195 reviews
1.5 mi away
Econolodge Huntsville
Econolodge Huntsville
#17 of 18 in Huntsville
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
JW Marriott The Rosseau Muskoka Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#5 of 18 in Huntsville
485 reviews
4.7 mi away
Deerhurst Resort
Deerhurst Resort
#3 of 18 in Huntsville
3,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville

Address: 100 Howland Dr, Huntsville, Ontario P1H 2P9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: £80 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in Muskoka, ON Offers Guests a Pleasant and Peaceful Escape Conveniently located where Highways 11 and 60 meet, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Huntsville is situated in the heart of Ontario's most breathtaking landscape. Within walking distance of stores & restaurants, our hotel provides guests with plenty to experience throughout their stay. Less than two kilometers from our Huntsville accommodations, guests can re-visit history at the Muskoka Heritage Place, enjoy an arts performance at the Algonquin Theatre or go boating at Hutcheson or Avery Beach. Perfect for a day trip, Algonquin Provincial Park and the Trans-Canada Trail are also within a short distance of the hotel. Business travelers can appreciate that Kimberly Clark, Hydro One, KWH Pipe and Tembec are less than three kilometers from our convenient Huntsville hotel. Canada Post and Wal-mart are also located nearby. During your stay, feel free to take advantage of the free high-speed, wireless Internet access and complimentary breakfast. We invite you to relax by a warm fire in the hotel's great room and bird-watch on our outdoor patio. A heated, indoor pool, a fitness centre, a 24-hour business centre, a convenience store and pet-friendly rooms are also available for your convenience. Be sure to explore our Huntsville hotel's excellent rates and plan your trip today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Huntsville
Holiday Inn Huntsville
Holiday Inn Express Huntsville
Huntsville Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Huntsville Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing